We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Really good hotel. Does not disappoint. Large spacious rooms. Terrific bathroom with great shower. I've stayed at Grand Hyatt several times and I believe this hotel is better. Both are good. Would agree w other reviewers that Singapore hotels are among the world's best and this hotel is no exception to that observation. You cannot go wrong. Just wish I had more time to take in the pool which looked delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuler_dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,169 - 3,175 of 5,055 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've long rated Singapore hotels as collectively the best in the World and in the pats 3 years had the opportunity to stay in quite a few of them and based on our recent experience none are better than the Shangri-La.

It probably helps that I have Golden Circle membership but we were treated extremely well from the moment we rolled up in the car to the time we left. on 2 separate occasions, 10 days apart.

We asked for a couple of favours (due to flight times, circumstances etc.) and these were given without question despite high occupancy.

Staff are super friendly and efficient, particularly the lady on the reception desk in the club lounge. Despite the immense size and age, the property is immaculately maintained and clean.

Rooms were spacious, beds fresh and comfortable and it seemed that there were a lot of little things that you generally don't get or notice that the Shangri-La does in its non-fussy way that makes the whole experience very pleasant.

No it's not in the centre of town but Orchard Towers (if that's your thing) is only a 10 minutes stagger away and though taxis are more expensive than they used to be (4 years ago) they are still comparitively cheap compared to Europe & UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportbilly121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stay very frequently at this wonderful gem of a hotel because of business. I have spent two weeks at a time most months at his hotel for the past two years. This hotel makes you feel like you are entering a home away from home from the very first time you get out of your cab after a long plane trip. Starting from the Bell Man to the receptionist staff and then the room cleaning staff there is nothing but praise that I can heap on the staff. I stay in the Horizon Club rooms and this is indeed a very special place. Led ably by Abigail Paul this place is truly a sanctuary for business people. Ms Paul and her staff cannot do enough for you and at 6pm you are treated to a king's buffet at drinks. I dare anyone to leave this place not satiated. The breakfasts are special events at the club and the vast buffet at the main restaurant should be tried at least once.

The hotel is situated just off Orchard Road and the frequent transport to various spots means that you dont miss out of not staying on the crowded Tourist thoroughfare. This is one of the oldest five star hotels in Singapore and that means that it has a very special Singapore charm about it and one of the largest pools in any hotel in Singapore. I would gladly recommend the Shang to any business or leisure traveller.

I travel a lot and this is my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BloodDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Not getting 5*, just because of the price, but it seems that in Singapore no 5 stars under 500 SGD.
Which is a crime, because honestly Singapore doens't have that much attractions to entertain you.
Ok the hotel, everythink perfect, staff perfect (Johnny the concierge deserves special mention).
Club room, huge, beautifull decoration, clean.
Bath room, i have seen hotel rooms smaller than this bathroom :-)
Club lounge perfect, as in all SL club lounges = extensive a la carte bkfst menu, impecable service.
Swimming pool also perfect..
Walking distance to Orchard road... No more than 10 minutes with kids... Less if adults only..


The price... (700 Sgd for one night which is 600 usd)....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is simply beautiful, the rooms (mine at least) large and comfortable - and with proper clothes hangers and big wardrobe. The bathroom has both bathtub and a shower cabinet. The breakfast is up there among the best I have ever experienced. The room price is very reasonable for the standard.
The only small negative is that there is some distance to the city center, too far to walk. When it rains, which happens often in Singapore, taxis disappear completely and you may be stuck downtown until it clears again. So, on the first drop of rain, if you possibly can, get a taxi unless you are prepared to spend some hours just where you are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobben_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels around, i have seen quite a few hotels in singapore over the past few months. This hotel is still at the top. The rooms, the breakfast and the service are very good, even compared to other singapore hotels. Gym is also nice and clean, nice garden view. The variety at the breakfast is really good, even within shangri la group, one of the best. Keep it up.

Thank tmathyse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Service, service, service!!! What a wonderful experience! After flying FOREVER it was a relief to have every need taken care of. Ultra clean and comfortable in a quiet, upscale residential type neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
22,701 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £210 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing