We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #3 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We arrived at Singapore Airport and used the Quayside Service which was truly fantastic. Collected as we left the plane and driven for what seemed miles around the airport to a private lounge where we had our own immigration officer. We were offered champagne in the lounge while we waited for them to collect our luggage. After about fifteen minutes we were walked to our waiting car - the luggage was already in the boot!
The driver called when we were nearby and we were then greeted at the hotel by our personal 'Butleress'. She took us directly to our suite (The Somerset Maughn suite), where she took our passports and advised us of the call bell we should use and she would be there within five minutes! After unpacking we decided to call her and ask for a tour of the hotel. She did not arrive!! - We found our own way around the hotel which had a huge number of restaurants and bars and a very upmarket collection of shops.
Our first meal was local delicacies and was okay though the restaurant was pretty empty and had no atmosphere. The price of wine was very high - food costs reasonable. We then found our way to the Long Bar where we ordered the signature cocktail, Singapore Sling - very disappointing in that it was pre-mixed and the barman just added some ice cubes - at 32 sd very disappointing.
We took breakfast the next day in the pool bar and the guy who runs the pool bar was the best thing in the hotel - he was attentive, friendly and yet discreet.
We asked our butler (who arrived after pressing call bell and finally resorting to calling reception on the phone) various questions about the hotel - she seemed not to know the layout at all and we were certainly not offered a tour nor run baths or taken to the Long Bar for complimentary drink as other reviewers have stated.
Whilst the staff were very friendly we certainly were not made to feel 'special' and they certainly did not know our names.
The Tiffin Room's curry buffet was awful. It had good reviews but was no better than the local curry restaurant with less choice, cold and tasteless food.
The suite was very nice though quite dark - plenty of room and no free wifi - 6 sd for 30 minutes!
In all we enjoyed our stay in Singapore but if we returned we would not stay at Raffles again.

  • Liked — size of the suite
  • Disliked — impersonal
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank caroleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,050
    679
    153
    50
    41
See reviews for
720
1,959
274
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

This is a very distinctive property and is certainly one of the very best in Singapore. That said it isn't perfect.

The rooms and butler service at the property are exceptional.

- spacious rooms
- retains historical features without feeling antiquated
- butlers are very attentive and pay attention to all of the little details (having coffee delivered with your wake up call is a real treat)

There are a few issues with the hotel

- beds aren't very comfortable. Duvets are very light weight (and air conditioning is difficult to control so it can get cold at night)
- service at food and beverage outlets is mixed. Service levels are normal for Singapore (i.e., bad) but not acceptable for a 5-star
- rooms could use some tech upgrades (more outlets, newer televisions with better in-room cable)
- rooms on lower floors can be noisy -- floors creak loudly when other guests walk around

All-in-all this is a great place and staying at the hotel is an experience.

  • Liked — Rooms and butler service
  • Disliked — Service levels in other parts of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

What an amazing experience. Old-fashioned style and service second to none, they even get a chair on which to put your handbag so you don't need to put it on the floor! All staff were charming and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites which we loved.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

A wonderful old hotel that is fully renovated. Many rooms are accessed through an arcade and one can sit outside. Wonderful pool and Spa area. Very recommendable.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emmjaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

This is one of those must stay hotels on the list of things to do before you die. We stayed in a suite for two nights whilst staying over in Singapore on our way to Bali and were not disappointed.

The hotel manages to find the perfect balance between modern creature comforts and good old fashioned tradition. Service is discreet but impeccable and it’s central location, 5 minutes walk from the metro, makes getting around simple.

OK it’s expensive, but I am glad we did it.

You can get some good advance booking rates from the hotel website, if you are prepared to be locked in, with no cancellation.

  • Liked — A classic gem
  • Disliked — Expensive, but worth the cost
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband and I had a memorable stay during at Raffles during the first leg of our honeymoon in Singapore. The staff was very courteous and provided us with coffee and a temporary room to sleep in when we arrived very early in the morning after a flight from London. We loved Raffles for the atmospheric colonial feel. The hotel never felt busy, and we did not often run across other guests near our room. Room service breakfast was a real treat on the verandah, and the juices were amazing. We had the Indian buffet in the Tiffin Room, and my husband was in heaven. Service in all the restaurants was wonderful. We did ask to change rooms after hearing the music from the courtyard, but the hotel organized this fairly efficiently. The suites themselves are large and lovely with oversized tile bathtubs and beautiful hardwood. The gym and pool are small but very nice, and the atmosphere of Raffles more than makes up for what it lack in amenities. There are newer, slicker hotels than Raffles in Singapore but none that quite match its charm. It was my favorite hotel of the trip (though my husband preferred the more modern Peninsula in Bangkok). Raffles is a great choice for a first-class stay in Singapore if you want to experience colonial charm and a bit of history.

  • Liked — Beautiful suites, wonderful food
  • Disliked — It's pricey (but it is Raffles)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We spent three nights in a Palm Court Suite on the way back from Bali. The room was just fine, maybe in need of a little bathroom upgrading, but seriously in keeping with the colonial vibes.
Lots of treats on offer, from money off vouchers in the stores to a free meal and spa credits, none of which were used or expected - but nice to be asked! Excellent service all round, and a great meal in the chinese restaurant there which we can highly recommend.
My sense is that you have to join in at Raffles - it is one of those hotels which has to be viewed as an experience rather than a place to stay. If you want business / typical five star, there are a load of Singapore hotels which can deliver the goods. But if you want to be part of history for a while, Raffles is the one.

  • Liked — The sense of history; being smug about going through the resident only gates....
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAsiaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 312 in Singapore
21,813 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,240 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing