We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have been great if not for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #85 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would have been great if not for...”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We checked in about 1:30 pm and young man at Reception counter was friendly and helpful. He asked if we would mind a smoking room (with river view) as that was available. He said room had been cleaned and he would arrange for an air ioniser to be placed in it. We agreed and room indeed did not smell of smoke.
There was a problem with the remote control so we called "Touch" and someone came up promptly with a replacement.
Then we saw a letter on the desk about renovations in the hotel. We could hear drilling but the noise was not loud and stopped at 6 pm. (There was no mention of renovation on the hotel website.)
The next day we went out at 9 am and when we returned at 2 pm, the room was not cleaned. We called and Housekeeping sent someone immediately.
Then the noise started - loud hammering and drilling. We called the Manager who offered us a change of room but none was better. He did offer us access to the Executive Lounge.
The hotel room was lovely and service was good. However, if you intend to relax in your room between noon and 6 pm, good luck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanyi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Wanyi T,

We are glad our service staff and hotel rooms met with your expectations. However, we regret the ongoing refurbishment to improve our facilities caused disruptions to an otherwise pleasant stay.

We seek your kind understanding that we have measures in place to minimise noise pollution to the lowest and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We hope this did not mar your overall good impression of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    917
    433
    139
    85
See reviews for
411
707
139
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for three days , room was Ok , clean with all facilities, great shower , Staff were extremely helpful, friendly & polite. We opted to have breakfast & were pleased with the choice of food served ( Buffet ) restaurant/bar excellent with plenty of tables outside overlooking the waterfront.
Only thing to say - considering the size of the hotel we thought WiFi would be free which it was not, & expensive for a days log on

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyboo640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Bettyboo640,

We are glad you had a splendid time while staying with us and that our service staff, rooms and breakfast quality exceeded your expectations. We will convey your feedback to our staff for a commendable job well done.

Additionally, do look out for special promotions periodically on our brand website and take advantage of room rates bundled with free WiFi. Alternatively, complimentary WiFi is inclusive in our Club and Suite rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Room: old style, however still up-to-date. Size is ok if you are alone on business trip.
Restaurant: the one the lobby is that excellent. @la carte menu looked good, however the food didn't have the expected quality.
Staff: friendly and efficient
Price: look for the special fare a couple of days before your trip. I paid ~200SGD! So it is value for money.

Room Tip: Look for the Riverfront if you want to see some water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Marc M,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a fruitful business stay with us and looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a night en route to London. The hotel is of a very high standard with the room spacious and has all that is needed in your room. The staff on arrival were very helpful and very efficient.

The restaurant and bar are ideally located with food and drinks very good.

We have been to Singapore many times for various lengths of time and have found the public transport system extremely efficient and inexpensive. The only negative for this hotel was its location and access to the transport network.

For a short stay the hotel was more than adequate and the local taxi cabs were easy to find and not expensive. We will be staying overnight on our return trip

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Ian L,

Thank you for your review, we are ecstatic to hear that your stay with us surpassed your expectations; especially our rooms, service and food & beverage.

With regards to your concern of the hotel accessibility, we do offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road & Chinatown for our guests’ convenience. Moreover Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are a short bus ride away from the hotel bus stop.

We hope the information finds you well and we look forward to serving you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were given a deluxe room because it was bigger.--- gosh I would have hated to see the regular rooms. The rooms were clean and had a great view of the river. The bath room was nice and clean with separate shower and tub but needed more lighting. I agree with "thanksmate" the food was horrible but it was just a quick walk to Clarke Quay to a lot a great eateries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Sherryk44,

We are glad you liked our rooms, the ideal river locale with the scenic river view. We have also taken note of your feedback and improvisations will be undertaken to enhance the dining experience of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel in anyway. Pleasant and efficient staff, luxurious room with minibar, great view from my room on the 14th floor down to the Singapore River and across to the lights of the CBD.

The only slight drawback is that it's quite far from Orchard Road shopping district, CBD and other likely attractions, and there's no nearby MRT station. But taxis are relatively cheap and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Mark R,

We are delighted to hear of your fine review and excellent rating of your stay experience at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront, especially in knowing that our staff left a positive impression on you. We will convey your compliments to them which will be very rewarding to their tireless service efforts.

Regarding your concern over the hotel location, you would be pleased to know that a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road and Chinatown is extended to our guests for their convenience. Moreover, Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are well served by various buses at the hotel bus stop thus allowing easy accessibility to the rest of Singapore.

We hope to be your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Singapore and chose this hotel as we've got a really nice price for it at booking.com. We were very pleased with our choice as the hotel offered everything we would expect from a 5 star city hotel.

Our room was up high with great views on the river. It was not big, but not tiny like in many other Singapore hotels. Enough for a couple. Always clean. Tea/coffee amenities are a great plus after a long day walking around the city. Our room was a corner one, so we had two windows, both on the river and on the street.

At first we didn't buy the breakfast as we thought it was quit pricey, but right on the first day we saw that breakfast elsewhere costs actually the same, with the difference that at the hotel you can eat as much as you desire. So the rest of our stay we had the breakfast at the hotel and were very satisfied with the choice and the quality of food.

The staff has always been extremely helpful and friendly. Always ready to give practical advises and even gave me an introduction course on Chinese breakfast habits, because we've stayed during New Year period, so the food was mainly Chinese oriented and we don't know how and what they eat. That was really a great experience.

Unfortunately we didn't use much of hotel facilities, as we wanted to get the most out of our 5 days in Singapore, but all facilities looked great.

The only down side is the location, but we found a way to deal with it. It is truly a long walk away from Clarke quay and nearest MRT, around 20 min. Taking a taxi to/from MRT is an option and is not expensive, but then we've learned with the help of hotel staff how to move around by buses and life became much easier. So location was not a problem for us anymore. Hop-on hop-off bus stops nearby as well, so you can make use of it if travelling for fun.

Would recommend this hotel and would come back.

Room Tip: I know there are some club rooms, that are nicer and bigger, but they are much more expensive. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear anastassia_neto,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation, it is heartening to hear that the Grand Copthorne Waterfront experience surpassed your expectations.

We will convey your compliments to our housekeeping and service staff for a job well done and are glad the concierge was able to assist you in better navigating and transiting around Singapore.

We look forward to your return and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#104 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing