We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and bed quality, plus inconvenient location, were disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
Ranked #115 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Philadelphia area
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Breakfast and bed quality, plus inconvenient location, were disappointing”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The pillows were great but the bed itself was harder than usual. The room was small and basic, sort of Comfort Inn quality. There was a token balcony, but it was only big enough to stand in and thus seemed useless. There was a business center with free internet (something that makes up for other stuff), but only two of the terminals worked.
The hotel restaurant was way overpriced, and there were no alternatives nearby. Some in our party did walk to a nearby hotel where a beer was $2 cheaper than here.
And, the breakfast was not up to standards of other good ("pricey") hotels in Asia--scrambled eggs were cold and undercooked, bacon was cold, etc. The coffee was terrible and provided by a very slow brew-it-yourself one cup at a time brewer such that there always seemed to be a long coffee line. Tea, on the other hand, was amply proviced in an easy-to-dispense urn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear NorthArrow

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have noted your comments on our bed, room, breakfast and location.

We would like to invite you to write in to us at rooms.cks@millenniumhotels.com so we can work together to restore your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    380
    293
    95
    52
See reviews for
128
330
98
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel was decent, good location and within walking distance of Chinatown, Clarke Quay and Orchard Rd but a bit too far from the nearest MRT stations at those locations on days when you didn't want to walk. Hotel provided a shuttle so that is good. Rooms are dated but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear mpki

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We have noted your comments on the rooms and the location.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Copthorne King’s hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The rooms were very small.. Transportation is the biggest problem.. It is not close to any MRT station.. The staff were not friendly. Gave an envelope to reception to be given to a friend of mine.. They misplaced it ans my friend had to wait for more than 30 minutes..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Raj769

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We have noted your comments on our staff and service.
We would like to invite you to write in to us at rooms.cks@millenniumhotels.com so we can work together to address your concerns and restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked Copthorne King's through Priceline (or a similar website) - and didn't get a good deal. But, contrary to our original assessment, we were very pleased with their service and care. They got us connecting rooms, upgraded us, and helped us navigate through Singapore. We also really enjoyed their breakfast. FYI - e didn't have breakfast as part of our package and manage to add it on for $20/person/meal at the front desk for our 3-day stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakhee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Rakhee B

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our service. We are also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne King’s Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for 9 days and all I can say is "Comfortably Compact"

The hotel is a little away from the main center hub, but is easily connected by taxi, bus and MRT. Prefer the location as it is quiet and less touristy.

Hotel is pretty nice with basic facilities average swimming pool, room is clean but quite small, not much space for luggage and bathroom/ bath tub is even smaller.

Hotel breakfast is just ok, if asked I would rather skip hotel breakfast and try elsewhere.

Really close to Clarke Quay, Chinatown and few night spots (Zouk). nice breakfast places around (Boomerang, M by the River).

House keeping needs to improve a bit. Room service is spot on. Hotel staff is helpful.

Room Tip: Room in the main building are bigger and nicer, avoid the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Navien S

Dear Navien S

Thank you for your favourable review of our hotel.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our staff friendly and the room service good.

We have noted your comments on our breakfast and housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne King's hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here a week on room only basis. Nice base in a less touristy but pretty central area of Singapore. No frills but none promised either. Comfortable bed with nice sheets and pillows in a perfectly adequate room, with balcony and a small, but again perfectly adequate, bathroom (described as Moroccan in style but don't get too excited!). Corner rooms seem to have bigger balconies. No breakfast option gives flexibility of crossing road and river to choose from various nearby venues. River bus stop provides 3 SD route to Clarke Quay the Merlion or Marina Bay; not convenient for the MRT but taxis come frequently to the hotel and are reasonable; bus stop outside hotel if routes fit for where you want to go. Staff helpful and friendly in the main. Housekeeping a lbit variable but quickly remedied if queried. Small pool and pleasant sun bed area gives somewhere to relax after sight-seeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear SpottyTotty

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel.

We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the centralised location of the hotel, the hospitality of the staff, as well as the amenities of the hotel.

We hope to be your preferred hotel in Singapore and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I'll preface my stay with here that Singapore hotels are very expensive for good quality rooms and anything relatively inexpensive is going to be a very poor hotel.

We stayed in Copthorne King's Hotel for a few nights and it was adequate but the hotel had few draw backs that I will happily point out.

The room itself is very small and if you have any amount of luggage there is simply no place to put it without bumping into it. The bathroom is also a mini tub and again its alarmingly small. However if you do not have much luggage and are here for a short stay then I think the hotel is quite ok. The aircon kept the room cool and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the pressure was really good.

Breakfast was included with the room and it was very bland. There was both western and asian cuisine but the selection of dishes were limited. One morning we decided to skip the free breakfast and have a chinese breakfast in chinatown which was a better option in my opinion.

The service itself was hard to judge apart from our mini safe was locked when we arrived so I requested assistance and it took nearly hr to get someone up to correct the problem. We also had issues getting a taxi when we wanted to go out at night from the hotel. The bell boys didnt seem in a hurry when we requested assistance getting a taxi because we had a few appts to make. On one occasion we had to walk to the petrol station/convenience store a few blocks away to get a taxi. I think service needs to be stellar especially for the price paid.

Location of the hotel is convenient if you make use of taxi. We traveled around the city with ease using this mode of transport to the waterfront, Chinatown, and Sentosa.

Summary - the hotel is ok for a short stay, but for the price I expected a bit more space especially since it was not in the more convenient locations. I think if you go in with small amount of luggage and want a peaceful night then hotel will work out ok. I do think the service needs to improve with getting taxi service and assisting with resetting safe codes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britmaveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CKS, Manager at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Britmaveric

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are happy that you appreciated the comfortable bed, hot shower and water pressure.

Thank you also for your observations on our breakfast spread. We are constantly striving to improve our food quality. We have noted your feedback on our bell boys and we sincerely apologise for the lapses in our service. We also apologise for taking a long time to unlock the mini safe. We will continue to improve our service and offerings.

You would be pleased to know that we provide complimentary shuttle bus service to Great World City, Dhoby Ghaut MRT, Outram MRT, Orchard Paragon and few other locations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne King’s Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 315 in Singapore
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miramar
#105 of 315 in Singapore
959 reviews
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#121 of 315 in Singapore
2,188 reviews
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#134 of 315 in Singapore
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Property: Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
Address: 403 Havelock Road Copthorne King's Hotel, Singapore 169632, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Twelve-story Hotel with attached 20-story circular Tower (1978). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Kings Hotel Singapore
Singapore Copthorne Kings Hotel
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing