We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, except the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium
Ranked #75 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good, except the location”
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Rooms are clean, bed comfortable. Air-conditioning is not easy to set to a constant temperature (I don't like it too chilly), but I encountered this same problem in other hotels in Singapore also. Location is not so convenient for public transport (MRT). Internet access was overpriced, so I walked over to the nearby Great World City mall to enjoy a cappucino and surfing for free.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank trajectory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    1,212
    393
    78
    49
See reviews for
626
678
175
614
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Wow - what a great hotel. Besides the remote location, it could easily
> be a 5 star hotel - one of the best Holiday Inn hotels I've ever stayed.
>
> Tip: take the bus (e.g. 51) which takes you right to Bugis
> Junctions/City Hall which costs only 90 cts a ride.
>
> Amazing breakfast - all kinds of hot and cold food, fresh fruits, soya
> milk, nice business rooms (received free upgrade as I am Platinum PC)
> with flatscreen tv in my room, free daily bottles of water.Nice Pool,
> nice Gym (24 hrs). Great Service! Polite employees.
>
> In the end was very happy with my stay here - believe me, the Swiss
> Stamford charges double and you'd even have to pay for the gym!
>
> One comment maybe: i don't think they change the bed sheets daily -
> maybe an idea to put a little sign next to the bed: do you want your
> sheets to be changed, yes or no (like other Holiday Inn hotels in
> Europe do)
> Also, the bathtub is not cleaned daily (i noticed some beard hairs
> left to the inner side of the bathtub - i did shave under the shower
> the night before and know they must be mine....).
>
OVeral, i loved this Holiday INN!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank MarlonGobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Atrium at 3.00am after a 5 hour flight from Perth and found the staff alert, helpful and friendly even at that hour. Our baggage was promptly taken from the taxi and whisked up to our room on the 15th floor.

Checkin was efficient and painless. We booked through Qantas holidays and so just handed them the e-booking and everything was sorted out promptly.

The hotel was still wearing its Chinese New Year decorations which consisted of red lanterns and floral arrangements in the foyer. The inside lobby is quite impressive as you look upwards towards the many tiers of floors.

The room itself was spacious with 3 single beds that proved quite firm but the room was spotless. We had a nice big curved window with a vista of down town Singapore.

There were tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and complimentary bottles of water. The TV worked fine and the bathroom was more than adequate with Red Earth toiletries (Shampoo, Conditioner, Moisturiser, Shower Gel).

There were complimentary newspapers in the morning outside your room in a nice Holiday Inn branded pouch. Also available were complimentary slippers.

The pool area seemed very pleasant although we did not get a chance to swim as we were merely on a 8 hour stopover and spent most of our time sleeping.

We did not use any of the breakfast facilities but opted instead taking a 5 minute walk down the road to catch breakfast at a foodhall at Great World City.

As you can see on the maps this hotel is not located in the heart of everything but remember its only a short taxi ride away from all that Singapore has to offer.

The only thing that slightly bugged me was the refundable $100.00 deposit they take out of your credit card which after currency conversion fees and fluctuations in currencies means you are actually charged for the privellage of letting them keep $100.00 of your money over night. This was annoying as I had already pre-paid my whole booking online months before.

All in all a great hotel for a stopover or a short stay in Singapore.

  • Liked — For the price it was everything we wanted in a place for a pleasant nap.
  • Disliked — $100 deposit needed for room, why not just take down credit card details???
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheresmypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Stopped over in hotel for 2 nights over the Chinese New Year.
Hotel was booked as part of Stopover package.
Check in was easy and so was the check out.
Room was clean and in good order.
The bathroom was also okay with a combined shower and bath.
The air-conditioning was efficent.
Buffet breakfast was good quality.

The downside to this hotel is it location.
Although not the worst it is just a bit too far from most of the tourist location. It is a 10 minute walk to China Town and even longer to Orchard Road.
I do like walking and exploring places but this hotel is just not close to any of the main places that tourist want to go to.
However, taxis are good value and only took 5 minutes to get to all of the main tourist locations.

  • Liked — Good Quality Accomodation
  • Disliked — Too far from tourist areas
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavier_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2008

we stayed at this hotel for 4 days in december 2007 on the way to australia and for 3 days in january 2008 on the way home
all the staff were really good and helpful about everything except for the 2 oldest waitress in the breakfast room who seemed to look down on people and seemed to think they should not help one bit
but the rooms where clean and ideal for a stopover the pool was always maintained well and really clean plenty of sun loungers and towels
the door staff where really helpful about taxis and telling us where to go
would not recommend for a long stay but for a 3- 4day stopover it was ideal if you did not want a hotel with alot of rowdy holiday makers it was ideal and the price was good although you need to get a taxi every where or a long walk as the local transport does not come near the hotel but taxis are cheap and there are plenty of them

  • Liked — it was ideal for peole in our age group 55 and 72years
  • Disliked — just the 2 waitresses in the breakfast room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

The hotel is like any western world 3 star hotel room – clean neat and you get what you pay for – in terms of in-room facilities. There is no microwave in the standard room, but you have a coffee maker and an iron with ironing board. The bathrooms were clean and the staff did the necessary room clean-up / tidy-up after you. Fairly standard!

What is exceptional, is the location for the price you pay for the rooms – less than $5 to orchard road by taxi and close to 2 MRT (tube) stations. Buses are plentiful and very orderly in their schedules (5-10 mins between buses) and they are cheap! THe hotel also provides a free hourly shuttle bus service to Orchard road and Clarke Quay MRT station every day so you can even save on the bus and taxi fares.

There is a convenience store in the hotel where you can purchase your daily dose of knick-knacks and a masseuse on the same floor to take care of your aches at the end of a hard walking day.

The Great World City plaza is 10 mins walking distance - has an excellent food court and a big grocery store. There is a shuttle from there to Orchard road everyday so it works out to be a good second option. (We ended up using taxis for most of our short trips because it was easier on our 2yr old).

I suggest you get a bus pass if you plan to be in Singapore for more than 4 days as it works out to be more economical and more convenient (no need to carry change). Don't bother with a MRT pass as there is a $5 non-refundable charge for the pass. Taxi drivers are a storehouse of information so ask them for directions etc.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deepak_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Stayed in this hotel for around 10 days in August 2007. Quite enjoyable with family (including young child). We booked through priceline and bf was not included - big problem as we soon realized. This hotel is located away from the center of the city and there are not many eating places nearby. However, there is a small Indian restaurant just opposite where you get tasty ethnic food all through. Another option is to walk to the Great World City mall, around 10 min walking distance. We started doing this from the second day onwards because eating at the hotel's pricey restaurants all days is just that - pricey! The Chinese restaurant at the hotel is pretty good. Rooms were very nice - well done and very clean.

I would definitely recommend the Chinese restaurant at the Four Season's Hotel which was outstanding!

The hotel has its own free tansportation but one has to catch the bus at specific times only to go to Orchard road. It is a nice place to walk around with children (but so is the rest of Singapore). Since the hotel is a bit far from the city center, we had to catch taxis (not always easy to do so as we found out especially in peak times) or walk to the Outram park station, around 15 min away - nice walk but problem is that in Singapore, it suddenly rains and you need to duck for cover - so, not totally convenient!

In future, I would probably look for a place nearer or in and around Orchard road. Only negative point about this hotel is its odd location but probably that is why the price is a little less compared to the ones located near the city center!

One plus point about the hotel is that they have guest laundromat unlike other hotels that charge a hefty sum for doing the laundry! Pool was very nice too.

  • Liked — Good price for room, well maintained, value for money etc.
  • Disliked — AWKWARD LOCATION!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiramits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama RiverFront
#101 of 312 in Singapore
2,258 reviews
Furama City Centre
#268 of 312 in Singapore
2,579 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium

Property: Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium
Address: 317 Outram Road, Singapore 169075, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
#48 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Business Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium is one of the leading hotel along the Singapore River. With 512 well-appointed guest rooms and friendly service, stay relaxed with accommodation that will meet your needs. Centrally located, it is in the heart of all Singapore's attractions and shopping including Great World City which is a short 5 minutes' walk away. Nestled along Havelock and Outram Road, you are just steps away from waterfront dining and entertainment from the lines of Robertson Quay, Clarke Quay and Boat Quay. Located at the gateway of the Central Business District (CBD) and financial hub, getting to meetings and company events are quick and hassle-free. Take time to experience and explore Singapore's culture diversity as Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium is situated close to the bustling notes of Chinatown, Tiong Bahru and the various ethnic areas. Tantalise your taste buds with an array of dining options available within the hotel. Atrium Restaurant, an all-day dining restaurant, serves both ala-carte menu and international buffets at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Set in a contemporary ambience, Xin Cuisine Chinese Restaurant exudes warmth and vibrance for your dining pleasure and business entertainment. Enjoy the culinary artistry of innovative Cantonese cuisine that will delight your eyes and palate. Unwind and chill out with family, friends and business associates at Lobby Lounge, a perfect enclave offering a wide selection of drinks and snacks. Stay relaxed at Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium. WeChat Pay is now accepted in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Atrium Singapore Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium
Singapore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing