We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Singapore”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #71 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is my first visit to the Amara (stayed previously at M hotel next door), and I was positively surprised, particularly by the excellent service I recieved from the staff - whether in upgrading my room, helping with some technical issues or just making me feel welcome. In short, while the room might needed a bit of an update, the staff made up for some of the shortcomings. As a result, I might consider returning.

Room Tip: the higher up rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bjoern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for spending your weekend at Amara Singapore.

We would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and are constantly improving our rooms for our guests’ comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon!


Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed on business. Breakfast is very good and the rooms clean and comfortable. One minor negative was the check in at the main desk, it can be slow and unclear with regards to who gets served next (no queue system or not enough staff). Of particular positive note was Hamid Haron the Club Floor Manager who could not have been more thoughtful and provided exceptional service. If the review was on his serive alone it would have been an "Excellent".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good Day,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation for your business trip.

We would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and are constantly improving our service standards.

We are also pleased to learn that Hamid, our Club Floor Manager was able to extend a memorable Amara experience to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon.


Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at Amara Singapore couple of times from last year and have only good words to describe to about the hotel. Located within the central business district make my work a lot easier. Food was fantastic, rooms size is above average and the friendly staff make my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happyguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the “two thumbs UP”. It is our utmost pleasure to receive compliments from our returning guests.

Your compliment on the hotel’s food and service staff is also a great encouragement for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, but the welcome we received when we went to the lounge each day, breakfast and dinner, was almost too good to be true, we were welcomed on the first evening with how pleased they were to see us, and nothing was too much trouble for them, we thought that this was just a first night special, but it kept on each time we entered the lounge. The lounge manager, Hamid, was just too good to be true, he even rang our room one morning when we hadn't shown for breakfast by 9am, this is how caring they are, also his staff, deputy manager Amin and the waitresses Jacqueline and Grace were so caring.
We could not give the service at this hotel a higher mark for service and care.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel, the view was not the best, but the room was of a good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jemma268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good Day,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation!

We are pleased to learn that Hamid, our Club Floor Manager was able to extend a memorable Amara experience to you. Our service team, Grace, Amin, Jaq are also encouraged by your compliments.

Please be assured that we will continue to strive to provide our esteemed guests with the best hospitality experience.

We look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you at Amara Singapore.
Please do visit us soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is my second visit to the Amara, and was just as good as the first. There is something about this hotel that I just love, and I can't really explain what it is, over and above other hotels in Singapore.

The rooms are large, and beautifully laid out. The pool is just gorgeous and the buffet breakfast is easily the best I've had in Singapore, at a business hotel.

Location is right next door to 100 AM and extremely convenient for anything in Tanjong Pagar.

We had drinks in the lounge one night, with a colleague and the singer was really good. During happy hour, it was one-for-one, which made the drinks very reasonably priced (for Singapore, anyway).

Only one issue, which surprised me quite a bit -When we checked in and went up to the room, we walked in and someone was already in there! On the upside, at least they were dressed!

Having said that, problem was resolved very quickly, but it's not something I'd expect to see happen in a hotel like this.

Still, it was a one-off, and we really enjoyed the rest of our stay. Check in/checkout was quick, rate was reasonable, location was great and the staff were always good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good Day,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We are indeed grateful.

We are also glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed yourselves at our humble property and we look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you.

At the same time, we would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and that the service hiccup you faced during check-in to your room was an isolated incident.

We hope to garner your understanding on the matter and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon.

Thank you and have a pleasant day!

Warmest Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed here 3 times for business and return at the end of the month. It is a great hotel in a great location. I love the pool area - a great way to start the day. The staff are very helpful although on a trip mid last year I was told I was upgraded to club but not given access to the lounge. I am looking forward to returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good Day Kelly,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation time and again.
We are indeed honoured.

We are also glad that you enjoy our facilities such as our resort style Balinese swimming pool. Please do remember to check out our spa and 24-hr gym the next time round when you visit us.

We have also noted that you were not granted access to our Club Lounge. We are certainly looking into the matter and please be assured that all Club Room guests have privileges and access to the services at our Club Lounge.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back again and please have a wonderful day!

Warmest Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at amara hotel on july 2 for a staycation and was impressed with the service from the front staff grace, and the impeccable service from the club lounge hamid and amin. They were polite and reponsive and sincere. Look forward to coming back regularly

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryanhesedshalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good Day,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your staycation.

We hope that you were able to enjoy our international buffet spread at Element Restaurant, as well as go on a Heritage Tour around the Tanjong Pagar area.

We certainly look forward to receiving you again.

Thank you once again

Warmest Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#124 of 317 in Singapore
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
951 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,261 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 317 in Singapore
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £100 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing