We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Plaza gets even better: Seventh floor suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #46 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We used to stay at Royal Plaza on Scotts when we were in the Orchard/Scotts area, but lately we have become accustomed to staying in the less-expensive Bugis Street area. We had to be in the Orchard Road area, and once again, we found that the best deal in the Orchard-Scotts area was Royal Plaza. It’s more expensive than before, but the price is the most competitive. We booked a superior room (no breakfast) through the website. Booking through booking.com would have been only S$1 cheaper. Wi-and LAN are still free, and now there are even more nearby sidewalk cafes where one can eat breakfast (see photo of the hotel’s “RP” logo taken from Starbucks where they serve a good continental breakfast including fruit).

The hotel manager sent a thoughtful e-mail welcoming us back to the Royal Plaza, and check-in was prompt and friendly. We were surprised to be upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor.

Room
The amenities were so enticing that we can understand why guests are willing to pay the extra amount for two rooms (each with its own TV and air conditioning controls) instead of one. The bed was larger, and it seemed more comfortable, and the bathroom was larger with the bathtub located in the extra-large shower. The refrigerator was good sized, and the two beers, two soft drinks, orange drink, and two bottles of water were replenished daily. There was no night light, but we just opened the curtains a bit for light. The coffee maker was sophisticated. It was easy to operate the air conditioning. The room and bathroom were kept extremely clean. Newspapers are left by the door or they are available at the elevator lobby.

Lobby
The lobby can get quite crowded at times, but it is large, and it seems to be able to accommodate large groups. We noticed people lining up in the lobby area to take high tea at Carousel coffee shop. To access the elevators one has to pass both the concierge and reception desk. You have to insert your key card in order to use the elevator.

Wi-fi
The wi-fi signal was good, but it dropped out sometimes, so we used the free LAN which was fast and reliable. We note that most four and five star hotels still charge extra for wi-fi.

Quiet enjoyment
Our windows faced the Duty Free building, so there was no noise except from the occasional extra-loud motorcycle that even Singapore cannot eradicate completely. Even though there was a connecting door, it was on the working side of the suite, so our room was quiet.

Location
For guests who use the pedestrian bridge over Scotts Road, the Royal Plaza is almost connected to Far East Plaza’s shops. Even in a rain you can turn right and walk to the Royal Plaza side of Shaw Centre where there are four excellent restaurants right in a row next to each other: Les Amis (maybe too high class for our taste), Aoki Japanese, Bistro du Vin, and La Strada Italian. They are all owned by Les Amis Group. We had dinner at La Strada, and we found the special of the day, lamb shank, especially delicious, but my tortellini stuffed with ricotta and spinach with walnut sauce was also good. They also sold one of our favorite wines by the glass: Moscato d’Asti. The MRT is also at Shaw Centre. You really can’t find a more central location.

Service
When we arrived, my wife had to unload one suitcase from the back of the taxi while a porter stood by idle. We assume this rarely happens. The reception staff was cheerful, friendly and efficient, and the maids, who seem to be making up rooms constantly, are friendly. Check out was equally efficient and friendly. They froze our ice pack in an area near the reception desk and retrieved it quickly.

We are grateful that Royal Plaza at Scotts has maintained their high quality at a comparatively reasonable price. We are members of their Royal Touch loyalty program, and we expect to return frequently.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,430)
There are newer reviews for Royal Plaza on Scotts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,518 - 3,524 of 4,430 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way back from New Zealand; this was our second visit to Singapore, previously we stayed at the Mandarin but they were fully booked on this occasion. We had high expectations after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and wanted a really good hotel to finish our month long trip in style!

We were slightly disappointed at first; the rooms were well appointed but the furniture was very dark and it made the room quite dull and oppressive especially as the windows looked at the neighbouring high rise. The location was just as we had expected having been to Singapore before, the staff were very friendly; check-in was swift, the chambermaid was lovely, the handle fell off the toilet flush and someone was there to fix it within two minutes, everything was very clean as expected, but the most impressive thing about this hotel was the food.

The restaurant its self lacks ambiance, the décor is plain and uninteresting (I can’t say that about the cocktail bar with its neon lighting and interesting theme, well worth a visit even just for one quick drink just to have a look), it’s a bit like being in a busy SELF-SERVICE cafe but the food itself! Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, if you take a look at my profile we are quite well travelled and I can honestly say we have never had such an amazing choice of food anywhere in the world. We had a flight out of Singapore at midnight so paid extra to keep our room until the evening, it was down to pure convenience / laziness that we decided to eat at the hotel before leaving for the airport; what luck, all I can say is’ amazing’ and I don’t think that I’ve ever said that before. Whatever I write about the food it will not do it justice, all I will say is this; I trained many years ago at Birmingham College of Food, and have worked in the catering industry for too many years – their food is outstanding. If I ever visit Singapore again it will definitely be on my ‘must do’ list.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Again our stay at Royal Plaza on Scotts was a great experience
The staff at the Club Lounge have always been pleasant and helpfull greeting us with smiles and passion in there work
All staff in the hotel were just as pleasant and helpfull

Room Tip: upgrade to club lounge rate
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grw1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Royal Plaza on Scotts has service which is second to none. Polite and efficient, nothing was too much trouble - even hailing taxis for us!
Conveniently located in the heart of the shopping district, most sights were either in walking distance or a short taxi ride away.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, but more 3 than 5 star. However, the free mini bar was appreciated.
Not to be missed in Singapore is Chinatown, Little India, Senatosa island, Raffles and the brilliant nightlife around Clarke's Quay.
Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one. We can't wait to revisit magical Singapore again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFatBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Hubbie and I stayed at the Royal Plaza in February 2011. We arrived on a late flight from Darwin and couldn't wait to get to our room and relax. Check in was friendly and efficient, although I thought it strange that they asked to see our passports. The room had everything it promised and was clean and spacious. We were awakened at about 3am by the noise of water running. It was our air conditioner. We called downstairs to report it and maintenance LITERALLY took about 2 minutes to come up and fix it. But wait, there's more.....hubbie left a half full bottle of water in a taxi that dropped him out the front of the hotel and one of the staff not only picked it up but bought it in to reception where it was refrigerated and given to him the next time he came downstairs....and there's more....it was hubbie's birthday the last night that we spent here....a knock on the door at about 6pm....it was a staff member with a beautiful cake from the restaurant downstairs....not only a cake, but a card as well wishing him a happy birthday. We were absolutely speechless.....the staff and management of this place go far out of their way to make sure your stay is a happy one. They all bring new meaning to the word SERVICE. The breakfast had every dish you could possibly wish for and the quality was fantastic. The hotel is located very close to the Orchard MRT and the concierge is only too happy to organise tours/trips for you. The hotel also has a swimming pool which was very refreshing at the end of the day and we made good use of the free internet provided in our room. The re-stocking of the mini bar and the Nespresso machine is a nice touch and was truly appreciated.

Singapore is the perfect city, clean, green, organised and friendly.

I just wanted to say a huge thank you to Patrick Fiat and the staff of the Royal Plaza on Scotts....you have created something very, very special here and you are all a testament to the friendliness, sincerity and efficiency of the Singapore culture. Hubbie and I both hope to return to your beautiful country one day soon and we won't be looking any further for our accommodation than your amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This hotel is one of the best in Singapore. It is close to orchard Rd and all shopping areas. A 2 min walk to the MRT and a bus stop right out the front. Directly opposite Far East Plaza great for Clothes shopping for the Money conscious.
The hotel is very clean and no smoking is a plus++ food and beverages are average for Singapore restaurants.
The club rooms that include Breakfast are great value. A must to stay and We are returning in June 2001.

Room Tip: Book a club room for that extra special occasion.
  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

If you are a regular business traveller who is used to 4+ star hotels, do not stay here.

In my case the company pays so the very overpriced executive room, services, food and beverage charges were not coming out of my pocket- if they were I would be horrified. The staff are very friendly and nice but mostly just plain incompetent. They genuinely try to be helpful and that is to be appreciated.

The room I had was supposedly one of the nicest so I hate to think what the others are like. It was very musty with a smell that had me concerned my suits would grow a layer of mould overnight. The view made me want to keep the curtains closed but to its credit, the sound proofing was good enough to block out most of the construction noises from the building work next door.
What this hotel does offer is a location very close to Orchard Rd so if you are here for shopping and not business it is probably just fine. The free WIFI connection was great and the gym was good as well. The food at the executive lounge leaves a bit to be desired but passable and overall it is just not up to the standard of most genuine business hotels in this price range (or even those in the next bracket down).

Room Tip: If you must stay here then shop for discount deals
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#35 of 316 in Singapore
2,428 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 316 in Singapore
10,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#73 of 316 in Singapore
3,500 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
#41 of 316 in Singapore
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £121 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing