We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2007

This was our first stay at a Shangri-la hotel and we were very impressed. Upon check-in we decided to upgrade to the Horizon club which in our case turned out to be very worthwhile.
There were two things about our room which impressed and I hadn't experienced before. On either side of the superwide king size bed, in addtion to the usual night tables and table lamps, there were wall mounted reading lamps on flexible stalks which allowed one to read comfortably in bed in any position. Also, while most of the bathroom floor had slick marble tiles, there was an approximately four foot by four foot square of mosiac tiles by the bath and sink; the mosaic tiles were much more slip-resistant than the marble tiles and greatly appreciated.
Also, it was nice that the bathroom amenities included toothbrush, razor, and even laundry detergent for washing clothing in the sink--necessary since Singapore is so hot and humid.
The Horizon club serves a lovely breakfast buffet, and so many high quality snacks for lunch and happy hour that if you want to you can eat three meals a day there for the Horizon upgrade. The staff in the Horizon Club were very attentive and friendly.
Altho the horizon club is on the top floor, the views are not great.
Internet is about 25 Singapore dollars per day if you use the wired internet in your room or free in the Horizon club which is open 7-24.
The location is quiet. If you plan on visiting museums or the financial district you might prefer to stay on the gentrified river, altho the Singapore river is not a large river and has no commercial traffic. However, cabs in Singapore are very cheap for a first world city.
The pool is remarkable for being so large. It is a great place for serious lap swimming as well a pleasant place for sunbathing.
This hotel tries hard and successfully to get everything right.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank cruiser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,138 - 4,144 of 5,055 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2007

We spent two nights in the Shangri-la Valley wing at the end of our honeymoon. The rooms are huge, extremely comfortable and luxurious.
I made a point of booking the Valley Wing as it includes breakfast and free-flow drinks , and canapes, fruit, cheese etc etc from 11 - 10:30 in the lobby.
After a minor mix-up at check-in (they had us booked into the Garen Wing, but our confirmation stated Valley Wing) for which we received a personal note of apology from the General Manager and a box of handmade chocolates, we were shown to our room. We then headed back to the lobby to make use of the champagne facilities!
The only minor negative point is that the pool area is open to the rest of the hotel guests, and there were a lot of children around. The changing facilities and the towels were of a lower quality than I would have expected.
We ate at the Shang Palace (the Chinese Restuarant) which was delicious and also had drinks in the Blu Bar at the top of the Valley Wing, fantastic cocktails.
To anyone considering the Shangri-La, I would say go, and make sure you are in the Valley Wing, for approx £25 extra, we had delicious breakfast and then Moet & Chandon on command all day. Bearing in mind a glass of champage in the Shangri-La is about £12.... there's not much more to consider!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank trixabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

We stayed here for 2 days in January 07 as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in 4 other hotels during our honeymoon (including another Shargri-la - Bangkok) and with all but this Shangri-la we received extremely good treatment - free upgrades, free breakfasts, chocs etc etc etc.

This was our last stop and we didnt get anything from this hotel at all. Whilst it is probably wrong to expect free stuff from a hotel just because its your honeymoon, it really took the cracker with me when we had a bill for 10 cents (3.5pence GBP) delivered to our room. I was genuinely stunned and insulted at the fact that a hotel of this size and stature would have the gaul to invoice a guest for such a nominal sum given the amount paid to stay there in the first place.

This bill came immediately after we had "been selected to take part in a customer satisfaction survey". That to me is just plain stupid !!!! Even after a conversation with hotel staff and the manager about it, nothing changed. Highly inflexible.

On the whole though, this hotel is nice. I particularly liked the pot of tea which is delivered upon arrival in the room. The views are not particularly good, but what is there to see - skyscrapers, shops... It is a little out of the way - a good 10 min walk to Orchard Road and then you are at one end of it. There is a free bus which is usefull though, but catching it to return to the hotel can be tricky with timings.

Soory, but i would definitely stay somewhere else next time i'm in Singapore.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CarlandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

We stayed at the Shangri-la for 3 nights in September as part of our honeymoon.
We booked a room in the tower wing and were given a room over looking the pool. We were very impressed with the welcome and the room was nicely furnished and clean. As it was our honeymoon, the bed had been decorated with rose petals in the shape of a heart and a single red rose was placed on each pillow. We were also given a celebratory chocolate cake which went down very well.
As this was a city break in between two beach locations, we spent little time at the hotel, in favour of shopping.
We found Singapore very expensive, with shops and restaurants on Orchid Road very overpriced compared to American cities.
The main shopping area is only a 10 minute walk away, but the shangri-la offers a free shuttle bus which is great after a long day of shopping.
We visited Sentosa Island on the evening excursion which we both thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend. We also visited the Singapore Zoo, which is well worth a visit too.
Overall, the Shangri-la is a very nice hotel, in a good location. If we ever visited Singapore again, I would definately think about staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank me-and-him2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

We spent a great 7 days here, in a valley wing room, over Xmas. The quality of the service, the rooms & the food is superb. Certainly, the luxury of the valley wing with its champagne, high tea & canapés added to the whole feel.

We love Singapore, & have been a couple of times – I will be adding a suggested “to do” list of things we have enjoyed doing.

Having stayed in other hotels, this is now our favourite.

The sheer customer focussed service, from all, the maids who clear the rooms, the reception staff, the restaurant staff & in the valley wing lounge, Edward & Lawrence is first rate.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank RailwayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2006

My wife and I stopped in this hotel for seven nights on route to Australia. We were influenced by the reviews on this site and were able to book a bed and breakfast package at a very competetive rate via trailfinders in the UK. Having stayed at many different hotels around the world I have to say that the quality and service provided by the Shangri La is exceptional. Every member of staff was polite and helpful at all times and the breakfast at the line restaurant has to be seen to be believed. We stayed in a tower room which was excellent value and I was advised by other guests staying in the garden and valley wings that they were better again. The hotel is a five minute walk from the bustling Orchard Road and about ten minutes from the nearest tube station. That said the hotel provide a complimentary shuttle bus once an hour and the taxi's are inexpensive and readily available at the front entrance. In conclusion you would have to have incredibly high standards to be disappointed with this hotel and I for one will book again when I return.
Chris M, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank xmas2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights in Singapore for business trip. The hotel has the grandeur of a 5-star hotel in the 80s...and is situated in a very vast piece of land, given its location to be quite near to Orchard Road.

The room in the Tower Wing was supposingly renovated, but still looks and feel a bit old, and smelled a bit stuffy.

We walked to the Valley Wing where they offered us free champagne and high tea at the lobby. Shangri-La seems to love doing this concept of having a high-end boutique hotel placed in their traditional big hotels.

The cafe "The Line" is a brand-new restaurant with nice white decor. It offers a very nice buffet with both Western and local food. Well worth a try.

My only advice is to stay in the Garden or Valley Wing. Personally I prefer to stay in the Fullerton for business.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank CheeryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
22,701 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £210 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing