We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little tired but great location”
Review of Furama City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furama City Centre
Ranked #275 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Kent Town
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little tired but great location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Furama City Centre at the beginning of October & found it to be adequate for our needs. The rooms were large enough & we had adjoining rooms for our family. The décor in the rooms was reasonably new although walking along the corridor of the floor where the pool is located was a bit depressing. It is the smoking floor and absolutely stinks of stale cigarettes as well as having scuffed & stained walls & carpets. It seemed a bit neglected & the gym was tiny. Also part of the decoration behind the reception desk fell off as we were signing in so I was a bit concerned about what our rooms would be like. As it turned out, they were fine & the location of the hotel was great. Near the MRT & on the outskirts of China Town as well as quick walk to Clarke quay. If you are looking for a really modern hotel then I would not stay at the Furama but if you want a clean, comfortable hotel to rest your head at the end of the day, then Furama is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjgKentTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear hjgKentTown,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing your stay experience with us.
We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and we share your concerns about the corridor maintenance and hotel facilities. Just to share with you, we have a schedule for all of our floor corridors to undergo regular maintenance. For the utmost comfort of our guests, we will double up our efforts to improve the overall facilities.

On a brighter note, we are glad you found the rooms comfortable and our hotel’s vibrant location with the close proximity to the various places of interest has surpassed your expectation.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    859
    346
    103
    68
See reviews for
330
577
191
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for the F1 and was very impressed room clean and well presented, great queen bed, bath and shower both with excellent water pressure. Buffet breakfast efficent with lots of choice (western and Asian). Daily room service, tea and coffee making facilities, well stocked mini bar. We were next to the lift well but I can honestly say this was not an issue as hotel appears to be well insulated and sound proofed. Main benefits of this hotel were its proximity to the MRT (train) as you only had to walk across the street into people's Park shopping centre and then out and down to the MRT to get anywhere. Evenings were easily catered for on pagoda street the best food street in singapore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosskunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear bosskunga

Thank you for sharing your review. It is our pleasure to be selected as your preferred choice of accommodation on your recent trip to Singapore.

We are glad that you have a good impression of the clean room and the facilities. Our Culinary Team will continue to work hard to provide a variety of buffet breakfast spread for our guests to enjoy.

It is noteworthy that you found the proximity of our hotel to the nearby malls and train stations to your convenience.

We look forward to seeing both of you again upon your return to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The title of my review says it all. When we arrived at 5pm we were told that our teenagers aged 14 and 16 had be assigned a room on a much lower floor to ours, when I expressed that I wasn't too happy about that and we'd asked for and been assured that we would get two rooms next to one another, we were told "please wait a moment and we'll see what we can do". Ten minutes later a different staff member approached us and told us our rooms weren't ready and wouldn't be ready until 9:30pm! We asked for at least one room but no apparently they had a burst pipe which was effecting the whole hotel.....very strange as I couldn't see anyone else waiting for there rooms......would it have something to do with them trying to provide us with what we'd booked in the first place...two rooms together? As compensation they informed us that we could have breakfast each morning of our stay and access to the lounge immediately with complementary food and drinks, when we went into the lounge at 5:30pm after a long days travel we were told alcohol not served till 6pm and by the way even though there's food out on the buffet you can't eat that either.....great compensation. Breakfast was very ordinary to say the least....cold hash browns uncooked baked beans (which I didn't think was possible) the worst omelette I've ever eaten and believe me I've eaten a few being my standard holiday breakfast when we are away. Coffee was terrible, as was the bacon. The staff were brisk bordering on rude. The building itself is in desperate need of a revamp, lobby dark with no natural light. The gym was the smallest I've used in a hotel almost as if they'd forgotten to add one then just found a void in the building and thrown a treadmill and a couple of weights in there for those desperate for exercise(me) who are willing to work out in the dungeon....would I stay again? Definitely not. We are usually very easily pleased and we consider ourselves easy going finding the positives in most things but unfortunately not much positive here except that the hotel was kept clean...which I guess is a positive in an otherwise negative experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-wanderes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Happy-wanderes

Thank you for sharing your review. We regret to learn that your recent stay was less than your expectation. As our valued guest, we need to know what is important to you. The constructive criticism such as yours will help us to improve and render better service standard to our guests.

We sincerely appreciate your concerns for the improvements of the hotel and we are pleased to share that efforts are made continuously into upgrading the facilities and services for the hotel to remain competitive.

We hope this isolated incident has not marred your overall accommodation experience with us and we sincerely invite you to contact us directly at citycentre@furama.com for your future visits.

Thank you once again for choosing us as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I stayed here for five nights and on the whole had no problems, just a few points I would have to make are:
We had a triple room which was spacious but did not have a wardrobe or storage space. There was a hanging rail but it was between the side that had the kettle on and next to the sink and only had about six hangers to be shared between three people! I don't recall any drawers either but I can't swear to there being none.
There was no mirror or shelves in the bathroom which would have been handy. The bathroom was lovely though!
Room view was not great but other members of my party had great views.
Breakfast was well worth the money and we had a brilliant choice every morning.
The hotel was in a great position for you to walk anywhere.
Must admit we really missed not having any free wi-fi and we refused to pay the high charges.
Don't drink in the bar as the prices are extortionate!
The pool was very under used by the guests but was very pleasant, my husband and son used it every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Dreamer1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear 19Dreamer1963,

Thank you for the review and for making Furama City Centre Singapore your choice of accommodation on your recent visit here.

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback. Your comments are an important tool in our commitment to provide a better stay experience to our guests.

We are glad to know that the hotel’s prime location in the heart of Chinatown has brought you much convenience and that you have enjoyed the breakfast spread at our Tiffany Café and Restaurant. Your comments on the pricing of food and beverage items offered at the Lobby Lounge are well noted. You can rest assured that we constantly strive to maintain a competitive yet attractive pricing as benchmarked against the industry.

We would like to share that complimentary evening cocktail hours in the Club lounge and unlimited internet access are provided for Executive Club room and Suite bookings (amongst other benefits).

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be of service to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macquarie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 4 days. Fantastic hotel, only a few minutes walk to Chinatown, walk to Clarke quay and boat quay. Hop on hop off bus 2 mins walk. Huge breakfast assortment. Our room was beautiful with a fantastic view over the city and river to the Singapore flyer. Hotel is to be congratulated on the courtesy and friendliness of their staff. Highly recommended hotel to stay in whilst in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliePortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear charliePortMacquarie
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted that both of you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel’s vibrant location indeed brings much convenience to our guests, offering a wide range of dining, retail outlets and transportation options. Our friendly Team strive to achieve total guest’s satisfaction each time they stay with us and your heartwarming feedback will certainly motivate them towards service excellence. Thank you for endorsing us as a highly recommended hotel to stay whilst in Singapore. We look forward to welcoming both of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed there for one night and was extremely chocked, I had to pay 15$ for one hour wifi access. Then the staff on réception was very snoty about me questioning that fact, take it or leave it !!!! Which is perfecly understadable but then again 90% of hôtel of that standing are offering it free of charge, not very Welcome. First time in Singapore amazing city tho .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey84800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Jeffrey84800
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are a valuable tool in our commitment to provide higher standard of service.

We would like to commit to you that we take a serious view in service excellence. Based on your feedback, we have highlighted your concern with the relevant department the importance of expressing warmth and care when attending to our guests.
We have also noted your comments regarding the WiFi and understand the importance of this service for all our guests. We would like to share that complimentary unlimited internet access is provided for Executive Club room and Suite booking (amongst other benefits).

Your continued patronage is of great value to us and we hope that this isolated incident has not marred your overall accommodation experience with us. Thank you for staying with Furama City Centre! We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is a good hotel situated in the heart of the city . You will enjoy their buffet with a variety of food. rooms . Staff is friendly and quiet willing to help. For visiting china town and peoples park it is a very good place as it is just 5 min walk from the hotel .

Room Tip: well all rooms are comfortable so no issues with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashutosh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear ashutosh28
Thank you for sharing your review. It is heartening to know you have a good stay experience with us!
Indeed, our bustling location has brings much convenience and easy accessibility.
Our Chef appreciate your kind words on your recommendation on the wide variety of food where guests will enjoy. It is always a source of motivation for our friendly staff to be recognized for making a positive difference for our guests.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be of service to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#105 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama City Centre

Property: Furama City Centre
Address: 60 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore 059804, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#71 Family Hotel in Singapore
#109 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ASEAN Green Hotel and BCA Green Mark Platinum Award (Existing Buildings) winner, Furama City Centre is centrally located in Chinatown, in the Central Business District (CBD) and at the fringe of Shenton Way. This exquisite 445-room business hotel is equipped with wireless broadband connection and function rooms that can seat up to 750 guests. With a range of accommodation choices, guests are assured of a comfortable stay with its 24-hour room service, an in-house F&B outlet - Tiffany Cafe & Restaurant – that serves food from a Malay kitchen, and a Lobby Lounge with an extensive wine and snacks list. Retail, dining, attractions and entertainment are easily accessible within walking distance. Chinatown MRT station is a short 5-minute walk via a sheltered link bridge, whilst the Singapore Changi Airport is a mere 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Hotel Singapore
Furama City Centre Singapore
Furama City Centre Hotel Singapore
Furama Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing