We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgetable for all the right reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #45 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Forgetable for all the right reasons”
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This is the type of hotel that is forgetable for all the right reasons - there is simply nothing to spoil your stay. Checkin was immediate and efficient, our room was clean, elegant and well-equiped, the staff were genuinely warm and helpful, and the overall ambience was quietly luxurious. The location is excelent, with plenty of nearby shops, restaurants and MRTstation. Taxis were plentiful both at the hotel and on the streets, and transfer to and from the airport was about 20 minutes.

  • Liked — Safe, welcoming and quietly luxurious
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,063
    1,725
    441
    100
    67
See reviews for
1,029
1,540
303
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We booked Royal Plaza on Scotts based on the reviews on this site and agree with what has been said: good location, clean rooms and free drinks from the mini bar. The standard inclusions in the mini bar include 2 cans of Tiger Beer, 1 Coke, 1 Diet Coke, 1 Milo, 1 OJ and 2 bottles of water.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LittleYarYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davao
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

great hotel. not on orchard road, but a few steps away from it-- near enough to be almost part of orchard road, but distant enough to avoid excessive noise.

we went on a december when orchard road was all lighted up and very pretty. near the hotel, there is a 24-hour mccafe if you get tired of local cuisine or need something familiar. orchard road is full of malls and shopping is good. the mrt is also very near, which is ideal and very convenient.

the room was very nice. we got a club room. the bathroom was very modernly fitted and very nice--one of the nicest i've experienced so far. you can watch tv from the spacious tub while you're soaking. the toiletries are also complete and well packaged.

sheets are very soft and bed comfortable. plus, the minibar, which is restocked daily with softdrinks, juices, water and beer, is free!

the breakfast buffet is complete with both western and local food. choices were abundant. you can get samplings of singaporean food there. there is also a vegetarian menu.

the bar and the musical entertainment is also nice. downside is that the entire hotel is non-smoking. but then, most of singapore have strict smoking policies.

i love this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We stayed at the Royal Plaza as a stopover on the first night of our honeymoon. The location is great, right on the corner of Orchard Rd, the main shopping street, and easy access to whereever else you need to go.

Highlights:

- Fantastic breakfast including chinese delicacies (we'd recommend paying a bit more for a Royal Club room so this is included)

- Free interenet access

- Very friendly staff, who recommended we went to the Newton Hawker Centre for food, which was excellent

Only slight downside was the free cocktails (as they didn't really know how to make cocktails, so the most exotic we got was vodka and orange!!)

Overall a great hotel which we'd definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Price!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne-Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

The hotel is located off Orchard Rd (main shopping strip), which means if you're into shopping, then it's an awesome location. We found the Orchard Rd area terribly congested and tedious to maneuver around as a result (probably tolerable had the climate been less hot and humid). The hotel itself is well appointed and bed is extremely comfortable. Gym is small with 2 treadmills and a smattering of other equipments.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

This is a well loctated hotel if you are in town to shop as its close to the main shopping centres. If you are in town for work there are possibly better hotels for you - though the north-south mrt station is about 10 minutes walk away (in 34c heat.) Conveniently outside was a Starbucks if you want something better than the nescafe they provide in the room though the hotel has a rather nice looking coffee shop too.

There were two issues that let my stay down; before i get to them the most important things with a singapore hotel (for me anyway): the bed was really comfortable, the shower was great and the air conditioning worked really well (though the controls are baffling all red and green lights.)

Its a hotel well designed for business travelers with power sockets on the top of a large desk and internet access is included with the room rate. There were 3 easily accessibly power sockets in the room; one by the desk, one under the large tv and one under the bedside table.

The first downside of my stay was that the internet access was terribly slow even something like uploading a couple of photos to flickr repeatedly failed; and the wireless disappeared completely for the last two days of my stay.

The biggest upset was when i dropped something under the bed and had to look under it. There was room service food, pills and general mess which suggests that the cleanliness was more about appearance than substance. That surprised me because to that point I was impressed - the mains even folded my clothes into tidy piles when i left them on top of the desk chair.

  • Liked — the bed !
  • Disliked — what was under the bed
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank u07ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

An excellent hotel in a great location. Very close to shops, MRT and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which is great when you have been on your feet all day.

Service at the hotel was excellent - breakfast was great with a wide selection to suit all.

Rooms were nice and clean

Restaurants around the hotel were not that great the best food is in the China town and Little India area (very cheap) - easily accessible by Bus or on the MRT. We ate at a great veggie restaurant in China Town called Veg Deli which had the best food we ate in Singapore.

Went to Raffles Hotel for a Singapore Sling which I think is over hyped - most people drank the cocktail, ate a few peanuts took some photos and left - so lacking in atmosphere.

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissVip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 314 in Singapore
2,468 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#73 of 314 in Singapore
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 314 in Singapore
9,837 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#12 of 314 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Property: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#45 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing