We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed here in December and again in January and whilst it was pleasant enough it was not nearly as good as the Fullerton. Both rooms were in the Tower and seemed slightly scruffy, although the bathrooms were excellent. Breakfast was also very good with an excellent choice of food but we were disappointed that we couldn't get a simple supper - just buffet food at the Line, we had to walk up to Orchard Road to find a food centre. Also why was there a plate, knife and napkin in my room but no fruit?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,730 - 2,736 of 5,203 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

You will not be disapointed if you stay at this hotel. It provides the best environment to relax after a day in the office. Every possible facility is provided with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. Extremely clean and everything is serviced to the highest level possible. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank TerryRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best hotel we have stayed at, and, it is well worth upgrading to the Horizon club as the benefits include breakfast, sandwiches, hot and cold drinks all day and cocktails in the evening.
The staff's one aim is to make your stay as pleasurable as it could be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fabulous hotel and staff. Even though the room felt a little dated everything else was top drawer. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a hotel a little away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Shangri-la in Singapore for 1 night, for the last night of a 31 day World Trip. We had just travelled from Toronto and were naturally very tired. The hotel reception staff treated us like royalty- from the moment the concierge in full regalia helps you out of your taxi, to the individual service we received from the receptionist in the garden wing. I didn't realise when I booked that guests in the Garden Wing receive benefits over the regular guests. These included individual service when you arrive, free cocktails and canapés on the afternoon of the day of arrival, and a fantastic breakfast at the Waterfall restaurant. Without exception all the hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. No request seemed too much for them. The rooms were quite large and the equipment (with the exception of the hairdryer) was new and in good order. The pillows were down filled and very comfortable. The mattress was soft, comfortable but not the best. The gym was quite good for a hotel gym and there were 6 treadmills which was ample. There is also a separate relaxation area/spa/whirlpool in the men's change room which is really nice.
My only complaint is that the garden Wing rooms mostly face out onto the street, so that you don't really benefit from the quiet and peaceful garden environment on the inside.
We had an evening flight the next day and the hotel let us keep the room till 4pm at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyL3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I used to be a regular during my corporate days. Stayed here, in the Valley Wing, probably a dozen times in the 1990's. Few things pass the test of time. This property does. Spotless clean place, efficient operation, comfortable rooms and public areas, well-trained, caring staff. Stayed in the Tower. This is an almost perfect choice for business OR pleasure. Almost? The Line - the hotel's all-day dining restaurant is not a positive change. Too frenzied and too long a walk for this delectable item and that food treasure.It's all buffet style... spread way out and far apart...and I don't like buffets at all. Breakfast seemed like a free-for-all. Change The Line back to what it was.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CryingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed two nights at the Shangri-La Hotel. Although the hotel is good, it is situated quite a way from many of the main attractions in Singapore. It is within walking distance of one end of the Botanic Gardens, and within easy walking distance of the seedier end of Orchard Road, but one needs to get a taxi to get to anywhere near the Marina. We enjoyed an afternoon lazing by the swimming pool. The breakfast buffet is enormous and offers a fantastic choice of cuisines.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 317 in Singapore
23,530 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,030 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,271 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £204 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing