We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not feel like a Ritz Carlton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Ranked #5 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It does not feel like a Ritz Carlton”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel has eat architecture and the rooms was spacious. The bath tub has an excellent view and the bed is comfortable. Aside from these, the hotel needs mayor renovation, it feels old and expensive compared to other great hotels I'm Singapore (my bathroom had mold in the walls). The people and ambiance feels like a Holiday Inn. The service is good and willingness to help is good but not great, even as I stayed in the Club level. They do not belong to the Ritz Calton Rewards program, the service is OK, food terrible, looks old, the rooms are noicy (you hear everything from the hallway, etc is this really a Ritz Carlton? I do hope the Marriott/ Ritz Carlton Group evaluates keeping their name associated to this particular mediocre hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsterloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,295
    783
    212
    90
    46
See reviews for
1,129
1,410
225
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton given the good reputation.
Room was indeed spacious and very comfortable. The hotel however needs some renovation. It feels a bit "old". There is a big difference between "classic" and "old"...and the Ritz Carlton Singapore is probably in between.
Horrible breakfast experience.... it felts like a 2 star hotel. In fairness to them, it was not about the quality of food but about the quality of people (guests). The breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests. There was a long queue to be sited and people had to "fight" to get food from the self-service area. For the amount of money I paid, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

It's our second time at the Ritz and have to say they have up, the game.

The moment we arrived, i was with my son while hubby was busy parking our car, we were swept off our feet to check in by Jacob Suresh, the hotel staff....he handled everything for us until we were given our security card to the room! I thought this is a very nice touch...he deserved to be named here as he does not justmade our checking in a breeze but also kindly showed our way around to our room. We thought he deserved a tip but he politely declined. He should be named the staff of the year!!!!

Anyway, the staffs are so well trained, we just loved it and felt so at home.We are even called by our family names. I love the bathroom,my tot just loved it as well and the bed is so comfy, you just sink into it. The trundown service is excellent, they never failed.

This time,we didn't opt for the breakfast buffet as Millenia Walk and Marina square is just 1 minute away. Location is just superb...MRT station is also just 1 minute walk away.

The view from the room is just awesome......we sleep with our blinds open everyday we were there.

Maybe just one tiny complain is that there's no kid's pool at the hotel...but my son is just happy splahing at the edge of the pool.

A suggestion to improvise is to have those tablet type-coffee (like the dolce gusto) in the room. Iknow the Royal Plaza on Scotts have it in their room. It's great for coffee lovers like us.

Really,know complains here, the staffs are just the best, so very friendly and they certainly made us feel at home!

Room Tip: One facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FadzlynFarid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I had a company dinner at the Ritz Carlton Millenia recently. It was the worse banquet of my life and conversations with my colleagues reaffirm this sentiment.

It was a 1200-plus person banquet and as the ballroom could not fit all the tables, they dumped some tables outside. This caused the guests outside to feel marginalized. What added to the wound is that the tables inside the ballroom were so close together and every single dish would be punctuated by an "excuse me coming through" person. They could have easily placed more tables outside so that the people outside could have more company while also not cramping up the space on the inside.

The food was lousy as it arrived cold and the portioning was pathetic. For example for the fish dish, i was first given a fish head for my portion. I returned it in disgust and they returned with a 5x5x1cm fish mangled fish slice. Well it is not so bad considering that my colleagues had a 5x5x1cm mangled fish slice which is dried from the dish's sauce and my Malay colleague had a pathetic stick of satay.

The planning was a disaster as they clearly have insufficient staff for the amount of tables. They made it worse by asking the staff to portion the dishes into individual plates, hence doubling the amount of trouble the staff had to go through. The food portioners were amateurs too by the way.

This lack of service staff made the food service slow thus all the pathetic portions arrived cold. The staff did not have the time to serve the drinks too and when the beer ran out, we were left parched as there was no tea or soda although we have repeated out request countless times.

We felt that the banquet cheated our money too. As described above, our food portions were really small and we ALL had to go for our own suppers afterwards. However as we were walking around during the event, it is unbelievable that there were still much food left unportioned!

I strongly do not recommend having weddings here or company events. We expected much more as it is the Ritz Carlton but clearly they are not very good in these banquet things. Congratulations to the banquet team as 1200 people will now remember your banquet as the worst ever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianLooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The staff at this hotel could not be more helpful. Very smooth and welcoming check-in and attentive throughout my stay. The rooms are excellent with extremely comfortable beds and everything you could need available of your use. The view from my room (and even my bath) was spectacular!

Food wise, there is a very wide choice in the restaurant and the quality is good.

On the down side, the main bar is at the ground floor level. With such great views available, somewhere near the top of the hotel would be a much better choice. It's also not that safe to walk from the hotel due to the total lack of pedestrian space to the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

In the last two years I have also stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, the Grand Hyatt and the Conrad in Singapore but the Ritz Carlton is the clear winner in terms of the quality of the rooms. They are large, well-equiped and furnished, with quite high ceilings. Finished in blonde woods they have a strongly fresh and clean feel. There are huge picture windows in both the bedroom and bathroomwith great views. There are a good selection of restaurants and I enjoyed a first class if expensive dinner in the Chinese while breakfast is also good. Service is generally highly attentive in typical Ritz Carlton fashion with lots of staff in the lobby area who are quite good at remembering your name. There are occasional lapses such as it took me several attempts to persuade the service desk that I wanted the Financial Times in the morning rather than the Herald Tribune. The concierge desk is very helpful and there is an attractive pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was the third time I have stayed here, always with club room and lounge access. Theview is spectacular if you are able to get Marina Bay view. The location is ideal. Rooms are spacious and very nicely appointed. Same for bathrooms.
Service in the club lounge has slipped noticeably since my last visit. It was difficult to get a second cup of coffee or glass of wine. Dirty breakfast dishes were not cleared from my table for a long time. In prior visits the attendants were constantly checking to see if you needed anything. It felt like Ritz service. This time it fell far short and was quite frankly annoying.
Also, be aware that this is one of the only Ritz Carltons that does NOT give credit for your stay under Marriott Rewards program. If this is important to you then there is a nice Marriott not too far from here. It's not the location or view of the Ritz, but you will get your points there.
If club lounge experience is not important then I would recommend this hotel for its location and overall experience.
Myself - I may try the Fullerton Bay Hotel next time.

Room Tip: request Marina Bay room on high floor for grew view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,596 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,128 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 312 in Singapore
3,933 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Address: 7 Raffles Avenue, Singapore 039799, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#4 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from some of Singpaore's most iconic attractions including the Marina Bay and Singapore Flyer, The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore provides privileged access to one of the world's most vibrant cities. While the panoramic glittering views of the city skyline and Marina Bay invites intrigue, our Singapore hotel's central location tempts exploration. The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore has several outstanding reasons for guests to stay on the property a while before adventuring out, ranging from a stellar collection of 4,200 contemporary art pieces including works by Frank Stella, Dale Chihuly and Andy Warhol as well as the lush idyllic pool perfect for enjoying the tropical warmth at. Guests enjoy a multitude of shopping, dining and entertainment options at three shopping malls accessible via covered skybridge as well as public transportation options within walking distance. Dining Indulgences: Colony - A true taste of Singapore. Summer Pavilion - An intimate and sophisticated Cantonese dining experience. Chihuly Lounge - Linger over light meals and afternoon tea or sip cappuccinos and cocktails in the presence of Dale Chihuly's stunning glass sculptures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore Hotel Singapore
Ritz Carlton Singapore
Ritz Singapore
Singapore Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing