We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley Wing is devine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Fabulous stay in Valley Wing. Made the decision to upgrade from tower wing a couple of weeks before we went and it was the best decision ever. Lobby is quite sumptious. Check in easy, given orchids and shown to room by gracious receptionist.
Room spacious and old style grandeur. Huge and extremely comfy bed, sofa, wing chairs, fresh fruit with welcome note, personalised notepaper and business card (more fun and novelty rather than practical for us) A welcome lacquer pot of jasmine tea awaited. Wedgewood tea pot and china was a classy addition to usual tea and coffee making facilities. Fruit bowl and welcome note also awaited us.

Dressing area off bedroom with wardrobes, safe etc useful for cases.
Bathroom lovely with tv over bath, good shower with a small seat in it, separate toilet and bidet, double vanity unit, good lighting, good and plentiful towels and my favourite l’Occitane toiletries – also a welcome toilet bag with some goodies and full range of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, loofah, toothbrush/paste, razor/cream, comb, buds, nail file etc replenished daily.
Electric control day and night curtains.
If you like minimal/modern it mightn’t be your thing, but it is lovely.

Service of room was discreet – never saw the trolleys in the hallway and room was always done but never had a knock on the door to do it.

Lift has carpet with the day of the week on it!

The big advantages of the Valley Wing are the wonderful offerings and service in the lobby. To start with we thought the area a bit “cold” in atmosphere but after very little time we felt really at home. We chose to go to the main hotel for breakfast at the Line as the Valley offers continental only. The Line is busy, bustling and touristy but has a wonderful choice. My personal preference would have been for the valley but my partner likes a hot breakfast.

The afternoon tea in the valley was wonderful – properly served and delicious. In the evenings the canapés (and that really doesn’t describe the huge selection of what was on offer) were fab. The drinks are all served by the wonderful team of butlers and were regularly topped up. There is indeed Moet all day long! The butlers would often bring over little sampler plates of food, in addition to the things we picked ourselves. We really enjoyed talking to the team. The butlers are very accomplished hosts - Edward the lobby concierge and Azhar were wonderful and and we were looked after superbly. In conversation we mentioned that we (and a couple of other guests too) were looking for a particular item and Azher spent his entire day off looking for them for us. He eventually got them for us – what a service. Also, my partner’s mobile phone charger wasn’t working and the team went on a mission to find him one.

The small business centre was useful if you needed a computer or printer, but the free wifi worked perfectly for us.

We took the advice of a previous poster and also used the Horizon Club in the main hotel, which you can do as a valley wing guest. It is more like a good airline business lounge in atmosphere, but it has the advantage of being on a high (22nd?) floor and therefore has a great outlook over Singapore. The food was often similar, but no champagne and the drinks were on offer for only a couple of hours in the evening. Nevertheless it was also impressive and we found the service there excellent also. I sometimes went over in the afternoon for a coffee and to read the papers just for a change of scene.

Access to the main hotel is via an external covered walkway from level 3 of valley wing. The gym is in the main hotel and was good. The pool looked nice but we never used it. There is an hourly shuttle from the main entrance to a number of stops – Traders Hotel, the MRT and a shopping mall. This was useful and I used it to go downtown but generally found it easier to walk back (about 15 mins but very hot!) The hotel is a little further out than eg Hilton, Marriott but the advantage is that it has more extensive grounds and a resort feel (in main hotel)

Late check out was not a problem and we finished our stay on our last day at 3.30 with afternoon tea and a glass of champagne. The team presented us with lovely Shangri chocolates to see us on our way. A lovely end to a wonderful, relaxing stay. Well done Valley Wing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,000)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,580 - 3,586 of 5,002 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and think it's the best hotel ! The staff are extremely friendly, offering you tea when u arrive and going the extra mile :)
The rooms were extremely clean & modern. We stayed in one of the cheaper double rooms and was very impressed! The shower was great with hot water every time, hairdryer, AC, heating, mini bar and even umbrellas for the wetter days! Breakfast is also included which is the best we've had so far, starts at 7:30-10, make sure you get there before 9:30 as it runs out fast!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We booked horizon club and were upgraded to valley wing, the room is actually smaller than the horizon club room I had booked but was so beautiful and not small in any way so we were happy to stay. The ability to have french champagne all day is a bonus i guess although we are not big drinkers... The valley wing area to have complimentary snacks etc is nice but I prefer the horizon club lounge on the 24 th floor which you can use anyway if you are in the valley wing... We enjoyed both. The service is flawless and even with a busy demanding one year old the staff were gracious. Most club level parts of hotels will not allow under 13 years so we were appreciative. The Line breakfast buffet is excellent, I can not think of a bigger better selection anywhere in the world.... As yet have not tried out the valley wing breakfast area... The bathroom and amenities are simply gorgeous and the plentiful towels etc, silver service room service( even for the baby meal!) proves this hotel deserves its five star rating.the dressing room area is stunning, the personalized stationary made me feel like a princess.... I do feel the pool shows the age of the hotel though and is small for such a big hotel. Overall I highly recommend this hotel...although unless you are a big drinker the valley wing is not worth it, book horizon club...maybe you will be lucky to get an upgrade...

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank HkgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed for four nights in the Valley View Wing with our 3 year old and a 7month baby. Arrived after a long haul flight at 8am and where offered to have complimentary breakfast or check in in our room, which we choose.
Room had enough space to have a port a cot and roll away bed without feeling cramped.
Afternoon tea was offered 2-4pm and Canapes 5-7pm. All day refreshments were also available.
Staff and management were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, Mae was wonderful and would take our eldest for little walks, mostly to the canape table at her requeat, although it did take us a day or to feel really comfortable.
We did get some glances from some of the guests when children cried or were a little too loud(as inevitability they will).
The hotel is about 10 mins walk with children to orchard road which we found fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Simply excellent.

Service - superb and the hotel itself beatuiful. The buffet at "the line' restaurant is absoutely top notch both from a quality fo offod and presentation perspective and pretty reasonable at $S80 all inlcusinve per head.

The staff are ,without exception, in my finding , excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paultsurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

stayed 5 nights at this very upmarket hotel..obviously skewed toward business people and corporate customers. We were first time tourists to Singapore, and chose this hotel for its location, and swimming pool.
Despite being there as toursist, and expecting a resort..we were very well looked after, and enjoyed our stay very much. (we both felt under dressed whilst others were 'swanning around' in Versace suits & ties).
We will return (in our singlet tops and shorts)...thanks for a great stay!!
Steve

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank batterybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at the Shangri-La for four nights in the Garden Wing. We arrived at 8.30 in the morning from Changi airport. When we arrived in the taxi the doors were opened and all our luggage etc were carried in for us. We escorted into the hotel like royalty and speedily checked into our room by 8.40am ! What a wonderful hotel, the staff were all so polite and helpful, nothing too much trouble. In fact we had everything done for us. Our room attendant put fresh fruit in our room each evening, the pool attendants immediately found you a sunbed and placed towels over them. We really felt like valued guests. We were so glad we chose the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woodlands8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 316 in Singapore
22,451 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £209 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing