We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel a bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #51 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As a city hotel this was fine. We had booked exec rooms so had perks of afternoon tea and evening drinks and canapés. The rooms were the standard, nothing exciting, but had everything we needed. Bathroom was clean and functional. We were in a room that was adjoining to another and found we could hear everything from the other room, so be warned ! Plenty of lifts and decent pool for a city business hotel. Staff were helpful although the concierge was always busy.
Location is OK, you can walk along the river to Clarke Quay (10 mins) and there are plenty of restaurants and bars, Senor Taco was a good, cheap taco bar. Walking to the Marina takes longer,around 30 mins, but good views down their and great gardens by the bay.

Little India was very authentic and cheap as well. Eating in China town on food street is a must, best Chinese I've had so far.
Botanical gardens also a must and Sentosa, even if you don't want the theme parks, views from cable car are amazing.

Room Tip: Would recommend away from lifts and on a high floor so you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pompeywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear pompeywanderer

Thank you for the review of our hotel. It is great to read about your experience here in Singapore and we are glad that you experienced what our fine country has to offer. Every feedback is valued and we have noted your comments on the adjoining room. Our staff are trained to assist our guests as much as possible and we do apologise if our level of service did not meet up to your expectations.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Copthorne for five days in July 2014. I had booked a river view room directly from the hotel's website. It wasn't cheap (or probably we didn't find it cheap after having stayed in Malaysia for the previous week). The only really good things about the hotel is its location and proximity to most tourist spots. Most other things were disappointing including

1. Size of the rooms. It may be a Singapore thing but we found the room rather small
2. Limited and repetitive breakfast spread. I got sick of it after 2 days
3. Flies and mosquitoes in the rooms. I appreciate that Singapore is a tropical country but this wasn't expected. There were several insects in the room and the bathroom. Mosquitoes buzzing near the ear happened each night and my little one couldn't sleep without repellent. Pest control urgently needs to be done.
4. Sub standard room service. The room service seems to believe that they are doing a favour by giving complimentary tea and coffee. Had to ask for replenishments every day because it wasn't sufficiently stocked. On one occasion, got 1each of tea bag, creamer and sugar. The bathrooms were never cleaned properly (which probably explains the insects). There was always one bathrobe missing after maid service.
5. Small swimming pool although a decent gym
6. I booked through their website and free wifi was included. At check out, I was charged for wifi. I got it reversed but not sure if it was an honest mistake.

I am sure there are better hotels in Singapore at this price. We came as tourists and were out most of the time. Singapore was more fun than the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank gautam269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear gautam269

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide a detailed review of our hotel. We take valued feedback very seriously and are sorry to hear that your stay here with us fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that we are constantly striving to make our guests’ experience as comfortable as possible.

We would like to invite you to write in to us at enquiry.gcw@millenniumhotels.com so that we can work together to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was easiest the best hotel I've stayed in in Singapore for the money and I've stayed in many! Excellent room, lovely pool, great breakfast and the cakes in the foyer are 40% off after 9.30pm and they're a work of art!

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking front of hotel so not a flash view but it was huge, clean and quiet. Loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear jennylah

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. I am thankful that you had a good experience with us. Your support is very much appreciated and we look forward to personally welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a good base for a 5 day holiday in Singapore. It's not close to sights, but there's an enjoyable $3 riverboat taxi along the river that doesn't take long. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, the rooms are a good size, and my 9 year old liked the outdoor pool. The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Kirsten B,

Thank you for the favourable review of our hotel, we aim to provide the optimum experience for each and every guest.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were a last minute booking as we got ill in Singapore and had to stay. Staff recommended a hospital for outpatient treatment and could not have been friendlier. Once well we found the location great with water taxis at the door. Staff could not have been more helpful. Restaurants were excellent. Loved this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleigh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Lesleigh18,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. It is heartening to know that the service we provided was to your satisfaction. We hope that our staff’s recommendation was useful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed there in October 2012, for three days before returning to Perth. Had a lovely room and found the service was great. The breakfast we enjoyed very much. And found for us it was a good location we either caught a taxi or went walking. Hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear maree h,
Thank you for your sharing with us your experience during your return visit. We are glad to receive a positive review from you about our service and to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I value your support and the pleasure is ours to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our 7th times staying in this lovely hotel.
What we love most about this hotel is the Club Lounge and the spacious room with comfy bed and crisp linens. We slept very well thru the night which is very recharging after a busy hot day shuttling around town. Club lounge is by far one of the best among all the hotels in town. High ceiling with full view of the city and Marina Bay Sand and cosy. It is the best way to chill out up there after a tiring day. We booked with Club Lounge access that comes with free wifi, mini bars softdrink are free, plus laundry 2 pcs a day free.. Front office staff are doing a good job very attentive. We took twice the river taxi just right behind the hotel that cost $3 per person to Clifford Piers.. very convenient once in the day and in the night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auyongchooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict_Ng, General Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear auyongchooi,
Thank you for your review of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. I am always delighted to know what makes our guests’ experience memorable.

I appreciate your valuable support for our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,458 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#118 of 317 in Singapore
1,723 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#93 of 317 in Singapore
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#78 of 317 in Singapore
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#80 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £100 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing