We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #8 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We reached the hotel about 3 hours before the scheduled check-in time but the smiling lady who attended to us immediately showed us to our room. In fact the biggest plus of this hotel was the smile which was there on everybody's lips. The food was wonderful and breakfast was not limited to the buffet but included all the items on the menu.
Slightly far from the airport but worth it.

Room Tip: we stayed in valley side, which is premium side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arahab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for sharing your lovely photograph of The Valley Wing's lobby and positive review! I am truly happy to know that you have enjoyed our ultimate sanctuary. Please be assured that I will share your compliment with the Valley Wing team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,365
    860
    237
    85
    54
See reviews for
959
1,725
207
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Love the garden wing rooms, they're newer and bigger compared to their Tower wing rooms which are rather old, times to get them refurbished. Breakfast at waterfall cafe are great. Excellent dining choices at The line or Shang Palace. Good services of the hotel staff. There's hourly shuttle bus service to orchard shopping malls.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yangly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our urban resort, the Garden Wing. Please be assured that your compliments on The Waterfall, The Line and Shang Palace are much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

It is a traditional Shangrila Hotel with hugh lobby and impressive wall hanged painting. I stayed in the horizon club where there is a big lounge for breakfast and drinks. Room is big and i cannot find anything to criticise. I may want to consider another high tech / modern hotel for a change for another stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank myl1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review via Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Horizon Club. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a great hotel. When we checked in, my girlfriend spoke to the guest relations guy and got him to change our room to one with a pool view and also gave us welcome tea and late check out. The breakfast is first class. The rooms are very nice and fairly spacious. Excellent gym and health club facilities. The pool is what you'd expect from a nice hotel - including little things like free magazines, fruit and sunscreen - and it's not noisy or too crowded. The service overall was excellent. Yes, it's expensive and you may prefer to stay near in a hotel that is closer to Marina Bay, but the Shangri-La is walking distance to Orchard Road and is also close to some other attractions. Also, most hotels in Singapore are expensive - at least at this one you can be sure you're not going to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Darren

Many thanks for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay as well as our dining and recreational facilities. Please be assured that your compliments will be shared with my team members.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
465 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided to stay at Singapore of 3 nights as a "stopover" from our trip to Nepal & Tibet. We have stayed at previous Shangri-La hotels in other cities and have always found the same level of quality service, great rooms but above all great people. If your budget can afford it, include the Horizon Club package, as it is great value and you will not be disappointed. The Singapore Slings are the best going around and are "free" (as are other cocktails) during the Horizon Club's evening's pre-dinner get-together. If I had to be a little over critical, the rooms seem at times to be a little "stuffy" despite the AC. Also, the complex, from our point of view, is a bit too far away from the "touristy" areas even though it is near the top end of the Orchard Road shopping precinct.

The buffet breakfasts at the Horizon Club were great as was the selection / variety. We had dinner on one of our evenings at the Waterfall Restaurant which was also very enjoyable. They can cater for "gluten free" needs, and even provided my wife with some gluten free bread (as a result of the Horizon Club staff advising the restaurant of this dietary need when they made the booking ... a great touch).

We would like to make special mention of the Horizon Club staff, particularly the young ladies on the Reception Desk. Unfortunately, when we arrived in Singapore from Kathmandu (Nepal) on a Silk Air flight it was minus all of our luggage (3x suitcases). They had been left or more likely "forgotten" by the airport ground staff to be loaded onto the aircraft (which had arrived in Kathmandu more than an hour late), together with the luggage belonging to a number of other frustrated passengers. The staff at the Horizon Club on our arrival organised "emergency packs" for us and followed up regularly with the airline on the status of our luggage in order to have it returned to us as quickly as possible. Because of infrequent flights, the luggage did not turn up at the Shangri-La until more than 48 hours later. To this day, we are still awaiting a response from Singapore Airlines / Silk Air for an explanation, but as yet no contact has been forthcoming despite a number of attempts on our part.

We highly recommend this hotel, and would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If your budget can afford it, include access to the Horizon Club facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Indy

Many thanks for your kind recommendation via Tripadvisor! I am truly happy to learn that my colleagues at the Horizon Club have successfully delivered our Shangri-La hospitality. Please know that your compliments are very much appreciated and will be shared with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay in the Shangri-La. The location was very good for shopping, just off Orchard Road and it was also possible to walk to the Botanical Gardens, about 30 minutes away. The room had a beautiful view over the gardens and swimming pool, which was never too crowded and well supplied with sunbeds, towels and pool side refreshments. The beautiful floral displays of orchids and lilies deserve a mention as well. The only criticism is that more could have been made of the Blue bar which most of the time was deserted and lacking in atmosphere. It was nicely fitted but lacked some live music. The live music in the lobby bar was very repetitive, although pleasant.
Having said that I would certainly stay at the Shangri-La again.

Room Tip: High rooms in the Tower block have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne818488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Suzanne

Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. Our florists and gardeners will be very happy to learn about your compliments. Please be assured that your comment on BLU Bar is well noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel,staff can't do enough for you.Singapore Sling's put Raffles to shame!
Horizon club best value by far.Waterfall restaurant is one not to miss.Only few minutes walk from Orchard Road for amazing shopping experience.MRT best way to get around, so efficient.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank libby d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Libby

Thank you for your positive review via Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Horizon Club as well as dining experience at The Waterfall. Please be assured that I will share your compliments with my team members.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,139 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing