We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation with class in the old style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #3 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Accomodation with class in the old style”
Reviewed 5 November 2008

A wonderful old hotel that is fully renovated. Many rooms are accessed through an arcade and one can sit outside. Wonderful pool and Spa area. Very recommendable.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emmjaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,014
    673
    155
    50
    41
See reviews for
708
1,943
271
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

This is one of those must stay hotels on the list of things to do before you die. We stayed in a suite for two nights whilst staying over in Singapore on our way to Bali and were not disappointed.

The hotel manages to find the perfect balance between modern creature comforts and good old fashioned tradition. Service is discreet but impeccable and it’s central location, 5 minutes walk from the metro, makes getting around simple.

OK it’s expensive, but I am glad we did it.

You can get some good advance booking rates from the hotel website, if you are prepared to be locked in, with no cancellation.

  • Liked — A classic gem
  • Disliked — Expensive, but worth the cost
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband and I had a memorable stay during at Raffles during the first leg of our honeymoon in Singapore. The staff was very courteous and provided us with coffee and a temporary room to sleep in when we arrived very early in the morning after a flight from London. We loved Raffles for the atmospheric colonial feel. The hotel never felt busy, and we did not often run across other guests near our room. Room service breakfast was a real treat on the verandah, and the juices were amazing. We had the Indian buffet in the Tiffin Room, and my husband was in heaven. Service in all the restaurants was wonderful. We did ask to change rooms after hearing the music from the courtyard, but the hotel organized this fairly efficiently. The suites themselves are large and lovely with oversized tile bathtubs and beautiful hardwood. The gym and pool are small but very nice, and the atmosphere of Raffles more than makes up for what it lack in amenities. There are newer, slicker hotels than Raffles in Singapore but none that quite match its charm. It was my favorite hotel of the trip (though my husband preferred the more modern Peninsula in Bangkok). Raffles is a great choice for a first-class stay in Singapore if you want to experience colonial charm and a bit of history.

  • Liked — Beautiful suites, wonderful food
  • Disliked — It's pricey (but it is Raffles)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We spent three nights in a Palm Court Suite on the way back from Bali. The room was just fine, maybe in need of a little bathroom upgrading, but seriously in keeping with the colonial vibes.
Lots of treats on offer, from money off vouchers in the stores to a free meal and spa credits, none of which were used or expected - but nice to be asked! Excellent service all round, and a great meal in the chinese restaurant there which we can highly recommend.
My sense is that you have to join in at Raffles - it is one of those hotels which has to be viewed as an experience rather than a place to stay. If you want business / typical five star, there are a load of Singapore hotels which can deliver the goods. But if you want to be part of history for a while, Raffles is the one.

  • Liked — The sense of history; being smug about going through the resident only gates....
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAsiaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We loved the Raffles. It is one of if not the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It has a great location and is walking distance from a lot of things and the subway in singapore makes it really easy to get around.
The suites, the history and the service were awesome. The public dining/bar areas were a little much, too much of a scene, but the pool and private areas were great.
We loved it!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — The history was awesome but caused a little bit of a tourist scene at times
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

This is a unique colonial property that is well worth a visit once in a lifetime!

We stayed for four nights. Major problem with room made a mess of our first night. We booked a Palm Court room (checked chain of emails from the agent to verify). We arrived and were shown to one of the "personality suites" in a courtyard location (Ava Gardner). Whether it was the right level or not was academic, it was uninhabitable because of lacquer fumes. We asked to be moved before the front desk left the room and were shown to an adequate, but unimpressive courtyard room facing a busy street which had 24 hr construction activity. Had a very bad night.

Went down the next night, and were finally shown to a Palm Court room which was extremely nice. Lovely outlook, quiet area and very nice fit out. Take your own iPod and speakers.

In subsequent discussions with the front desk we discovered that there was a room adjoining the Ava Gardiner which was being renovated which was the cause of the fumes and that they had left four rooms vacant to deal with it. Clearly they needed to leave an extra one.

Overall service was good. Enthusiastic if not skillful. I think our description was "cheerfully incompetent". There were, however, some very nice moments. For instance, we were in the habit of having a pre-dinner drink on the balcony with friends, and when they noticed we were using the bar fridge Pringles as nibbles, the next night they were replaced be a small selection of nibbles laid out as our wine was brought. Hand written notes of apology for the room debacle.

Dinner in the Grill was superb. The sommelier was exceptional and has a great wine list to work with. High tea in the Tiffin room was lovely and breakfast was nice. Singapore Slings in the Long Bar were much better than expected! The pool was lovely and relatively quiet (about 24 sun beds, but never full, chlorine levels were tropically strong!). The spa was nice with several treatments much approved of by my other half.

Concierge was very helpful with tracking down retailers we wanted to visit.

But the reason for visiting is simply the buildings and grounds themselves. The restoration work is extraordinary. The history palpable. The museum fascinating.

  • Liked — Staying in a beautifully restored colonial property
  • Disliked — Service was erratic
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My husband and I are probably one of the few people to have any complaints or give a disappointing review to the Raffles Hotel. For our honeymoon, we did a 2 week tour of SEAsia and our final stop was Singapore. We only booked 2 nights at the Raffles and that was enough. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and you can feel the history in the air. I loved walking around the grounds and imagining the great writers of the early 20th century doing the same things, staying in the same rooms. The rooms are large and just beautiful. But from the moment we arrived, we felt that service was lacking. Every other hotel that we stayed in during our Honeymoon acknowledged that this was a special treat for us by having a bottle of wine or a flower arrangement in the room. The Raffles not only didn't have the smallest gesture for us, but couldn't even find our reservation in the computer for at least 15 minutes. We finally got our room and spent a nice evening having a Singapore Sling and walking around the shops and the hotel museum. The next morning, we got up and went sightseeing around the town. We returned mid-afternoon, hot, tired, and sweaty and the doorman made us feel like we did not belong there. When we got to our room, it hadn't been remade or anything. The tiffin curry buffet that we had for dinner was quite good, but nothing extraordinary. Maybe we expected too much, but when the rooms cost that much per night we expected perfection. But at least I can say that I stayed in the world famous Raffles Hotel.

  • Liked — historical element, beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nicks1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,596 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,127 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing