We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really sure why this hotel has such a high rating on TripAdvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #46 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not really sure why this hotel has such a high rating on TripAdvisor”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here on a one night stopover, I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Singapore (including others on this same trip) and I would only rate this as average in comparison to others and would not stay here again. The website inidcates that this is a deluxe hotel, it is not. The room decor was very tired and old and in need of a complete refursbishment, however the room size was quite good. The bed was very hard. The hotel does have a good Orchard Rd location (across from the Hyatt - which imo is a much better hotel). There is work going on around the outside of the building, but we didn't notice this. The hotel does have free minibar (a couple of soda's, which we didn't want) and internet access (which we did use). There was a good selection for the buffet breakfast. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice, although I imagine wit would get crowded. We stayed here because it was slightly cheaper than other hotels at the time - there is a reason for this and we would pay an extra $20-$30 to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,015
    1,697
    430
    100
    66
See reviews for
993
1,511
301
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel was booked for me by our local office in Singapore. It didn't disappoint. I had a large corner room that had all of the conveniences. It even had adapters in the room so I could use my adapters I brought for charging needs. The room was clean. The room comes with a mini fridge with various juices, sodas, water and Oreos. I drank the water and gave the rest to my coworkers everyday. Be sure to clear it out as comes with your room.
I had breakfast daily at the hotel and it has every option available, you will not be disappointed. The staff was always very friendly and helpful promptly when I did make a couple requests. I also never waited more than 5-10 minutes for a taxi even in peak, so I don't think you need to pay extra for the service of a reservation for your taxi.

The only con was the shower. The pressure on the rain setting was too low to feel clean so using the handheld was a bit inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good location, easy access to Orchard Road. Plenty of eating places nearby. Near to Orchard MRT. One major disappointment was that when we made the bookings, we requested for an extra bed for a child, but when we arrived we were told any request s were upon availability, not guaranteed. Extra charge of S$70/night for the extra bed, an extra expense we didn't plan for !

Room Tip: kettle is found inside the wardrobe !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark2013london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've always been pretty ambivalent about this hotel which I've only stayed at for their decent corporate rate. My last stay there was the last straw. On my reservation I was guaranteed early check-in since my flight was coming into Singapore in the morning, due to a flight delay I arrived for check-in at 2 in the afternoon and they shuffled me off to a "broom closet" of a waiting room to await my rooms availability. They never did come retrieve me as stated but when I returned to the front desk an hour later my room was available. Complete lack of follow through. The hotel has a somewhat stale smell about it and one of the elevators smells of urine. One of the attendants at the concierge desk was the opposite of helpful with lots of blank looks, hanging questions and incorrect directions. The restaurant downstairs is decent but often booked or full. Luckily there is plenty of food nearby. The entryway to the lobby from the street seems to be under eternal construction and reminds me of a dark cave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lowbrow909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thanks for RP made me and my fiancee had a great memory this time.
We had a great sleep quality and great coffee in the room every morning.
We really had a great time in Singapore. We will choose RP again when we visit Singapore next time.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

of all the fancy hotels on scotts rd this one is beats them all for a night stay. free use of minibar ensures you have a good night and great breakfast downstairs for a fantastic start to next day.
Highly recommended for business travel and overnight stays. compared to the hyatt, hiltons and Marriott this one is a clear winner with value and quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_muniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are mainly interested in the shops and malls of Orchard and Tanglin Roads, this hotel is in the perfect location. A short stroll brings you to Isetan and all the main shops as well as a subway station.
We upgraded to the club floor after seeing the high cost of food - either the superb full buffet for the very hungry, expensive snacks and drinks in the bar or very expensive room service. The club lounge provided us with very good value and enough snacks to keep us going. The rooms are comfortable with quite spacious bathrooms.
We enjoyed our stay - a return visit - and would stay there again even with the turkey bacon! Why a Muslim-owned hotel won't have pork but allows alcohol is beyond me.

Room Tip: I liked the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,354 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#69 of 312 in Singapore
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,515 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Property: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing