We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #8 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2007

We stayed at the Shangri-la for 3 nights in September as part of our honeymoon.
We booked a room in the tower wing and were given a room over looking the pool. We were very impressed with the welcome and the room was nicely furnished and clean. As it was our honeymoon, the bed had been decorated with rose petals in the shape of a heart and a single red rose was placed on each pillow. We were also given a celebratory chocolate cake which went down very well.
As this was a city break in between two beach locations, we spent little time at the hotel, in favour of shopping.
We found Singapore very expensive, with shops and restaurants on Orchid Road very overpriced compared to American cities.
The main shopping area is only a 10 minute walk away, but the shangri-la offers a free shuttle bus which is great after a long day of shopping.
We visited Sentosa Island on the evening excursion which we both thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend. We also visited the Singapore Zoo, which is well worth a visit too.
Overall, the Shangri-la is a very nice hotel, in a good location. If we ever visited Singapore again, I would definately think about staying here again.

  • Liked — Location to the shopping Malls
  • Disliked — Food and Drink a little overpriced
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank me-and-him2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,321
    845
    228
    84
    52
See reviews for
943
1,700
203
1,157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2007

We spent a great 7 days here, in a valley wing room, over Xmas. The quality of the service, the rooms & the food is superb. Certainly, the luxury of the valley wing with its champagne, high tea & canapés added to the whole feel.

We love Singapore, & have been a couple of times – I will be adding a suggested “to do” list of things we have enjoyed doing.

Having stayed in other hotels, this is now our favourite.

The sheer customer focussed service, from all, the maids who clear the rooms, the reception staff, the restaurant staff & in the valley wing lounge, Edward & Lawrence is first rate.

  • Liked — rooms & food
  • Disliked — Pool (a bit small)
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank RailwayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2006

My wife and I stopped in this hotel for seven nights on route to Australia. We were influenced by the reviews on this site and were able to book a bed and breakfast package at a very competetive rate via trailfinders in the UK. Having stayed at many different hotels around the world I have to say that the quality and service provided by the Shangri La is exceptional. Every member of staff was polite and helpful at all times and the breakfast at the line restaurant has to be seen to be believed. We stayed in a tower room which was excellent value and I was advised by other guests staying in the garden and valley wings that they were better again. The hotel is a five minute walk from the bustling Orchard Road and about ten minutes from the nearest tube station. That said the hotel provide a complimentary shuttle bus once an hour and the taxi's are inexpensive and readily available at the front entrance. In conclusion you would have to have incredibly high standards to be disappointed with this hotel and I for one will book again when I return.
Chris M, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — The Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the breakfast option if offered
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank xmas2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights in Singapore for business trip. The hotel has the grandeur of a 5-star hotel in the 80s...and is situated in a very vast piece of land, given its location to be quite near to Orchard Road.

The room in the Tower Wing was supposingly renovated, but still looks and feel a bit old, and smelled a bit stuffy.

We walked to the Valley Wing where they offered us free champagne and high tea at the lobby. Shangri-La seems to love doing this concept of having a high-end boutique hotel placed in their traditional big hotels.

The cafe "The Line" is a brand-new restaurant with nice white decor. It offers a very nice buffet with both Western and local food. Well worth a try.

My only advice is to stay in the Garden or Valley Wing. Personally I prefer to stay in the Fullerton for business.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old decor in the Tower Wing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in Valley Wing or Garden Wing for better rooms and service
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank CheeryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, Somerset UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2006

We booked the Shangri La based mainly on the consistently good feedback on this site. We were therefore expecting our experience to be 'top notch'. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of September in a Horizon Club room in the Tower wing. We chose to upgrade on booking as, with breakfast included, it made sense for us. From the moment we arrived to the final minute of our departure I can honestly say that the service we received was outstanding. Many organisations here in the UK talk about exceeding customers' expectations - I worked for one until recently - the Shangri La doesn't just talk about it, they do it - all the time! I could list numerous examples, but suffice it to say that when we stupidly left our digital camera in the back seat of a taxi ,the efforts they made to help us get it back were amazing. This was problem ownership at the highest level, the best I have ever experienced. The service quality throughout the hotel was second to none. The Horizon Club was well worth booking - the 'free' cocktails and canapes were outstanding.
We were scheduled to checkout around 6am to catch our next flight and we were casually chatting about how sorry we were to be missing the breakfast experience. On hearing this, Charles, the assistant Chef was there waiting at the Horizon Club checkout at 5.30 with a bag of goodies so that we didn't miss out. I need say no more....

  • Liked — Outstanding Service and overall quality. The room and the bed in particular
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the experience. Yes, the food and drinks are pricey, but do it any way!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank BobBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2006

We chose the Shangri-La for a five-night stay in Singapore because of all the consistent praise on TripAdvisor. And we were not disappointed.

There is something truly special about the service at this hotel. They sure know how to read eye contact and be there the second you want something -- and leave you in peace when you do not.

We were tourists in Singapore, so we would spend all morning running around various neighborhoods and sites. Given the intense heat of the city, we would spend lunch looking forward to getting back in the afternoon to our perfect little oasis at the Shangri-La pool.

We stayed in the Garden wing, where the room was beautiful and every amenity perfectly in place.

After our five-night stay, we went on a four-day side trip, then returned to the Shangri-La for one final night before returning home. We had booked the Garden Wing again but were upgraded to a Horizon Club room. This room was so large and luxurious that we were almost sick to have only one night. I suspect the hotel does that kind of thing to lure you back for another stay -- and it sure might work!

  • Liked — Great service, wonderful pool
  • Disliked — Slightly out of the way
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2006

The company booked me in this hotel since the conference would be here aswell. Prior to my stay at Shangri-La I had a fabulous time at the Grand Hyatt (Personal Expense). Before the trip I was actually deciding between Shangri-La or Grand Hyatt, but the agency was charging me over $300 US since they booked me at the Garden Wing...which made me decide to just go for Grand Hyatt and move to Shangri-La lateron, anyway so I was pretty confident that I'll get a decent room when I transfer since they booked me at the Garden Wing, but when I checked in I was informed that I was at the Tower Wing...but since the company was paying for it, I never bothered to argue anymore.

When I entered the room, The gave me two beds, which house keeping fixed immediately. The room was stuffy...and it was totally not what I expected. I've seen older Shangri-La rooms at Mactan but they were still okay, this one really sucked.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,084 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing