We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but not the best clientele”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Ranked #4 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but not the best clientele”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have stayed in several hotels in Singapore and felt that although the hotel itself was quite nice, the guests were not great. They were generally very loud, rude and obnoxious. They would knock you out of the way to get out of the lifts and were so loud we couldn't hear ourselves one night in the restaurant. We began avoiding the hotel's restaurants and bars to get away from them. Unfortunately this is not within the hotel's control, but with so many great hotels in Singapore I would probably not stay here again. The Mandarin Oriental next door is preferable, with more business and wedding guests. Other than the guests, the rooms were a great size and very clean. The views were great and the service wonderful. The pool was nice, but not amazing. In any other location this hotel would probably be 5 stars for me, Singapore is however very competitive.
Good: Room size, service, cleanliness
Bad: Rude guests, pool was just ok

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,418
    796
    224
    96
    47
See reviews for
1,202
1,446
231
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is undoubtedly worthy of its 5 star rating. The club level amenities are excellent, with great food and beverage selection. Room service had a very fast delivery time and food arrived in the same quality it would have if it had been served in a restaurant. The rooms are very spacious and service is generally very good. Location is excellent and the hotel is connected directly to a large mall. The only downfall of this hotel was the buffet breakfast, which didn't have many options and was of an average quality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay at the Ritz Carlton left us feeling like we did not get our moneys worth. The hotel itself was lovely even though the decor was slightly dated. Unfortunately we arrived during a busy period and was unable to secure a Marina Bay view even if I requested this weeks in advance. The room was big and the bathroom was very luxurious. Customer service was subpar. We were disappointed when we were greeted by a staff member in the lobby with "Can I help you?" instead of a good evening, but quickly apologised when we said we were guests of the hotel. Concierge weren't helpful either and even appeared sarcastic. On the upside, location is great - only a few minutes walk to the flyer and Marina Bay. MRT is also just around the corner. Despite the 5 star rating, I would rate the service as a 3 and would not come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielka888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzCarltonSingapore, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear nielka8,

While I am glad you find the location of our hotel favorable, I share your sentiments when I read your review on the shortfalls in service that happened during your stay and we did not manage to provide you a room with a different view. Your experience is certainly not the level of service we aspire to provide, nor what our guests have a right to expect, and I unreservedly apologize that it happened.

Have no doubt that we have begun to look into improving in the areas you highlighted. Our Director of Rooms has sent you a message via your TripAdvisor account with the hope to connect with you for more details.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. We very much look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Peter Mainguy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room which has very decent space compared to many other Singapore hotels I have stayed in. Where it scores though, is in the high levels of appointment, amenities and layout. The bed is arguably the best I have ever had, even by 5-star standards. At my request on check-in, I was grateful to be reallocated a room with the Marina view, which was particularly special with the National Day rehearsal fireworks. Everything in the room worked perfectly!

The hotel seems busy. There was a queue when I checked in about 4 pm but staff were highly professional and even served champagne for the wait.

The only issue I had was the hotel couldn't accommodate a later check out without half day charge. I had to meet someone last minute over lunch and informed the front desk I would do this at one of the hotel's restaurants. I had hoped this could provide some flexibility to wrap up business, but that was not to be. Just a small disappointment and perhaps, rooms were fully taken up that day and had to be prepared. It didn't spoil what was a wonderful experience at this top class hotel. I look forward to coming back.


Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John_Teh_TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have spg and Accor platinum membership but chose ritz for location and size of the room condition of the hotel is good but breakfast was the worst in 5 star hotel I have ever stayed first my sister got horrible seakness after eating also they served at grand balleroom underground the atmosphere was the worst it was not ambient at at all food quality was the worst I am leaving to stregis singapore tomorrow cant wait come here for location and for big rooms but other service and food is theworst

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han joo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzCarltonSingapore, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear han joo K:
Thank you for your recent visit to and review of The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore. While I am glad that you enjoyed our room facilities and location, I am terribly sorry to hear about your sub-par breakfast experience. Although temporarily relocated to the Grand Ballroom, any inconsistency in providing you with the most warm, relaxed, yet refined breakfast experience is absolutely unacceptable. Please accept my most profuse apologies and I do sincerely hope that your sister is feeling better as well. Your feedback has been taken seriously and we will pledge to provide you with an improved experience when you visit our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Peter Mainguy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Club level marina bay view room.
Club level lounge service excellent. Monica is super nice and helpful. Also in general all members are attentive and try to make stay as good as possible.
Rooms are nice and clean.
Unfortunately, pipe burst on my first day and they had to do 2hr emergency repair in my room. Then on second day 2 of 6 lifts broke down and spent 20min waiting to get downstairs.

Overall, all good except building getting old.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofuandpesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

there is nothing that i don't like, pure 5 star hotel all the way, comfortable beds, spacious room with great MARINA BAY view. great in-room menu with multi-national + above standard quality of foods to choose from.
also, try to dine at their japanese restaurant........ yummy!
however, breakfast could be better with more variety.
highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: a room facing marina bay would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lite1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 314 in Singapore
22,078 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,395 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 314 in Singapore
4,043 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Address: 7 Raffles Avenue, Singapore 039799, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Business Hotel in Singapore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from some of Singpaore's most iconic attractions including the Marina Bay and Singapore Flyer, The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore provides privileged access to one of the world's most vibrant cities. While the panoramic glittering views of the city skyline and Marina Bay invites intrigue, our Singapore hotel's central location tempts exploration. The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore has several outstanding reasons for guests to stay on the property a while before adventuring out, ranging from a stellar collection of 4,200 contemporary art pieces including works by Frank Stella, Dale Chihuly and Andy Warhol as well as the lush idyllic pool perfect for enjoying the tropical warmth at. Guests enjoy a multitude of shopping, dining and entertainment options at three shopping malls accessible via covered skybridge as well as public transportation options within walking distance. Dining Indulgences: Colony - A true taste of Singapore. Summer Pavilion - An intimate and sophisticated Cantonese dining experience. Chihuly Lounge - Linger over light meals and afternoon tea or sip cappuccinos and cocktails in the presence of Dale Chihuly's stunning glass sculptures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore Hotel Singapore
Ritz Carlton Singapore
Ritz Singapore
Singapore Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing