We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Singapore for the first time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Singapore for the first time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Good - the actual building, its design and layout, our room and its position, staff helpfulness. Bad - cooked breakfast in the Waterfall Restaurant was always lukewarm, TV channel choice disappointing, room a/c noisy.

Room Tip: Check the a/c - it can affect your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MandH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback. While I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay in general, I am concerned by some of your comments. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can apologise to you in person, and at the same time, find out more details? My email address is: manfred.weber@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,670
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albox, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in the Garden Wing in a Deluxe Room and have to say this hotel will stay in our memories for a long time. Everything about it was superb, from the staff, the room, the food - we just could not find fault and would love to go back one day. It's just a short drive or reasonable walk to Orchard Road, the main shopping area, so it's quieter. We had the most comfortable bed/pillows/bedding that we've experienced. Just about everything you could think of was served in the buffet and all excellent. Can't praise this hotel highly enough, but note that we stayed in the Garden Wing, which I believe is the best part.

Room Tip: Book in the Garden Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Lynne

Many thanks for your kind recommendation of our Garden Wing! I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience at The Line.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My sister & I had the most wonderful holiday in the Valley Wing. All staff treated us with respect and we felt very spoilt by their service. They were genuinely happy. Congratulations Shangri La staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 15Billy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Billy

Thank you for your positive review of The Valley Wing - our ultimate sanctuary! I am truly pleased to know that your sister and you have enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that I will share your compliments with The Valley Wing team.

I look forward to welcoming your family and you back to our hotel soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our first time in Singapore and at the Singapore Shangri-La. First Class 5 Star Hotel. Excellent staff, Wonderful, Warm, Personalized Service and a great location. Close to everything Orchard Road yet tucked away just around the corner away from the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road.
The breakfast is outstanding...don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZainLalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review and your kind recommendation of The Line's breakfast! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Shangri La hotels are always a favourite hotel group. Great staff and environment. Interior decor dated. Needs to be modernized. With upmarket flair and stimulating design. Decor suggests it is for an aging client base, which I dont appreciate.

Room Tip: Rooms need to be design upgraded. Old decor. Suggesting that the clients have no design expectation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Andrea

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to note that you are a fan of Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. Feedback from guests are very important to us. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with my father for the Grand Prix, the hotel was perfect, and the beach location made for amazing views.

The hotel spa was a very relaxing experience and really enjoyed the treatments

Breakfast included everything you could possibly want and more besides, even visit from Lizards and Peacocks to make it extra special

Pool and beach areas were well equiped, however the beach are could have been cleaned more regularly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emaloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, on behalf of General Manager of Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort and Spa, Singapore at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear emaloulou

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for your positive feedback and are glad to know that you enjoyed your treatment at CHI, The Spa as well as the breakfast buffet at Silver Shell Cafe.

On behalf of Shangri-La’s Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa team, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant sight on the beach. Being the only beach-front resort in Singapore is one of our unique selling points but with it, also comes with its own challenge, one of which is the consistent garbage brought in by the tides. Currently, the beach area is cleaned up twice a day by Sentosa Leisure Group while our Recreation Team clears the debris when necessary. We understand your need for a clean beach to enjoy the surroundings and will definitely work closely with Sentosa Leisure Group to improve the situation.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Shangri-La Singapore for three nights in January and we were very impressed.

The hotel is located close enough from all thr main action but it far enough to make it relaxing. From the moment we checked in the whole experience was wonderful. Th staff were very friendly and polite and no request was ever turned down.

The hotel was very clean (just like the rest of Singapore) and the room very spacious.

We stayed in an executive club room on level 19, which had ample space and plenty of in room lighting.

I highly recommend the Shangri-La to anyone travelling to Singapore. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your recommendation and positive review on our Horizon Club! I am glad to know that your wife and you have enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,722 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing