We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #88 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Really really love to stay here, why ?
- location, very close to the underground station " Bugis ". It's a direct line to the airport as well.
Near by the station is Bugis junction (the time I were there, it was a huge discount event :) - wow!!! and the other malls around there.
- Room, I think it were renovate coz it's such a nice decoration, I really feel comfortable, big bed. It had all I need.
- Greating, really impressed since step in to check -in/ out. Welcome fruit..love it

Thanks team. I will be back sure:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nongyao_Jaroenchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Nongyao_Jaroenchai,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs.

Our Club and Deluxe Rooms were renovated last year and they have received a lot of great reviews. We are glad you like our new design too.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 3,734 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a pretty average budget hotel. It is a decent place to sleep and shower in, and there is nothing much more to it.

The pros:

- It is in a rather good location. If the weather is good, it is possible to do a 20-30 minute walk to the city. Getting around by public transport is pretty easy as well, as there is an MRT station just a few minutes away.
- Service is alright. Most of the service staff will assist when requests are made. Do not expect extras though.
- The deluxe room that we stayed in appeared to be recently renovated. It was considerably clean.
- Spacious room, by Singapore and/or budget hotel standards.

The cons:

- It does feel very much like a no-frills budget hotel. Even though the room looked like it was recently renovated, it felt like the refurbishment was undertaken on a tight budget. Workmanship was poor, and things were beginning to fall apart.
- The rest of the hotel has probably not been renovated yet. Expect some things not to work well.
- Spotty wi-fi.
- There is no in-room dining.
- Very limited channels on TV.
- Thin walls with poor sound insulation.
- The hotel feels like it is very much designed to cater to tourists from India. There was a restaurant which serves Indian food for breakfast. Many of the service staff also looked and sounded like they were from India. Probably as a result, there were many Indian tourists when we were there. Expect the usual bad behaviour displayed by Indian tourists wherever they go in the world, for example, arrogance, shoving and jostling at lift lobbies and restaurants etc, screaming and shouting by kids and adults alike, unhygienic handling (literally HANDling) of food at the breakfast buffet lines, using the swimming pool as a footbath, demanding VIP/preferential treatment over other guests etc.

In general, it is reasonably well-located, and serves its purpose adequately as a no-frills place to sleep and shower in. Therefore, for tourists on a budget but would still like accommodations that come with en-suite bathrooms, it is worth considering. However, for people who are looking for something more, or who are unable to tolerate bad behaviour from other guests, you may wish to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Mel_Sg,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with valuable feedback.

We are glad that you have fond our location and service great as this also mirrors that of many of our frequent guests. While our location is great, we complement it with our positive service culture. A good hotel is nothing without a good service.

With regards to your feedback on our renovated room, we have renovated our Club and Deluxe Rooms about 1 year ago. We have received numerous positive feedback, but also acknowledged that not all our guests will like it. We take your feedback into consideration and will make improvements in our subsequent renovation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although we arrived in the hotel in the middle of the night, the check-in was very smooth and fast. Pre-arranged pick up service from the hotel was reasonable and great. We loved the location of the hotel, that's close to restaurants, malls, and public transportation. The room we stayed was big enough for our family, 4 of us and very clean. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. One staff even called a taxi for us when we were lining and waiting to go to airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Yoshino T,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've lost my property in my room's safety-box.
I happen to realize that I've left them after I've arrived in my country.

Their customer service called Ms.JAY was extremely kind and helped me trough international telephone call. I finally get back my precious property to me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,751,003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear 19731003,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs. We take note of your compliment on Jay. We will pass on your compliment to him to spur him to continue with such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The public areas of the hotel need redecoration. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The management and staff provide excellent service. They will resolve any problems you have. The hotel is on the edge of a historic district. It is 2 short blocks from a MRT station, across from an excellent hospital and near shopping, restaurants and food courts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3digbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear 3Digbys,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. This is to ensure we treat each customer as an individual to satisfy their needs.

With regards to the lobby, we are pleased to advise that we are currently working on the design of our public space to ensure a more conducive environment for our guests. This will be completed by next year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked in for 6 days from valentines day. Was informed upon check in that the king bed we booked for was not available and my partner and I would have to sleep in single beds. Unacceptable especially after booking months in advance. He next morning moved into another room with no view of the pool as requested in booking either. Had a view of a dead field and constructions instead. Air conditioning did not work in the room after being assured it was fixed. Moved into another room and the a/c noisy as well as having other guests accidentally being able to access the room whilst we were sleeping. Unacceptable. Also the pool bar is not attached to the hotel and run seperatly so when you want to kick back and have some tapas (as it's called a tapas and drinks bar) we were also advised that food was not available and to order food from the resturant instead. Service was very poor and waited 20 mins for a beer. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone and will find another in the area the next time we visit. Only plus is the location but was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekstar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Bekstar86,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide us with feedback. We are sorry to hear that we are unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Although we were full during your stay with us resulting in us not being able to accord the King size bed, but we recognise this is not a good reason. We are reviewing our room assignment process and will definitely make improvements to it.

As for the restaurant, we have just recently renovated our pool side restaurant and bar. We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay. We will certainly work to improve the product and services at the pool side restaurant and bar.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We will ensure your next stay is a better one.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Convenient location - very near to the Bugis MRT
Comfortable room - clean and spacious, only thing to comment is the non-carpeted floor in the deluxe room (i prefer carpeted floor - which is available in superior room)
Food and shopping - nearby there are Bugis Junction and Bugis+

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Monica B,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#71 of 317 in Singapore
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing