We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amara Singapore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amara Singapore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amara Singapore Hotel
Ranked #77 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amara Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good rooftop pool - but no food or drink service.

Good breakfast buffet.

Easy to get in and out of this property - not too large. It takes awhile to get a cab - allow for extra time. Approximately 15 minute cab ride to the major hot spots

Large bathrooms!

.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore and for your valuable feedback.

It delights us to learn that you enjoyed our rooftop Balinese-inspired pool. A service telephone by our poolside bar allows our guests to order a selection of light bites and beverages. Our signage may not have been placed prominently. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Our Hotel is conveniently located in Singapore’s thriving Central Business District and we understand that it may be a challenge to get a cab during peak periods. Therefore, we welcome our esteemed guests to seek our Concierge’s assistance.

We value your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you again to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    641
    235
    84
    62
See reviews for
226
309
119
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We randomly picked this hotel based on it's location station and the reasonable price. We were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was, the bathroom was also really big with full amenities provided and how perfect the location was!

We were literally a 5 minutes walk away from the MRT station, there were plenty of food places, hypermarkets and ATM machines around the hotel. 10-15 minutes walk away is this place called Ann Siang Hill which had loads of bars, restaurants and coffee houses.

The hotel staff were really helpful as well. One of the days we were there, it was raining and I had to go to Orchard Road. Didn't see any taxis outside and couldn't walk to the MRT station so the hotel staff called me a taxi on the spot.

Excellent hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_miss_maniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore as your preferred choice of accommodation.

There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest and to learn that our associates were successful in extending an exceptional Amara experience to you and your friends. The location of our Hotel offers an abundance of conveniences and we are glad you had the opportunity to visit some heritage sites in Singapore.

We endeavour to provide excellent guest services and we thank you for your support always.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel is located in the cbd area. There's a shopping mall beside it and very near to mrt, hawker centre, supermarkets and restaurants !

The room was huge and i got 5 complimentary drinks (2 bottled juice, 2 soda and 1 tiger beer) + 2 bottled water.

The hotel price was reasonable compared to other hotels considering the convenient location / hotel amenities.

Room Tip: Book yr room direct from the hotel's website. Its cheaper and you'll get complimentary drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixture_in_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind feedback on Amara Singapore.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at Amara Singapore and that you were able to enjoy the convenience of 100 AM shopping mall right next to our hotel.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked at this hotel for a work trip and my company is a very big client of the hotel. As I was arriving in the middle of the night, I requested that they would extend a complementary early check in. They agreed to do so. Sadly, when I arrived in the middle of the night. The staff refused to let me check in even though they had rooms. They demanded an additional night payment. I even showed them the email that had been sent to me by their own bookings manager confirming the complementary early check in and they still wouldn't let me check in, saying it was a mistake and should never have been agreed to. I had to sit in the lobby half asleep for three hours until someone came to their senses, realised that it probably wasn't the smartest idea to treat a business traveler whose company spends a small fortune at the hotel on events, conferences and room bookings and suddenly agreed to give me the room after all. In fact they upgraded me, and acted very magnanimously about it too, all the time telling me they would tell off their booking staff for their mistake. The hotel itself is decent but not of the standard one would expect for the rates they charge. Location is good. Service is horrendous. Staff clearly have zero service mentality or common sense.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your feedback with us. We regret to learn about the unpleasant experience you had at Amara Singapore. Please be assured that we view your feedback seriously and we do hope that we would be granted the opportunity to speak with you about your recent stay. We would be grateful if you could leave us your email and contact through gmoffice@amarahotels.com. This is to allow us to investigate further and to take necessary actions on our service shortfalls. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and we look forward to hearing from you.

The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful as you enter and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The staff are ever ready to serve. Very clean hotel and upon checking in and going to the room my friend and I were so impressed at how large the room was. It was huge space and so was the bathroom. Full bathroom amenities are provided. Most importantly the location of the hotel was perfect. It was literally a 5 minutes plus walk to the MRT station. There are plenty of food places around and a rather happening area called Ann Siang Hill is just close by. Access to Orchard road is simple as well and does not cost much if you take a cab. There is a nice band that plays at the hotel lounge. Good music. It's an excellent hotel and will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveena8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for your kind review of Amara Singapore.

We are delighted that we were able to create a memorable experience for you during your stay with us. We are also glad that you were able to explore the areas around Tanjong Pagar and Chinatown. We do hope that you would be able to join us on our Heritage trail during your next stay.

Thank you for your support and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good value for money, good location (in the central), great hotel facities. My family had a great time staying with Amara Singapore. Thank you.

I was also appreciative of the staff who took initiative to offer a connecting room for us. Moreover, the pool is really nice and the rooms are spacious. :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueapple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore!

There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest and we are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

We certainly look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

When check in staff take some time to do it, all follow process. When go in room, the room are not ready yet, the room haven clean.i use the phone call to reception, they just ask me came and change tho other room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, we do regret to learn that you experienced challenges upon check-in to your room. Please be assured that we are continuously looking at ways to improve our service standards.

We value your patronage and we hope that you would allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
0.1 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#91 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Furama City Centre
Furama City Centre
#46 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#92 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore Hotel

Property: Amara Singapore Hotel
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Amara Singapore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing