We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolute budget hotel, cheap wifi, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robertson Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Robertson Quay Hotel
Ranked #237 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Absolute budget hotel, cheap wifi, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Don't expect anything great from this hotel - you are getting a very budget rate in Singapore, so its basically like staying in a Singapore hostel with private bathroom, not a 'hotel'.

Small rooms, comfortable bed, TINY bathroom. You literally sit on the loo with you arms resting on the bathroom sink, and then squeeze into the shower.

A 14 inch TV provides a wide range of channels. Wifi is good and very cheap for Singapore at 6 dollars for 24 hours (I have paid $40-50 in nearby hotels).

The verdict - expect nothing less than what it is and don't believe the pretty photos on the net. Basic, small, standard rooms - cheap wifi - good staff who will arrange a taxi at anytime.

If you are on a stopover, the Roberston Quay-Clarke Quay area is pretty good - a huge range of restaurants sitting next to the river, a nice walk on a Singapore evening....

If you have the money, spend an extra $50 a night and go one step up!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    189
    301
    123
    142
See reviews for
134
265
117
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was horrible.

They charged us $75 to check in early.

I felt itchy from the moment I got in the room, the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were like bricks. The shower was either boiling hot or cold.

We booked for two nights but only stayed one.

I am surprised at other reviews that have said this hotel was good.

Singapore is very expensive for accommodation, so I wasn't expecting anything great but it was disgusting. The toilet didn't flush properly. It was really noisy.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: DON'T Stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz_lh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Could not sleep the first night I checked into the hotel. Was constantly bitten by bed bugs. Initially I thought these could have been mosquoitoes. Next morning it occured to me that I was in 8th floor and there were no mosquitoes. I recollected a newsarticle I read in NY times about bed bugs and realized I could have been bitten by bed bugs. I inspected the bed and found oval brown spots on bed.

Showed front desk person bed bug pics I captured in my iphone and asked for another room and that room was fully infested as well. Called housekeeping and housekeeping person said the mattress and headboard had to be removed and cleaned. They moved me to anthother room which seemed bug free. They seemed to have no idea what bed bugs were or how to handle infestation . I developed skin rash from bug bites.

Before checking out of hotel I got rid of my unpacked clothes. Had the clothes still packed in my luggage laundered in high heat and sealed in bags. Brought new suitcases and packed my sealed clothes in new bags to avoid carrying bed bugs back home.

After few days in the hotel I checked into another hotel in Sentosa and had a good nights sleep.

Bed Bug Bites can lead to skin rash and you can end up infesting your home. I ended up spending a lot of money in having my clothes dry cleaned and buying new suitcases.

I would recommend travellers to steer clear of hotel until they clear their rooms of the bug problem. Bed bug travel long distances on luggage and clothing. Travellers will need to spend thousands of dollars clearing their home of bed bugs .

Room Tip: please check for bed bugs before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Hotel charges in 6 hour blocks. Basic hotel but clean and quiet. Only a spot to have a sleep in between flights so recommended for this purpose only. 30 minutes drive from the airport. .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 night New Year's Eve. The hotel lived up to expectations. The rooms, though small, but zhznennogo space for two people is enough. Furniture a bit shabby, with room still looks neat and tidy. We had breakfast included. The choice at the buffet was small. But over the 3 days will not bother. The room was electric kettle. The disadvantages are well, very much a small shower. Do not sit down.

Room Tip: Nightlife: Nearby is a street of bars, Clark Kee. Within 5 minutes hoby. So the fans sit in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Perfect for a short stay if you want to get around Singapore quickly. 5 - 10 minute walk to the bustling Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay areas where you'll find loads of restaurants, bars and clubs. Rooms are tiny to say the least and service isn't great. For a short stay it's perfect for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms near the top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here with family. Given a room at second floor, not so good! We heard all night construction noise from across the river. I did not want to move because we brought a little baby, and we were going to stay for only two nights. The room is very tiny, smaller than my room back in college. The bathroom came without curtain. Thus, the water splashes everywhere when you take a shower. Breakfast is complimentary, but not that great. Only western breakfast plus fried rice is provided. The location is good, next to supermarket and on a river bank. Will I come back? I will think twice....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid construction noise from across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#137 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#126 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#172 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#120 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#166 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Quay Hotel

Property: Robertson Quay Hotel
Address: 15 Merbau Road, Singapore 239032, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Robertson Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertson Quay Singapore
Robertson Quay Hotel Singapore
Hotel Robertson Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing