We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fab, fab time at the wonderful Shangrila Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a fab, fab time at the wonderful Shangrila Hotel!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in a Horizon Club Room with all the little extras that come with it - worth every penny! From arriving to leaving it was hard to find fault with any of the facilities. The room on the 19th floor, was spotless, comfortable and had an amazing view - but have to say lacked the wow factor - actually thought it was a little on the small side in comparison to other Shangrila Hotels. The Horizon Club Lounge on the 24th floor was fantastic, serving beverages and snacks all day, then in the evening from 6-8 you can have canapes and cocktails - all beautifully presented and really yummy! We had breakfast on 4 mornings in the Blu Restuarant again on the 24th floor - lots of choice, hot and delicious not forgetting the spectacular view over the city! We tried The Line one morning, but thought it very noisy, bit like a canteen, loads of choice but the food we had was only warm! As other guests have mentioned, the pool area was lovely and we were given sorbet, fresh fruit plus cold drinks. We also had a foot massage by Jacky (not complimentary) which was superb! Also must mention the gardens which were beautifully kept! Watch out for mozzies, if you play golf in the hotel grounds - it had rained quite heavily the night before so they were out in force just in that area!! We enjoyed the 10 min walk to Orchard Road, with the MRT station a little futher on. The MRT is very efficent, cheap and super clean! Taxis also provide a very good service and very reasonable! Must do's - Marina Bay Sands and Skypark - amazing view, beautiful Botanic Gardens and the wonderful Chinatown! Singapore is a beautiful, friendly and very clean city - we absolutely loved it!
Have to finish by saying the staff at the Shangrila Hotel are absolutely wonderful, friendly, efficient and always have a smile! We just loved our stay at this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toohardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,341
    851
    232
    85
    53
See reviews for
951
1,712
205
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Singapore is a mega city, well planned and one of the most beautifull cities in world. Shangri La is located near the busiest shopping street in Singapore known as Orchard road (5 minutes walking distance) which is full of malls and eateries. The breakfast lounge is nice and spacious and provides good selection of food. There are other options also for dining within the hotel premises else one can walk to Orchard road and he/she will be spoilt for choice there. Rooms are spacious and have all modern amenities which a business travellor needs at end of a hectic working day. The pool is nice and they also have tennis courts for ardent sports fans. Its within 15 minutes of walking distance to the MRT station and taxis are easily available at hotel. Orchard road is almost at heart of Singapore island and one can go to any area within 30-45 minutes on a cab. Shangri la Singapore is bit expensive hotel and that is probably only drawback of this property.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitKatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Most deluxe and grand hotels worldwide are uniform in their superior grade of service and amenities offered.
What endeared me to my last visit to the Shangri La Hotel however was their extent of personalisation specially in their club section in their top floor where most of our meetings were conducted.I could not figure out how the hotel personnel appeared to to know us instinctively and addressed us individually in our own names.Even the drinks and beverages that we liked seemed to be known to the hostesses on the club floor as well.The desire to go the extra mile in delivering service quality seemed to be ingrained in the hotel staff.
I must emphasise that we were not special guests on the club floor and that there were other meetings (much more high profile than ours) simultaneously taking place and yet we seemed to get a feeling of being personally looked after and which I would term simply as a 'Shangri La hall-mark' after my recent experience.

Even though the Shangri La Hotel is probably more renowned for its tranquility and its

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidroy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This is a truely amazingly presented hotel. The service from all staff is unquestionably of the highest standard.
The beautiful lobby with grand piano with nightly singers is great for a quiet beverage of an evening and I challenge anyone to find a better buffet for selection and size anywhere!
Of course this doesn't come cheap but for your money, they at least deliver the standard you expect.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

You can't help but be impressed when arriving at the Shangri-la with her huge marble foyer and glistening crystal chandeliers and a bevy of doorman and staff to greet you. It does give you that "rock star" feel.The rooms although a little tired have everything you would want or expect in a five star hotel. I loved the curved glass ensuite with marble bathroom and deep bath . The King size bed was very comfortable and linen always clean and good quality. Loved the novelty of being able to open your curtains at the touch of a bedside button.The pool and garden area were a relaxing oasis just around tOhe corner from what is now such a busy city. The pool staff were friendly and if you spent the day around the pool little refreshing surprises would be delivered including chilled water, watermellon cups, sorbet and cold hand towels .Next time i would definately upgrade to a club room it was to late for me as the hotel had full capacity.The club lounge with it's constant snacks and drinks sounds amazing and although i didn't dine there Blu looks amazing it's definately on the "to do" list for my return. The daily shoppers shuttle left every day on the hour after 10 and runs until around 8 in the evening.It really is only a short walk to orchard road but once you find yourself in one of it's huge shopping complexes be warned, it takes a while to find your way out !Overall loved my stay and will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyPerth_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

It is obvious that this hotel takes pride in providing impeccable service. Very friendly, courteous, attentive and helpful staff, be it the bellhop, concierge, reception, cleaner, a staff member you bump into on the lift, etc. The rooms are very large with a separate dresser and desk; small sitting area; and large, plush and comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom is spacious with separate bath and shower. Did not go down to the pool as it was raining, but it looked nice from a distance. Hotel lobby is grand with very high ceilings. The location is slightly out of the way if you do not have a car and will be relying on public transport. But there is a free hotel shuttle that goes to Orchard Road every hour, and there is never a wait for taxis which for $5 will take you to the middle of Orchard Road, or for $10 will take you to most places you need to be in Singapore. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at the Shangri-La as we did not mind getting taxis to places.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hales_bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I haven't been back to the Shangri-La for over 15 years, and recently returned since my colleague insisted that this was the only hotel she stays every time she travels to Singapore. I've always preferred the Hyatt, but was very pleasantly surprised by all the little touches that puts it a notch above the compatible hotels I've stayed in the area.

Things I was happy with : Great staff - attentive and courteous; Well maintained, clean, and up to date rooms; The motorized curtains were easy to operate and closed out all light allowing me to sleep in the first day (arrived at 4:00AM after a long flight, I was checked in and shown to my room quickly and efficiently); The bed was a little stiffer than I preferred, but the pillows (full size with various softness) and covers were just right; Complementary internet (only hard wired, though), bottled water, and fresh fruit were well appreciated; The extensive lobby and common areas (including the grounds) were very fitting for this grand hotel; The seafood buffet offered on Thursdays was the most extensive I've every seen; Lastly, the carpeting in the elevator is changed daily to show the day of the week - something little that makes it seem that much more special.

I stayed in the main wing, but I heard the rooms in the garden wing are even more spectacular.

Some downsides: The price is on the high side and can be extremely variable as with most Singapore hotels depending on the time of year and demand, but seems compatible to most high end business hotels. The property is set off the main Orchard road, so does take an extra 10 min walk to the main Orchard shopping areas, and the MRT station. (On the plus side, it can avoid having to go through some of the heavy traffic during peak hours.)

Overall, I'm extremely happy with the Shangri-La and will likely make this my regular hotel when I visit Singapore the next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,347 reviews
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing