We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, I loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #11 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

So I do travel a fair bit for business and although mainly in the US I also get out and about to far away locations and upon being sent to Singapore I was fortunate enough to pick the Shangri-La as my hotel for a week and all I can say is wow.

I loved this place, from the minute I was greeted at the door and taken to the front desk to be checked in I felt a little bit special. The room was excellent along with the whole 'look' and 'feel' of the hotel, this was a quality hotel and it was obvious. As mentioned I stayed a week and sometimes on your own for business it can be a little dull and boring but there always seemed to be something to do (either in the hotel or from my trips out and about either shopping or sightseeing after work)

I also took the opportunity to eat with some colleagues in the 'BLU' restaurant on the 24th floor, again this was something special (pics of the food attached) the view was also pretty special. I wont lie, the bill took my breath away but luckily it was exspensed so I could just enjoy the food and wine without too much stress but this is a special place to eat so just check the prices before booking but go for it if you get the chance!

Would love to go back to Singapore some day and will certainly stay at the Shangri-La again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,603 - 3,609 of 5,096 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

When i got to know we are going to stay in this hotel...i did a bit of online search and read somewhere that Obama had stayed here during his trip. So i landed there with very high hopes. We were checked into the garden wing....which had nice views but seemed very old. The hotel was nice but i think i expected exceptional service and interiors...that didnmt happen. but still its a nice hotel...with an amazing breakfast buffet. Only problem we had was with the staff that checked us out....they seemed a bit slow ith ther work. But it is located just a 5 min walk from the famous Orchard road and all the malls....so i was a very happy woman :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Thirty years ago, Shangri-La had the wow factor. It doesn't have it now but it is still one of the better hotels in Singapore. The rooms are excellent and the service is good.

The lunch or breakfast buffets are excellent. A little (or very big) slice of Asia in one sitting.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel lobby looks impressive, but as others have mentioned before, the Garden Wing rooms are horribly dated, boring and even had a mold smell. The stuff was friendly but not very attentive and never smiling. I stayed at other Shangri-La hotels before and the quality of the Shangri-La in Singapore seems to be way below average and neither the room nor the service was worth the money.
On the positive side I liked the breakfast buffet and I very appreciated the free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is one of the best hotels in Singapore. Service is excellent and the staff is very well trained. Rooms, even not new are well appointed. Bed is very comfortable. Location is good in a quiet area and just 10 minutes away from Orchard Road. Taxis are very easy to get (at least this time).

The only minus could be possibly the breakfast place (The Line) as it is very big with many guests (the hotel has a lot of rooms), so service sometimes is not consistent and you may have a feeling that you are rather in a university canteen than a 5 stars hotel. Food quality is food, but they are short in some food selection (for instance, low fat yoghourt is not provided, although if you ask the manager she will get one from you).

Overall a very good hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a relaxing and luxurious stay one can have here. Set in tropical gardens with a lovely pool and wonderful restaurants that overlook the lush outside areas, one doesn't have to move far if recovering from long haul or wanting a complete relaxing stay. The rooms and bathrooms are all large and I was lucky to be upgraded to the Valley Wing on this visit, with true individual and personal service. Previousy the Tower Wing room I had as a solo, and the same on another occasion with my husband, gave us every facility and amenity we could possibly want including beautiful comfortable beds and a choice of pillows, and best of all space and room for all our luggage. I like the way you are enveloped in peace and tranquillity here, and set away from the main city traffic yet a short walk takes you to the MRT, the bustle of the city and buses to everywhere. Taxis are plentiful at the door and don't have to be booked and concierge and door service is charming and helpful. The hotel restaurants we have tried have not disappointed in the least, and even the magnificent lobby is perfect to sit in for a drink or snacks. My first choice for Singapore where several days stay are required.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patmary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Shangri La has everything you would want in a hotel and is within walking distance to the Orchard Rd shopping precinct. The staff are lovely, the wine bar is a great place to relax and the restaurant is excellent for a buffet style with many choices of meal. The huge swimming pool is exceptionally good too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,996 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 319 in Singapore
1,172 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £209 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing