We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #11 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Loved this hotel. Definitely 5 star. We stayed in the garden wing on the first floor and had our own private patio and small garden. The room had everything we could have asked. We were made very welcome from the start with cold fragrant cloths to freshen up with and delicious cold drink. As a guest of the garden wing you receive complimentary drinks and canapés between 5-7pm. Also you can have your breakfast at the poolside restaurant. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The hotel is about a 10minute walk from Orchard road. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 5,096 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of weeks on business in July. The breakfast buffet was fantastic - multiple different cuisines incl. European, Us, Indian, Chinese, Japanese. The gym was very well equipped. Staff were attentive but not overbearing. The only reason I am giving this 4 stars is because the room was a bit dated. They have more modern rooms in the garden wing and they are apparently going to update over the coming months. If your budget can stretch its worth going for a better room

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Beardyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel has its usual warm and friendly service but it is slowly lacking the X factor which other hotels are far exceling such as the club lounge in other similar hotels are offering far superior quality of F&B and bigger spread during club hours. Such as the whisky served here is JW Red Label, whereas other hotels have better!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Kheman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were coming from Bali, so that the comparison would be hard. But the Limo Transfer, the reception and the quality of the room gave us a good feeling as we joined the Hotel. We were happy to have booked a room in the garden wing as they have a real nice balcony, with a pretty surrounding of trees and flowers. Our stay was perfect probably due also to the fact that we received a well placed room in higher floor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank jeanluc304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We've stayed here before on holiday, but most recently visited as the start of our move to Singapore - we couldn't have wished for a better stay for our first two weeks in our new home.

We had two rooms in the Garden Wing - check-in after the long flight from Europe was blessedly swift and efficient, and we were made to feel welcome right from first setting foot in the hotel. The staff are without exception friendly and helpful - and when things do go wrong (a room service meal taking too long to arrive, for example) they are remedied promptly and without question (we got two free bottles of wine in this case). Our rooms were big and well-equipped, the wifi was quick and reliable, and the whole set-up worked well both for my wife and kids in holiday mode, and for me having to work.

In the course of the fortnight, between us we used lots of the facilities of the hotel - business centre, the gym, the laundry, the pool, the spa, various restaurants, the lobby bar - and all were of the high quality you;d expect of a five star hotel. Elegant grandeur rather than modern and sleek, but true relaxation to sit with a cocktail in the lobby, and listen to the singer. The Line buffet is pretty good foodwise, but can get a bit crowded and hectic at times - it is worth booking a table, even as a hotel resident. We preferred The Waterfront for breakfast, as it's quieter and more relaxing.

The location is also great - a short walk down to the start of Orchard Road, with plenty of bars and dining options right on hand. To venture further afield, the guys at front of house are great at finding taxis - we never had to wait long at all, which isn't always the case in Singapore! There are also a variety of free shuttle buses to various shopping and business locations, which are handy too.

We're satisfied customers, and would be highly likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When we stayed at the Shangri-La Singapore a few years back, the hotel is luxurious and opulent. Our room was large for Singapore and it was really stylish back then. We loved the hotel, and how it was furnished really well with chandeliers here and there in the lobby. We remembered walking through the hotel and seeing greenery everywhere, not usual for a hotel in Singapore, especially Orchard Road. However, it takes a little more time to get around to Orchard as the hotel isn't actually located on Orchard Road. However the staff are kind and wonderful. The bathroom was large and bright, and so was the rooms. The views were also wonderful from the tower wing as you can see much of the city. Overall, Shangri-La Singapore is for us, worthy to bear the name Shangri-La.

Stayed June 2005

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose the Shangri-La near Orchard because of it's proximity to Orchard Rd and its' big, child-friendly pool and garden-like feel in bustling Singapore. For those points it was a success. We stayed 4 different times from June-August as a hub for our Asian tour, and the children loved it. The garden wing was perfect for us as it had fresh air hallways, balconies and was near the pool and spa.

Service: A few hiccups in the beginning but it was promptly dealt with by the managers and garden wing staff, who were excellent and by our 4th stay, we felt so at home. The only problems were with the very slow service at the Waterfall and Line restaurants. For some reason they just can't cope well, and often we would wait for 20 minutes for an omelette or coffee refill. Staff though were very friendly all throughout.

Room: Stayed in deluxe garden rooms which were nicely designed and furnished but on the small side. Surprised to find that their "coffee making facilities" consisted of the single-serve instant variety, when most 5-star hotels these days have Nespresso machines. Toiletries were also the cheap generic kind and they were a bit mean on replenishing- not good.

Food in the restaurants and room service was consistently delicious, and the staff were lovely. Spa was also very good. With just a few improvements in the room facilities and restaurant service, it would be an excellent choice in Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,992 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 319 in Singapore
1,172 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £209 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing