We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”
Review of 30 Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
30 Bencoolen
Ranked #173 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Just checked out if the Hotel today. Small simple rooms that did the trick-especially as the price of the room is quite cheap!

Location was great for us! Right by MRT station, great food options, and Orchard road shopping.

Breakfast was great-good food and great selection!

Would reccomend!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanAndJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

Great central location, MRT is fantiastic and easy to use and literally just around the corner, 7/11 and food court (really cheap and great dim sum or chicken and rice etc) next door. I travelled alone with my two young children (5 and 8) and they loved it. Handy having a pool, even though this is really a budget type hotel. Rooms were modern, OK size, spotless, and I got a bath! Door staff very friendly, others a bit cool. Breakfast was OK. The only issue was really that the room next door, which my friend had, smelled of cigarette smoke. Hey, it's Singapore, so you don't get as much bang for your buck as you do in other parts of south east Asia. The price of lower poverty.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank switchedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We had a stay at this hotel arranged by the organization where we had a short-term appointment. In total we stayed almost 3 weeks. The hotel is in a very good location. It's within walking distance to some shops, attractions, and restaurants in the Central Business District north of the Singapore River. The hotel staff at the front desk were polite and professional, and the cleaning staff were also polite and friendly when we saw them in the hallway. The room had a nice little fridge we could use for milk or leftovers, as well as an electric kettle for tea.

In other ways, though, it wasn't ideal for a working professional. Like many Asian hotels, the mattress feels like canvas stretched over a bed of bricks. On the last day I finally woke up not feeling sore. They have a small pool and exercise area, which also includes a do-it-yourself laundry facility. They lock the doors for the pool/laundry at 7:00 pm, so that makes it impossible for someone on a business schedule--and yet they charge a huge price to send out laundry. The sheets and towels felt rough and well-used, with some obvious tears and burn holes in some of the sheets and pillow cases. Also, the drain of the shower/tub was almost contstantly backed up, so it was inevitable to shower standing in 4 cm of water.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Although in a good position this hotel is not up to the standards one would expect for the price. Staff are not particularly friendly (other that the door staff), only speaking when you speak to them first. Room overlooked aircon units & had a tear in the carpet. The housekeeper seemed surprised that we should object to this! The washing line in the bathroom was too high to use & the loo seat was cracked. There was an offer to move us but we were only there for two nights & couldn't face the upheaval. There is no hotel info (re cost of using telephone, pool rules, TV etc) in the room. The woman on the desk at breakfast on our first morning couldn't be bothered to interupt her chat with a colleague to take our room number & and none of the other waiting staff spoke. Breakfast was just adequate rather than inspiring. Although a nice roof top pool, the furniture is patched and brittle with age. The pool showers hardly produce a dribble. The ladies loo in the lobby had a wet floor & tissue paper on it. The gents loo stank. There was little interest from the reception staff when my husband reported it. As we were checking out two members of staff were having a heated 'discussion' in front of guests. Not a hotel to which I would return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We were very pleased with the bayview rooms were big and clean free wifi internet well on the 5th floor, We had B&B and it was a good choice on a morning enjoyed it and it is good for anyone

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alansouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Bay View hotel Singapore.
We booked this hotel as a budget place for our first 2 nights following a long haul flight. The idea was to use the hotel just for resting to help us recover from 3 days of nonstop travelling. We did not expect too much for the price we paid but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious, especially for Singapore. The pool was excellent with great views over the area. Staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate for our needs, catering for Eastern, Asian and Western needs. The location is fine, a few minutes’ walk away from local transport or one take a taxi from the rank right outside the front door.
This hotel does not advertise itself as a luxury hotel but it is far better than most budget hotels I have stayed at before in Singapore. If you are looking for, good service, larger than average room size, a comfortable night’s sleep with decent food, a pool to relax by; then the Bay view will provide all this. I would definitely stay here again if wanted a few days just to relax and recover from long haul travel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micgwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We chose the Bayview for the reasonable price, it had a pool and a good location. The reviews were good. We spent 6 days there and had a great time. The staff were very efficient and only too glad to give us directions to anywhere in the city.

Rooms were clean and ok for the price. Lots to see within walking distance and bus 50 metres to go to lots of places. We walked to Raffles Hotel for the famous 'Singapore Slings'. Well worth it.

Be aware the hotel did not have there own computers if customers wanted to use the internett. I had to walk 8 minutes to an internett cafe.

We would definately stay here again in he near future.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Mi
#143 of 319 in Singapore
69 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,476 reviews
Park Hotel Alexandra
#53 of 319 in Singapore
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#149 of 319 in Singapore
491 reviews
Orchard Road
YOTEL Singapore
YOTEL Singapore
#51 of 319 in Singapore
404 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#70 of 319 in Singapore
6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30 Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30 Bencoolen

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore (Formerly Bayview Hotel Singapore)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £80 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 30 Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Bencoolen offers a cool, contemporary ambience in an ideal central location in the arts and cultural district. Relax in a warmly decorated room a short walk from top attractions in Singapore such as the landmark National Museum and Singapore Art Museum. Family rooms for up to 4 guests are available, and the hotel’s personalised service benefits from technology like complimentary handy® smartphones. Enjoy casual all-day dining in our hip restaurant and gourmet coffees or chilled wines in the lounge bar. After a busy day, head up to the rooftop to unwind in the outdoor pool and spa tub. The hotel is a short stroll from 3 MRT stations. Bras Basah offers direct connections to Marina Bay’s striking, waterfront Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay, Suntec City Convention Centre and the Gardens by the Bay parks. Dhoby Ghaut sits near Plaza Singapura shopping centre, one of a host of upmarket malls on the famous Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 30 Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
30 Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing