We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #46 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is really no more than a 3 star hotel. It's an excellent location close to Orchard Road, shopping malls, restaurants and the MRT. The rooms are a reasonable size. However my room was dark - the window looked out on the concrete of the neighbouring building, the air conditioning is damp and mildew smelling and the much vaunted free minibar is pretty minimal. The in room Nespersso is a nice touch though. But it misses the mark on other things; lighting in the room is either excessively bright and flourescent or dismally dark, there is no clock and the drains are very noisy. Service is generally good - the staff are for the most part very friendly. However at breakfast the restaurant seems to be overwhelmed. Buffet dishes are not refilled very quickly, it can take a bit of a wait to get seated and on my last day there, the staff bizarrely decided to seat another person with me ( I was alone) and when I questioned the waiter on it he said there was another table available for me. There are lots of hotels in Singapore, although prices there are high and this hotel is in the mid-range of prices. But apparently you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,686
    428
    99
    66
See reviews for
985
1,493
297
845
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here with my mum for four hights. The hotel is old and tired. Our key to our room (swipe card) malfunctioned and we were locked out of our room for at least 45 minutes. The man that came to fix it wasnt pleasant at all. We asked for late checkout and were denied even though we couldnt get into our room for 45 minutes one day. The only bonus is the location. The price of the meals were through the roof through the hotel and because of this we walked accross the road to the marriot to eat.

Room Tip: Its a very tired hotel and because of the religion of the hotel there is no pork products available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bono1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As stated in other reviews, the hotel is in a great location with very easy access to the MRT, bus stops and taxi stands. There are numerous shops and restaurants in the vicinity. service was excellent from the doorman to housekeeping. My room was small with a view of a brick wall. This would be fine for one night but beyond that I would get claustrophobic. If staying on a longer trip, I would upgrade to a larger room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room also came with a free mini bar (soda, water, cookies). The breakfast buffet was on par with the other large hotels in the area. The gym was small but adequate. The pool area was not very comfortable and the changing areas need to be upgraded. The main disadvantage for me was that internet access was VERY unreliable and required me to restart my iPhone and iPad repeatedly. I appreciate it being free but I would have paid to have more consistent access.

Room Tip: Upgrade above the premiere level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleAus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at Royal Plaza on Scotts for four nights on a leisure visit to Singapore. The location is great - right next to Orchard MRT so it is really easy to get around. The room was comfortable and we appreciated the free minibar and wifi, which worked great most of the time. The staff went out of their way to assist guests and were happy to help with any queries. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly stay again if in Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Royal Plaza twice in the last 2 years and it has been a wonderful little hotel for us.

We love staying there because:
Location is retty much perfect - very close to the MRT and shopping centres,
Rooms are spacious enough, very comfortable and clean - we enjoy the rain shower in the bathroom and their L'Occitane luxury toiletries ( I even took some away with me for our Europe tour )
Lovely service from staff whom are welcoming, approachable, friendly and always willing to help
100% smoke free
Complimentary wi-fi - fast and very convenient to stay in touch with family/friends
Business Centre - print out your plane tickets/tour tickets without any worries
Complimentary mini-bar - being able to reach for a cold bottled water after a long and hot day of shopping without worrying that the hotel will charge you a fortune for it
Breakfast - tasty with good variety

Our most recent stay was for 3 nights (29th April - 2nd May). We booked the Club Deluxe Room. Check in was quick and seamless and after a few minutes of settling into our room they brought us some delicious chocolates from their restaurant to congratulate us on our honeymoon.

We will make sure that we stay at RP on Scotts on our future trips to Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danzelldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Got to stay at the hotel due to Malaysian passport holder offer. We took two rooms for us a family of 6. My 3 boys stayed in the connecting room (thanks to Li Qi and Sarah). Free minibar though i wished they would keep the Tiger Beer out of it and replace it with two more Coca-Cola as we do not drink. The wifi is complimentary which was nice though it was faster in my kids room than ours. TV is wide screen and the bed is King Size. My wife and I had trouble sleeping through the night not sure why but the kids slept like a baby. The toilet and toiletries were excellent. There is no kids pool at the hotel as the pool is only suitable for adults as it is quite deep (1.5m and above). The receptionist were quite attentive and responded well to request. Didn't try the breakfast as it was not included in our offer but a nice paratta place is available just 5 minutes walk from the hotel across the road to Far East Plaza. Try the Cheese paratta which is just excellent and the best we've tasted. We would definitely recommend the hotel to people we know.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nash09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

It wasn't a love at first sight surveying the exterior and the interior sight of the building. Its not the newest building in the city but it all changed when I stepped in...

Being a frequent business traveler to Singapore and have stayed in many 4-5 star hotels around the CBD area, I'd say that the experience is everything a traveler would wanna have, a minibar with everything free in it (water, sodas, beers, snack, cookies), great asian food selections in their restaurant, mini coffee machine in the room (what the what!??) and most importantly CLEAN, spotless bathroom AND bath tub. Didn't have time to jump inside the pool facilities (which looks cute and divine), only had a glimpse, but will definitely pay a trip there next time.

Location wise, its a haven for shoppers. Though its not the closest venue for the major conference or expo like Suntec or Marina Bay, but the nearest MRT is just 5 mins walk away.

Saw a lot of Bruneians around, perhaps cos the resto here caters all-Halal meals, which is a rare thing to get in Singapore.

Tip: If you're a fan of macarons, do get at least a DOZEN of Canele Pattiserie's macarons. Everytime I walked out and in from the hotel, I bought one each and its just ridiculously delicious - chewy with a crisp on every munch. Its almost or at least on par with Parisian standard, having sampled best macarons around the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,474 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Property: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing