We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”
Review of Furama City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Furama City Centre
Ranked #263 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kununurra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a good hotel - simple but clean with everything you need and a great base from which to explore Singapore. The staff are friendly and helpful. Just don't order a beer in the lobby - $20++.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and the atmosphere of Chinatown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Jennifer_Steve,

Thank you for sharing with us your review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guest, we need to know what is important to you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    897
    361
    103
    71
See reviews for
360
632
195
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel for business trip so the only time spent in the hotel is only during evening to early morning time.

The room is consider quite spacious in comparing to average Singapore standard and although this hotel was a bit old by its history, some decent upgrades and renovations been done so I personally felt it's quite a comfortable stay,...room is great, staff service were good, breakfast is satisfying...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear BC Y,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation during your recent stay in Singapore. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Our Team strive to achieve total guest’s satisfaction each time they stay with us and your kind compliments will certainly motivate them towards service excellence. Once again, thank you for sharing with us your review. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the heart of Chinatown twice on a recent stopover, en route to Japan and back and it is in a great location and close to a metro station. However, the rooms we were allocated on the third and fourth floors respectively left a lot to be desired, as they smelt mouldy and felt damp. In fact the room we had on our return had a damp carpet and the bathroom floor seeped water and the mattresses and linen also had a damp feel to them. Not the healthiest environment to be sleeping in, but as this hotel is so busy and was at full capacity when we stayed we were unable to change rooms, even though we provided feedback about the conditions. We would not stay here again, despite its great location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Judi Q,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that our vibrant location and friendly staff have bought you much convenience and satisfying experience! Your feedback on the facilities is well taken note of and we will continuously improve to provide guests with better experience. We sincerely invite you to contact us directly at citycentre@furama.com for your future visits.

Thank you once again for choosing us as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed in the executive club room on the 12 Jan 2014 for one night. Some thoughts:

1. Room condition was good - clean and comfortable. However, it is a bit unusual for a wash-up basin to be outside the toilet.

2. The TV screen in the room was not clear, with some channels having white spots/lines. Channel selection could be improved also.

3. Room window was ageing and stained, slightly spoiling what is an otherwise beautiful view of the city.

4. Staff in the hotel were friendly without seeming rehearsed and pretentious. I would like to commend the staff at the executive lounge on the 12 January 2014 (can't recall her name). She was pleasant, attentive and struck pleasant conversations with me and other guests as well.

5. Food in the executive lounge was decent though not mind blowing. The breakfast spread at the tiffany cafe was great will satisfy most people with minimum fuss.

Overall, the experience was value for the amount paid and I recommend Furama to tourists/business travellers in Singapore who are looking for value-for-money and a well located place to stay. However, if you are one who enjoys a luxurious hotel setting, this may not be the ideal place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear GarethGoh,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation in Singapore! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel is constantly maintaining and upgrading our facilities to provide better experience for our guests. Your feedback on the facilities is well taken note of and we look forward to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The location of this Hotel is quite good, However the Hotel is very old but the rates are quite reasonable for Singapore. We were staying in the Executive Floor but the room was extremely small and there was no bed side light. After I mentioned this to the Service Desk, we were offerd to change to a bigger room and/or upgrade to a suite, however I did not like to change, so they managed to put us one bed side light. In general the Hotel makes a run-down impression but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was quite ok.Clark Quye with its great selections of Restaurants is in walking distance to this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo_Arnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Aldo_Arnal,

Thank you for sharing with us your review. We are glad that our vibrant location has bought you much convenience! Your feedback on the facilities is well taken note of and we will continuously improve to provide guests with better experience. We look forward to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a most convenient location close to Chinatown and Clarke Quay but is need of some TLC. Our room was quiet and comfortable but shabby ..the bathroom particularly. Tiffany's Restaurant where breakfast is served Ned's a complete makeover. In a city like Singapore where they pride themselves on pristine surroundings this hotel falls well short of the mark. I would not recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Lyn H,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We regret to learn that your recent stay was less than satisfaction. As our valued guest, we need to know what is important to you. We are glad to know that our vibrant location has bought much convenience and your feedback on our facilities are well taken note of. We will constantly maintain and upgrade our facilities to provide better experience for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wife and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in December 2013. Counter staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had emailed some special requests prior to arriving and were surprised to find that these requests were entered on their check-in system along with our reservations.
We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and because of this we were upgraded to Deluxe with an even better view. Our flight out was at 19.50 so we were given a late check-out till 16.00.
All the counter staff were wonderful, courteous and friendly. Location is great too with a cross-over to Peoples Park and Chinatown Point and the MRT next door. It is also about a ten minute walk to Clark Quay.
Would I stay there again? Most definitely

Room Tip: Just ask nicely and be well behaved. If available I'm sure they will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derrick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Furama City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Derrick G,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation during your stay in Singapore! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team strive to achieve total guest’s satisfaction each time they stay with us and your kind compliments will certainly motivate them towards service excellence. Once again, thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#100 of 312 in Singapore
2,296 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama City Centre

Property: Furama City Centre
Address: 60 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore 059804, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#71 Family Hotel in Singapore
#111 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ASEAN Green Hotel and BCA Green Mark Platinum Award (Existing Buildings) winner, Furama City Centre is centrally located in Chinatown, in the Central Business District (CBD) and at the fringe of Shenton Way. This exquisite 445-room business hotel is equipped with wireless broadband connection and function rooms that can seat up to 750 guests. With a range of accommodation choices, guests are assured of a comfortable stay with its 24-hour room service, an in-house F&B outlet - Tiffany Cafe & Restaurant – that serves food from a Malay kitchen, and a Lobby Lounge with an extensive wine and snacks list. Retail, dining, attractions and entertainment are easily accessible within walking distance. Chinatown MRT station is a short 5-minute walk via a sheltered link bridge, whilst the Singapore Changi Airport is a mere 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Furama City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Hotel Singapore
Furama City Centre Singapore
Furama City Centre Hotel Singapore
Furama Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing