We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, so-so accomodations for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #86 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for about a week while in Singapore in June 2014. The location is fantastic - right in the heat of Arab Street, and within walking distance to the Bugis MRT/subway station. The hotel itself is an older hotel that they have renovated. The rooms are decent and very clean but the lobby is outdated. Our first room had a poorly designed bathroom that flooded the floor with each shower. We returned here after a short trip to Bali and immediately got a room upgrade because there was a sewage problem on one of the floors. We were super excited to get an upgrade, but once we got to the room, we found that the only difference were a stocked minibar, and plusher slippers and robes. Breakfast was included in our rate and very good. It was a buffet of western/asian food. It is also very easy to get a cab. I thought the rate, at over $200 Sing per night was a little high for the accommodations. Customer service at the front desk was very good. They were fast and responsive each time we called. The staff at the restaurant though, were not as good. I would return to this hotel if the rates were lower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear S K

Thank you for taking some of your time to write on us on TripAdvisor.

I have read carefully your comments and should thank you for the detailed description of the property and its components and environment. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location of the property as well as the service from our staffs .

As for the price of the rooms, it is dynamic changing according to the demand and the seasons. Booking earlier would give you much more chance to get better rates.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon wishing you a very pleasant day.

With Best Regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,470 - 2,476 of 3,648 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room was clean and well maintained. The location is great. If you wan to see Arabic culture, the communities are just next to the hotel. Also, if you want Chinese restaurants, a 10min walk can bring you there. There is a community full of Chinese restaurants featuring Hot Pot and grills. Next to the Chinese restaurants are complexes of shopping malls where you can buy some trendy fashion and goodies. Underground is the Bugis MRT station from which you can travel to the airport, downtown, China town, Sentosa, etc in no more than 30 mins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dicky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dicky01

Thank you very much for staying with us at Village Hotel Bugis.

We highly appreciate your comments on our convenient location, which is near to MRT Bugis
station as well as our facilities . It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We value our customer's opinions about us to serve you in any better way. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we could do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much for taking your valuable time on writing the comments , and we look forward to welcoming you again to Village Hotel Bugis in the near future.

Best regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Arab Street, the Arab/Turkish section of Singapore. Booked through Hotel Club and got a great rate, the took a $50/night upgrade on arrival, which was a little disappointing. Room itself was great. Modern, clean, comfortable, with great internet connection. Only 100mtrs from the Bugis MRT station. Club Lounge breakfast (included in the upgrade), not good at all, in variety, quality, or quantity.
I would stay again, but not bother with the upgrade. Other Food and Beverage outlets in the Hotel were great.

Room Tip: All rooms have city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Gelatiguy,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

I read your comments carefully and understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you appreciated the location and the facilities of the hotel except the breakfast at Club Lounge.
We take your comments in serious consideration and will certainly make improvements on introducing of new breakfast menu.

Thank you very much for choosing stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is near to shopping malls, food places, MRT then this is the hotel to go! It is very well located, makes the travelling alot easier. The room that I stayed was very clean, nice and new. Most of my breakfast were settled in the hotel on the 3rd floor restaurant. They serve pretty good breakfast, decent spread and the staff there were constantly making sure that their food are warm and replenished. Despite being busy, the staff never failed to smile, always friendly and eager to help. Serivce was also v prompt. There is no doubt that I will go back to this hotel given the good location, good food and services that I had experienced. Thanks for making my short stay such a wonderful one!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joys2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Joys2world,

Thank you for taking some of your time to write on us on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad to see that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed the hotel location, facilities as well as the staff service. It is always nice to hear such feed backs from our guests. It reflects our efforts to maintain the quality of our service and the efficiency of the teams

We hope to welcome you again and serve you even better. Please let us know when you wish to visit us again, we will make sure you enjoy the stay better than the previous one.

Best regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The place is decent enough. Nice, clean and big room. Didn't really try out the facilities as we were in the function room most of the time.
The function room is nice and quiet, free flow tea and coffee provided, which is really nice. It's a coffee machine, not the 3in1 type so the coffee was good.
Many thanks to the staff like Hong Leong, Sham, Razin and Kelvin for helping with the rooms check in and function room.

Good place for a short staycation if you're just looking for a place to chill. It's a short walk to Bugis MRT and of course to bugis junction area.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Jordan T,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you appreciated the location and enjoyed our service on meeting package with accommodation. It is always nice to hear such feed backs from our guests. It reflects our efforts to maintain the quality of our service and the efficiency of the teams.

Please do let us know when you are back, we will be delighted to welcome you again and make sure you will be at your ease with us.

Thank you and best regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

really close to MRT, so it take short time to walk esp when came back from traveling
nearly shopping mall, foods, supermarket and restaurants
there are so many food court, both in Bugis junction and Bugis street with the reasonable price and very delicious

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaoRoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Dao Roung

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read your comments carefully and understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you appreciated the location and the environment of the hotel.

As you mentioned hotel is just a 5-minute walk away to the Bugis MRT station and major shopping center . We also has easy access to the Orchard Shopping belt or the Central Business District.

Please let us know when you wish to visit the city again, We will be delighted to assist you in discovering plenty of interesting places around the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feed back and we hope to welcome you again at Village Hotel Bugis in the near future.

Best regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was excellent for its location. The MRT, Bugis Village, Bugis market and the bus station are all within 3 minutes walk. Lots of places to see and eat nearby.
The room was large and easily accommodated 3 adults. It was clean and comfortable and had good wifi.
The only negative we had was with breakfast. We tried the 2 different restaurants that have the buffet and in both there were never any clean tables. Unwiped tables, dirty table clothes and dirty plates stacked up. The food was OK, but not very hot and the cold meats were left out for the 4 hours breakfast is served without any refridgeration. One day a staff member went around flipping over the dirty tablecloths and from one table the rice, scrambled egg, toast crumbs etc landed on our table and meals as she flicked the tablecloth over.
It is worth booking this hotel for the location, but they really need to work on their service in the restaurant as it doesn't match up with the service in other Singapore hotels.
Unsure if I would book it again as a good breakfast really seets you up for a full day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika_Umemura, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lorful,

Thank you for taking some of your time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I read carefully your comments and regret to know the service of our tenant restaurants did not meet your expectation.Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. We reported your comments to both tenants restaurants owner for a serious consideration on improvement immediately. At the same time,we will also set up the meeting with restaurants to assist them reviewing the food and service quality.

Besides, I am happy to know you are satisfied with rest part of the hotel including our location,environment and front office service.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing stay with us and we hope to have another chance to recover your confidence on the restaurant service on your next visit to Singapore.

Best Regards,

Mika Umemura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 317 in Singapore
6,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#77 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £79 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing