We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #81 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A really Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had to have a night in Singapore due to our flight schedules but weren't really looking forward to it as after visiting Singapore often over the past decade and staying in mainly the Marina Bay and Orchard Rd areas, I was a bit "over" it. I booked this hotel as it flashed up on my screen and at the time the reviews were good so I booked.

However, lately there were a couple of reviews which concerned me so I was a bit ambivalent. However, when we arrived we were so relieved. The staff are really natural and friendly. We had booked a deluxe room with breakfast package and we were upgraded to a Club Room on the 30th floor. We were delighted with the Room and can find fault in nothing. It was spotlessly clean, updated furnishings and the bathroom toiletries of good quality- I really liked the conditioner which was really thick as was the quality and fragrance of the body lotion. Lovely fresh sheets and good plump pillows.

Breakfast was great, with a wide range, fresh and prompt service. We really enjoyed the location and had several really enjoyable walks along the very pretty riverbanks. There are lots of restaurants close by to choose from and what struck us the most was the happy relaxed vibe of everyone using the facilities of this lovely Robertson Quay Precinct. There were so many smiles and a real Family atmosphere with lots of different Nationalities.

We will stay here again for sure as it is such a pleasant and enjoyable oasis in the busyness of Singapore. The whole area feels like it has "heart" and we felt to relaxed. We weren't here to shop so this area was perfect for us.

We are very happy to recommend this Hotel. Thank you to Christine for upgrading us, it was really appreciated and enjoyed.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other Rooms but our Club Room 3011 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear TamsBrisbane,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the Club room, the buffet breakfast as well as the service quality of our staff.

We are also happy to hear that the atmosphere around Robertson Quay enhanced your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    942
    437
    141
    87
See reviews for
446
729
139
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel looked to be built in the 90s, but maintenance had been done beautifully. Everything was clean and comfortable. Basic toiletries were provided and the location is near enough to the city centre to be accessible, but far enough from the bustle.

The staff at the front desk were extremely courteous, but one of the mornings when we had breakfast, the restaurant staff appeared frazzled and over worked. The breakfast spread was decent, with a good selection.

The pool was small and came with a jacuzzi to the side. The gym looked good, but the pool side bar seemed pretty sad.

My only issue is that the internet was pretty slow and the number of devices per room was limited to 2.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear PrisVivienne,

Thank you for the positive and concise review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, the cleanliness and the service.

We appreciate and welcome all feedback, and have noted your comments on the pool and bar, as well as the internet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel but far from it. We booked a city / riverview room but got a dirty smelly and not at all a room w a view. The rooms are small, torn and smella horrible. The suer in bathroom didnt work. Internet extremely slow. Breakfast buffet was not refilled even when it was over 30 min left of the time. The staff extremely arrogant and unpleasant. It took forever to get a bell boy to store our luggage. Overall NOT worth the money or the trouble!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dariaswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Dariaswe,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this review. We will do our utmost to improve our service quality and facilities.

We would like to invite you to write in to us at enquiry.gcw@millenniumhotels.com so that we can work together to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Central location, very friendly and helpful staff, outdoor pool, good gym, good selection breakfast. We travelled with 2 kids. Perfect location to do a Singapore river cruise, stops right outside the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Alexandra S,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy that you liked the service, buffet breakfast and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The bed sheets are dirty with hairs & stains on it. I came here just for a business trip for one night. So disappointed with this hotel. They did change the room for me but still the same with stains. I waited 30minutes for the first time I complaint. Now currently I'm in the another room that is still dirty and I was told I have to wait for another 20 minutes. It will be the last time coming to this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank 'cessmandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 'cessmandy J,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay and have noted your feedback. We will do our utmost to improve our service quality and facilities.

We would like to invite you to write in to us at enquiry.gcw@millenniumhotels.com so that we can work together to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for 3 nights prior to joining our cruise. There was nothing we could fault with this hotel. Great location, rooms large and spotless. Breakfast had plenty of selection for all tastes. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank js8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear js8808,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy that you liked the room and breakfast variety.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed at GCW many times over the last 10-12 years. The facilities are excellent but the real stand out is the attitude and attentiveness of staff. I am always recognised and welcomed back by the door staff, concierge and reception. Over the last couple of years I have stayed in the club and the staff there have been warm, friendly and caring - and unfailingly professional. I would like to make special mention of the customer services manager, Mary Jeow. Mary's attention, with the support of all the staff involved in housekeeping and room service, has ensured my comfort and happiness from the moment I arrive. Great staff makes for a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear valnie,

Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. We are just as delighted to have you as a loyal guest over the years and we continue to strive to provide the best in service for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
M Hotel Singapore
#77 of 312 in Singapore
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,405 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing