We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #85 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel isn't the most high class hotel despite being a 5 star hotel. It isn't edgy or modern like how some 5 star hotels have done refurbishments or renovations. Despite all that and the shortcomings of the facilities, the service provided by Mr Peter Chua and his team at the Front Office Department made up for everything. Special credit goes to Ms Si Hui who had personally assisted me in every aspect during my stay at the hotel. People like this in the industry is hard to find anymore whereby they pay attention to detail and not treat you like just any other guest, Sir/Madam. To me personalisation matters when I stay at any hotel.

Also, the food in the hotel was great. One of the best rack of lambs I've had and breakfast on the 29th Floor was excellent. The service staffs on the 29th floor are great as well and I've only complements for them.

However, the wait staffs at the their F&B outlet needs further training. I was dining at Pontini's one evening (one of their supposedly better restaurants) and the desserts here were amazing. I have no complains regarding the food but they weren't my favourite dishes. That is just a personal preference. One complain I did have is that while entertaining my guest during dinner, it was very difficult to get the attention of the wait staff n one even said yes he will get back to me but he did not and just went on serving other tables. I guess I don't blame him because it was a busy evening but I would expect more from the hotel which wants to maintain a 5-star reputation.

Location of the hotel is brilliant as it was near the town but not smack in the middle of the orchard road jam. I had a conference at International Business Park and it took me only 15 mins daily per journey even during the peak hours so I was happy with that.

I love choosing one hotel and returning to it in any city I go to as you do get better service that way and Grand Copthorne Waterfront is definitely one of my options when I do return to Singapore. Hopefully, the wait staff will improve the next time I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonLau33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear JasonLau33,
Thank you for the taking the time and effort to write such a detailed review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to ensure that your stay here was every bit as enjoyable as possible. We take feedback very seriously and will forward your comments to Mr. Chua, Ms. Si Hui, Club Lounge staff and the wait staff at Pontini.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    917
    433
    139
    85
See reviews for
411
707
139
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here in the month of May 2013. Good rooms, good location and good value for money. The morning buffet breakfast is very good. They offer a wide spread and the food is delicious. Wifi access is available for a price. It a good place for a short stay in Singapore. Doesn't completely drain your wallet!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Arvind0288,
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodation, location and buffet breakfast. Your comments on the WiFi has been noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June 2014. Very friendly staff on reception. Good room on 11th floor with views of Singapore River and right down to the port. Comfortable furnishings and good bathroom. Lovely walks by the river with plenty of places to eat at nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, wide choice ranging from Asian to European and all of good quality. Wifi wasn't free but you could get a code free from waiters which lasted for 3 hours. Think a hotel of this standard should be offering free wifi to guests in their rooms as part of the package. You can get a bus just round the corner (no 51 I think) for $S2 down to Chinapoint, Bugis St etc where there is plenty of shopping and eating places. Taxi to airport cost just under $S20 and we were always able to get a taxi at the door if we needed one.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear HJO2013,
Thank you for the comprehensive review of our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Your feedback on the WiFi has been noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK countryside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business but if I'd had the choice, it would be somewhere else. Pool area is very poor and the whole hotel just looks a bit tired compared to others. Breakfast was extremely good and my room had a great view along the river, and I suppose nowhere was too far to talk if one is so inclined. Concierge service wasn't the best when it came to booking taxis, inasmuch as they didn't on either of the mornings we requested it. All a bit, well, average really

Room Tip: As for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear countrygirl123,
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was dissatisfactory.
We would like to invite you to write in to us at enquiry.gcw@millenniumhotels.com so that we can work together to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good room, great breakfast buffet , pretty river side dining available.
Bus stop within a minutes walking & Shopping mall within 5 min walking distance.
The executive coffee room on the the top floor has a great view and some good spread.

Room Tip: Chose the one overlooking the river and on the higher floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreetiBora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear PreetiBora30,
Thank you for the review of our hotel. It gladdens us to know that you enjoyed the accommodation, buffet breakfast and location of our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
395 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel is quite old and the walls are not soundproof. I could actually hear my next door neighbour's lengthy shower session. There's no free wifi and the room is suprisingly empty. On the plus side, the location is unbeatable. There's a cold storage nearby so you can just grab what you need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReccaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear reccakusanagi,
Thank you for the feedback on our hotel. We have taken note of your comments on the accommodation quality. We are constantly striving to provide a quality experience for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I cannot say enough about how good the staff were at this hotel.

We arrived in Singapore early in the morning after an overnight flight from Copenhagen. We were not due to check in until the afternoon. The staff were great finding us a similar room to the one we had booked that we could get into immediately.

It meant that we could get cleaned up and get a little rest before heading out into Singapore.

A short $4 water taxi ride put us in the centre of Singapore. All a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Travplane,
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay here with us was an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#104 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing