We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great colleagues, great facility, could feel at home while having unusual hotel life experience. This time I stayed for business purpose and it was quite short stay but it was enough to make me feel to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Hideyuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Hideyuki O,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Raffles Singapore. I am delighted that you were made to feel at home as providing a ‘home-away-from-home’ experience is one of our key priorities, particularly when guests are travelling on business. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderful experience - as long as you can afford it. Wonderful decor and spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and efficient and there is a wide choice of restaurants/bars etc. Room service was very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bill J,

Thank you for your delightful review of Raffles Singapore. We pride ourselves on consistently delivering a high-standard of service, so I am delighted that you found the service to be both efficient and friendly. Décor and fine cuisine are also key to the Raffles experience and I am thrilled that you found these impressive. I will pass on your thoughtful words to the team here and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at Raffles for three nights before flying on to Bali. Very impressive hotel, excellent service, room beautiful, stayed in a courtyard suite. Food a bit expensive but really good, Singapore Sling to die for, afternoon tea an experience not to be missed, all in all a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lesley M,

Thank you very much for your charming review of Raffles Singapore. I am thrilled that so many aspects of the hotel contributed to your ‘wonderful experience’. I was particularly pleased to read that you feel our afternoon tea is a “must-do” and will be sure to inform the Pastry Chef and his team of your lovely feedback. I hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Checkin was effortless and we were shown straight to our room. Not long after leaving our room we were watched and then approached by a female member of staff and questioned as to our residency in the hotel this was done quite abruptly and was a bit unpleasant. However that out of the way the rest our our stay was faultless. Raffles is not just a hotel it is an experience Rooms are spacious comfortable and clean. The butler service is first class. Breakfast in the Tiffin room and food in Raffles Grill was amazing,as was the service. Also worth a visit is the Longbar for a famous Singapore Sling were seating is reserved for hotel guests. I would defiantly recommend a stay at this Historic hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 48lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear 48lynn,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Raffles Singapore and for your kind words about the hotel, the service, the rooms and the restaurants.

We always aim to deliver Raffles exceptional levels of service and I am delighted that this stood out for you throughout your visit. I will be sure to pass on your thoughtful words to the rest of the team. However I am very concerned to hear that my colleague’s actions had caused you discomfort which should not have been the case and I sincerely apologize for the incident. Please rest assured that we have shared this with our colleagues to ensure it does not happen again.

I am delighted that the rest of your stay was “faultless” and fully appreciative of your recommendation of a stay at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your generous feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Christian Westbeld
Hotel Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was in Singapore on business for five days and had the pleasure of staying at one of the oldest hotels in Asia. Raffles isn't as exciting as Marina By ( the "buildings with a boat on top",) but the level of service, attention to detail and your comfort cannot be denied. I think the people who work there get a dossier on their guests, or as as they call us: "residents", as it seems everyone knows your name. Your comfort is their number one objective. The suites are huge (I don't know if "small" rooms exist there), the beds are wonderful, the air conditioning is much more than adequate, and the quality of food in the various eateries is excellent. The place hasn't been redone for about thirty years but doesn't show any real signs of wear. The colonial look and feel is very welcoming. There is a beautiful large pool area as we'll. if I am fortunate enough to go back to Singapore, Raffles is my choice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwchait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jwchait,

Thank you for choosing to post such a delightful review of Raffles Singapore. We always aim to offer a haven for the well-travelled and service, room size and amenities play a vital role in this. I am glad that these all stood out for you. I will be sure to pass on your thoughtful words to everyone here and hope to welcome you back again when you are next in Singapore.

Kind regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Raffles on the summer trip last year, and its now our 4th stay. The hotel is in the old colonial style, but rooms are spacious and clean, and the air con worked!!
The afternoon tea was an experience you must not miss with many Japanese tourists not having quite understood the return as often as you wish concept.
The long room was an experience as its the only public place you can drop peanut shells on the floor and not get arrested. And its the home of the Singapore Sling, and what a refreshing drink this is, well worth the trip.

Room Tip: You must try the outside rooms, there very light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocktailsAtRaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear CocktailsAtRaffles,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Raffles Singapore. It is always a pleasure to read the thoughts of our guests – particularly those who have stayed with us frequently. We are honoured to have been an iconic part of Singapore’s history and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel’s traditions, colonial style and renowned Singapore Sling. I will share your charming words with the rest of the team and hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for a night (redeeming reward points). Check in - very pleasant that they usher you to an armchair and you sit looking at their very grand lobby. Bad thing is that the check in very slow. Taken to room and given good explanation of the various doors we had to unlock along the way. The room had good and bad. The good - spacious, high ceilings, character, nice wood floors plus rugs. Realise that you don't go to the Raffles for high tech but the TV was ancient (first time I've seen a non-flat screen in a top hotel for quite a while), the phone didn't work properly and the plumbing in the shower a bit erratic.
I realise that it's a personal thing but I far prefer having a coffee machine in the room rather than relying on the butler service. This would have been the case even if the phones had worked properly. As they didn't we waited a long time for an early morning cup of coffee. OK on a weekend break but I would have been seriously annoyed had it been on a business trip.
Breakfast was great. Excellent cold buffet and the hot stuff cooked fresh. Service very good but a bit too overpowering at times - conversations interrupted by the "would you like some more?".
Checkout a lot more efficient than check in.
Overall great atmosphere and glad I went but would never stay on business (there are better hotels in Singapore in absolute terms even before you take value for money into account) and the rumoured major refurbishment is coming not a moment too soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear David P,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us recently as well as for your time to share your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that we left a great impression on you through the historical ambience in the lobby, the distinctive interiors of the suite and the quality of food served at breakfast. We always aim to deliver Raffles’ legendary levels of hospitality so I am concerned to hear that your experience was not what the vast majority of our guests normally enjoy and I apologize for the delay experienced at check in as this is not a usual reflection of our service standard.

Your feedback on the fittings and amenities has been noted and we are in the planning phase to update some of these soon. We pride ourselves on the attentive and personal service we provide to residents and I do apologize if they come across as too overpowering at times. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team to ensure this will not happen again.

We are very grateful for your generous feedback as it allows us to continually monitor our guests’ requirements and work on improving the areas of concern. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Christian Westbeld
Hotel Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 317 in Singapore
23,550 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 317 in Singapore
5,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £764 - £857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing