We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from management and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #87 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The public areas of the hotel need redecoration. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The management and staff provide excellent service. They will resolve any problems you have. The hotel is on the edge of a historic district. It is 2 short blocks from a MRT station, across from an excellent hospital and near shopping, restaurants and food courts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3digbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear 3Digbys,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs.

With regards to the lobby, we are pleased to advise that we are currently working on the design of our public space to ensure a more conducive environment for our guests. This will be completed by next year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,430)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,421 - 2,427 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked in for 6 days from valentines day. Was informed upon check in that the king bed we booked for was not available and my partner and I would have to sleep in single beds. Unacceptable especially after booking months in advance. He next morning moved into another room with no view of the pool as requested in booking either. Had a view of a dead field and constructions instead. Air conditioning did not work in the room after being assured it was fixed. Moved into another room and the a/c noisy as well as having other guests accidentally being able to access the room whilst we were sleeping. Unacceptable. Also the pool bar is not attached to the hotel and run seperatly so when you want to kick back and have some tapas (as it's called a tapas and drinks bar) we were also advised that food was not available and to order food from the resturant instead. Service was very poor and waited 20 mins for a beer. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone and will find another in the area the next time we visit. Only plus is the location but was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekstar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Bekstar86,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide us with feedback. We are sorry to hear that we are unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Although we were full during your stay with us resulting in us not being able to accord the King size bed, but we recognise this is not a good reason. We are reviewing our room assignment process and will definitely make improvements to it.

As for the restaurant, we have just recently renovated our pool side restaurant and bar. We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay. We will certainly work to improve the product and services at the pool side restaurant and bar.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We will ensure your next stay is a better one.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Convenient location - very near to the Bugis MRT
Comfortable room - clean and spacious, only thing to comment is the non-carpeted floor in the deluxe room (i prefer carpeted floor - which is available in superior room)
Food and shopping - nearby there are Bugis Junction and Bugis+

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Monica B,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have just had 3 nights and all I can say excellent . The hotel room was basic but clean and spacious,there was a big tv and tea and tea and coffee facilities is provided. The reception staff were very helpful .i can't comment on the food as we ate out . It's an ideal place to stay as it's it's close to the MRT and shops, there us also a market that is open all day for your knick backs for home, you are spoilt for choice for eateries , they are all over the place, there is also a great hawkers market.
Good value for money, would definately stay again .

Room Tip: We were on the 17 th floor , overlooking the swimming pool ,but had views also of a building sight...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolphillips87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Carlophillips87,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs. We take note of your compliment to Mark. We will pass on your compliment to him to spur him to continue with such great services.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I celebrated valentine day with my wife of 11 years together at this hotel. Special effort by the staffs especially Azleena, front desk assistant who help me to give my wife a great memorable surprise for that night. This services from her and her colleagues have make my wife have most memorable night to have. Thanks for all the great effort and services to make this valentine day 14/02/2014 a special one. Really appreciate very much, and will sure to go back one day as well as recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appreciator2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Appreciator2014,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs. We take note of your compliment to Azleena. We will pass on your compliment to her to spur her to continue with such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights here 06/02/14-09/02/14.

Despite arriving around 6:30-7am and well before official check-in time I was greeted by Marc at reception. He was very welcoming and explained everything in detail. I was also checked into my room at this time. This was very unexpected and it made the start to the day easier. I was initially only hoping to check my bag in and head into town for the day. Also unexpectedly my room was upgraded from deluxe to a club room but without the club privileges. I didn’t expect to receive club privileges so I was fine with this, although I was allowed to have a look at the club lounge and this might be considered for future stays. A big thanks to Marc. The rooms are very clean and tidy and have great views. My room was extremely quite even though I know I had neighbors, which given my last experience in another Singapore hotel recently was very pleasing. My room was located on the 12th floor facing the Raffles Hospital. I used the mini bar, something I rarely do, as I found the prices quite reasonable compared to other hotels I have stayed in. The pool looked vey inviting but unfortunately I ran out of time and didn’t get around to using this.

The location is fantastic with a short stroll to the MRT station and Bugis Junction shopping precinct. If you’re up for a more decent walk you can head to the marina bay area also with ease. There are plenty of places to eat within Arab St and surrounding area bustling with bars and plenty of restaurants that come alive at night. Unfortunately this kept me out of the Hotel facilities so I can’t comment on the quality of those.

Only a minor detail. Be patient with the lifts in the early mornings around 8-9am when people are checking out. These are in the process of being upgraded in 2014. Small tip, if you are staying mid levels go up before coming back down. I did have a long wait but only one morning as the lifts were busy and full as they came down from the upper floors.

In general, all the staff were very friendly and were well presented. I was always greeted warmly. The room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed for the price. I would have expected to pay more. As has been said in other reviews the location is fantastic. I can highly recommend a stay here and I’m positive I will be back for all the above reasons. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Book Deluxe or Club for a freshly renovated room. Be paitient with lifts during upgrade if staying...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Ian B,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs. We take note of your compliment to Mark. We will pass on your compliment to him to spur him to continue with such great services.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent location with an MRT station and lots of food and shops nearby. Reception staff were friendly and accommodated our requests for early check-in and late check-out. The renovated rooms were nice and clean and the beds comfy. Everything worked and our family had a great stay. Good value for $ and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for the superior and club rooms that have been recently renovated.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Tony L,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 316 in Singapore
6,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 316 in Singapore
825 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 316 in Singapore
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing