We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #47 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our stay was very enjoyable. This hotel is fantastic. I would like to thank everyone for their great help when my daughter became ill. All went out of their way to help us.

We will come back for another visit to Singapore.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Susy856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,226 - 3,232 of 4,474 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

There are several big-name hotels in the same area, and I have stayed at quite a few, but RPS knows the traveller best. Friendly smiles greet you from doorman to housekeeping. Room isn't that big but has everything you want and more. Big comfortable bed with soft pillows, really cool bathroom with rain shower, shower seat, handheld shower, toilet bidet, etc. Free internet (wi-fi or wired), and free mini bar with beer, soda, juice, bottled water and cookies that's replenished daily! And did I mention the Nespresso machine with 3 capsule types and choice of expresso or regular? What more can you ask?

Good breakfast buffet, although halal so no pork. Ordered a burger from room service and it was very good, very juicy.

Although a club member at another hotel chain, I will always choose to stay at RPS whenever in Singapore. No wonder it was voted Asia's best independent hotel for years in a row.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chequer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel. MRT (Orchard) is close by and all the shopping that Orchard Rd has to offer is within easy walking distance. Bus stop is at the door and the free bus to Universal Studios (for foreign visitors only and you MUST show your passport AND Singapore arrival card) picks up and drops off right across the road at the Hyatt and the Zoo bus picks up and drops off right next door at DFS. Lots of places to eat and drink in the vicinity - you are spoiled for choice! We were upgraded on arrival to a corner room which offered a little more space. Free internet (wired and wi-fi) was great. Lovely 'rain' shower was appreciated. Pool was a little small and a lot cooler than expected but served it's purpose. Overall really enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My partner and I only stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday to Malaysia but wish it had been longer. Loved Singapore in general and this hotel as it was in a great location and our room was very clean and liked the decor. Breakfast was delicious and had a wide variety of choices to eat. Recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear clb40_12,

Thank you for your kind words.

Thanks to our very dedicated housekeeping staff who works round the clock to provide our guest with such impeccable services.

Indeed being located in the middle of orchard road where the major shopping centres are located, would make us one of the premium choices of hotel around.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed yourself and indeed the word is “Recommend”!

General Manager
Patrick Fiat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had three nights here and it was our first time in this hotel. It is hard to fault. Great service from the staff in all areas, very good rooms with a brilliant shower. We booked a superior room but were upgraded to the next level.
Free soft drinks (coke and diet coke), water, juice and beer in the fridge and a Nespresso machine are a nice extra (you can swap the drinks over if you prefer one over the others). The wifi in the room dropped out occasionally. Breakfast was very good although the western style cooked meat choices are limited due to the restaurant being halal.

Room Tip: We had a room with no view but that didn't matter as it was quiet and we were hardly there excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear OzHolly,

What a lovely review, thank you so much.

It is always with great delight to hear that our staff have left a good impression on your stay here.

I am also especially happy to hear that you relished our individualised drink provision. At Royal Plaza on Scotts, we have been offering complimentary minibar replenished daily, since 1999. This is one of the most commendable services we have and our guests love it, at all time. You have just confirmed that once again.

With regards to the feedback of limited meat choices and occasional drop out in the Wi-Fi connection, we would certainly get it checked on.

I look forward to your next visit with us.

General Manager
Patrick Fiat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were recently in Singapore for vacation and stayed in the Royal Plaza on Scotts. We booked a Superior room and stayed from May 6th to May 12th. The room is quite spacious although it's just a Superior room.

You may expect basic amenities that can be found in other 5-star hotels, but what I love most is the Expresso maker in the room where you can choose different types of coffee capsules from black coffee to to Expresso.

Although the bathroom is relatively smaller compared to other 5-star hotels that we have been to, we can still conveniently take our bath. As expected, there's a safe that you can keep your valuables and lock it with numeric combination.

Our room was not facing the main road (Scotts Road), so there's nothing much to see. So if you are planning to check in here, try to get room which facing the main road, at least there's something too look out for.

One thing that I really like during our stay was the free WiFi, complimentary from the hotel as well as the free snacks and sodas in the mini bar. Well, I must admit that nowadays, it's quite difficult to find a 4 or 5-star hotel that offer free Internet. In most cases, you will have to buy the WiFi access airtime card from the reception. I think other hotels should follow this step as WiFi access is now considered as a requirement, not an option :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meowsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Meowsmart

Thank you for your wonderful review!

I am glad that you found time to enjoy some of the special touches the hotel has to offer, including our complimentary mini-bar & Wi-Fi as well as our Nespresso Machine. I am in agreement with you that Wi-FI access is a requirement and not an option. That is why in 2007 we took a decision to provide it to our guests free of charge and with no restriction how many devices they will be using. Since the inception of this service, we have only been busy receiving the compliments. I am pleased to share with you that we are looking into strengthening our Wi-FI services, ever more. So look-out for this space!

I’m sure being situated in the middle of Orchard road and a stone throw away from the MRT, would have been a major plus point for your vacation.

I am glad that we have made such a positive impression on your stay, and would certainly look forward to having you back with us once again.

General Manager
Patrick Fiat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have visited Singapore for work and leisure many times over the last 10 years and have sampled many hotel styles in different price ranges but mainly 4-5 star. We stayed at this hotel in March 2012 for 3 nights and again in April for 7 nights......just marvellous. We stayed on the Royal Club floor, initially in a standard room and on the second visit upgraded on a promotional offer to an Executive room. Both were fine with more space in the Executive room.
We checked in at the Club lounge, welcomed with a cool drink and seamless efficiency.
The rooms are comfortable as are the beds. Bathrooms not particularly large but adequate, well maintained and clean. The minibar fridge is kept stocked with soft drinks and beer and some chocolate biscuits.....all free and maintained daily.
The staff in all areas of the hotel are very helpful. We had most interaction with the Club lounge staff who were friendly, attentive and happy to advise re sightseeing or other activities. High tea starts at 3pm and must be sampled at least once if your waistline can stand it, and the cocktails with excellent snacks could replace an evening meal if you have had a hard day by the pool or sightseeing.
Located close to the junction of Scotts and Orchard Roads, opposite an excellent shopping mall and 5 minute walk to the Orchard MRT. Very easy access to everything by MRT in Singapore and we only took the taxi to go to the zoo with our grandchildren who we were visiting, and to go to the airport when we were leaving.
We did not use the pool but understand it is Ok.
We just loved everything about this place. It is very, very busy.....lots of business traffic and lots of Asian guests......the main foyer is large, with adequate seating and a great vibe. However once in the Club lounge or your room all is tranquil. Strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford the Royal Club floor that provides excellent value for money in central Singapore.

Room Tip: Great value on the Royal Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IGH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear IGH63,

Wow, certainly always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback from guest.

Indeed the Royal Plaza on Scotts is located in a prime location, a stone throw away from the MRT and also surrounded by many good restaurants and shopping centres. It also seems like you have all of the hotels unique services at the tip of your fingers, our Free Wi-Fi Access, complimentary Minibar and available Nespresso machines in all rooms.

I am especially happy to know that our staffs have made such a positive impact with your stay and the time you’ve spent in club lounge.

I am glad that we have made your stay with your family an enjoyable one, and we look forward to serving you once more.

Thank You.

General Manager
Patrick Fiat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#36 of 317 in Singapore
2,468 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#75 of 317 in Singapore
10,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#79 of 317 in Singapore
3,572 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
#42 of 317 in Singapore
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#47 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £122 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing