We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shangri la indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #8 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A shangri la indeed”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fabulous hotel and staff. Even though the room felt a little dated everything else was top drawer. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a hotel a little away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk to the main shopping area.

Room Tip: As a couple we paid extra for the Horizon Club which entitles you to drinks and canapes from 6 - 8pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Dawn

Thank you for your recommendation! It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Horizon Club.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,365
    859
    236
    85
    54
See reviews for
958
1,724
207
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Shangri-la in Singapore for 1 night, for the last night of a 31 day World Trip. We had just travelled from Toronto and were naturally very tired. The hotel reception staff treated us like royalty- from the moment the concierge in full regalia helps you out of your taxi, to the individual service we received from the receptionist in the garden wing. I didn't realise when I booked that guests in the Garden Wing receive benefits over the regular guests. These included individual service when you arrive, free cocktails and canapés on the afternoon of the day of arrival, and a fantastic breakfast at the Waterfall restaurant. Without exception all the hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. No request seemed too much for them. The rooms were quite large and the equipment (with the exception of the hairdryer) was new and in good order. The pillows were down filled and very comfortable. The mattress was soft, comfortable but not the best. The gym was quite good for a hotel gym and there were 6 treadmills which was ample. There is also a separate relaxation area/spa/whirlpool in the men's change room which is really nice.
My only complaint is that the garden Wing rooms mostly face out onto the street, so that you don't really benefit from the quiet and peaceful garden environment on the inside.
We had an evening flight the next day and the hotel let us keep the room till 4pm at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Garden Wing is great but find out if there is a room facing away from the road, or towards the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyL3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Kenny

Many thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! and thank you for choosing to end your world trip with us. I am glad to know that your family and you have enjoyed your Garden Wing experience. Please be assured that your feedback are well noted.

I look forward to welcoming your family and you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I used to be a regular during my corporate days. Stayed here, in the Valley Wing, probably a dozen times in the 1990's. Few things pass the test of time. This property does. Spotless clean place, efficient operation, comfortable rooms and public areas, well-trained, caring staff. Stayed in the Tower. This is an almost perfect choice for business OR pleasure. Almost? The Line - the hotel's all-day dining restaurant is not a positive change. Too frenzied and too long a walk for this delectable item and that food treasure.It's all buffet style... spread way out and far apart...and I don't like buffets at all. Breakfast seemed like a free-for-all. Change The Line back to what it was.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CryingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear guest

Welcome back! It is always heart-warming to receive feedback from loyal friends like you. Your compliments on The Valley Wing are very much appreciated.

I am glad to know that your family and you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Tower Wing. Thank you for your feedback on The Line.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed two nights at the Shangri-La Hotel. Although the hotel is good, it is situated quite a way from many of the main attractions in Singapore. It is within walking distance of one end of the Botanic Gardens, and within easy walking distance of the seedier end of Orchard Road, but one needs to get a taxi to get to anywhere near the Marina. We enjoyed an afternoon lazing by the swimming pool. The breakfast buffet is enormous and offers a fantastic choice of cuisines.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you have your enjoyed your stay and dining experience at The Line.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cope
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When in Singapore I prefer to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel. This for the simple reason that the service is always excellent from the door man to the General Manger who all greet you with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The tower wing is great and the newly renovated garden wing is what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. But the service from all the staff makes it stand out as the best place to stay in Singapore. The breakfast that the Horizon Club with view of Singapore is brilliant.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Michael

Welcome back! and thank you for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience once again. Your compliments on the Horizon Club is much appreciated. Please be assured that I will share them with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The staff are very courteous and they made you feel so important by giving a personalized greetings, flowers, box of chocolates, and special arrangement inside the room. I really feel that I am important guest of Shangri-la.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank 97Warren9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear guest

Happy anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate this special occasion with us. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First time to stay at any Shangri-La Hotel and Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore didn't disappoint. My family and I had a great stay!! Best location, walking distance to Orchard Road(shopping district). Great and friendly staff!! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank njcesguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that your family and you have enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming all of you back soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,128 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing