We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute joke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Robertson Quay Hotel
Ranked #248 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolute joke”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location but that's where the good points end. To be honest, I'm surprised this hotel is still in business. Within 24 hours of arrival, here's what we experienced.

- The smallest room I've ever seen in a hotel. There was nowhere to put our bags if we still wanted to stand on the floor ourselves.
- A bathroom so small that sitting on the toilet meant hitting your head on the basin was almost unavoidable.
- Once the shower was used for the first time the entire bathroom was wet almost all over and was still that way when we returned that evening.
- Dry toilet paper? Forget about it once you've used the shower.
- No handtowel (we later found that the hotel doesn't even have them - seriously?!)
- Probably the most dated decor, ever.
- In room wireless? No, we didn't experience that because it quite simply doesn't work. We've got 5 wireless-capable devices with us and are therefore positive the devices aren't the problem, not to mention that we've been using all 5 of them during our 6 month trip (Singapore is our last destination). When the connection was available, it would drop within minutes and *might* be usable again later. Sending an email from the rooms is next to impossible.

The only good thing was that we were told we could move rooms the next day, to a room higher in the hotel that has a view. Don't stop reading ...

Firstly, the higher room suddenly became unavailable due to a large group that was arriving. I don't see how that's our problem as the room shouldn't have been promised to us in that situation. The excuse was that all rooms of that type were taken by the large group. It's weird, then, that I'm in one of those rooms now. Does it take a long list of problems like this before guests are accommodated? I'm not sure.

Anyway, our 'new' room was much better ... until I flushed the toilet and had something that looked (and smelt) like sewerage bubbling out of the SHOWER drain within minutes. One of the staff members was very helpful and apologetic, but it still took 45 minutes before someone was dispatched to look at the issue - an unfortunate young man with a plunger and some drain cleaner. Odd. Unfortunately, though, by this time a helpful and apologetic attitude wasn't going to improve our opinion of the hotel.

By now we'd moved to another room that smelt like smoke. "We can't help it if people smoke in non-smoking rooms." That's the message we were given when we asked about it. I'd like to mention that at no time had we made a scene or complained, just asked for the issues to be resolved.

The room we moved to after that was next to the room with the sewerage problem. That was no go as the smell had permeated the walls into the new room. I hate to think what odours the room on the far side had to deal with, if it was occupied.

We moved to yet another room - room #5 by this time. It was one of the newly renovated rooms, although I'm not sure why they didn't put us there in the first place instead of placing us in the terrible rooms we'd been in up to this point.

At this point, you might be wondering why we stuck around? Unfortunately, every other hotel within our price range was booked and, luckily, the final room was usable due to being one of the renovated rooms. The heating system works, but we've had the thermostat set on everything between 18 and 25 degrees - it's STILL freezing cold. The room has a great view of a brick wall and gets basically zero natural light, but whatever ...

Even though our room was newly renovated, there are still multiple electrical cables that can be freely grabbed by anyone inclined to do so. This is a serious safety issue, especially as some of the insulated wire joins have had the insulation tape fall off. This problem exists in at least 4 locations within the room.

There's also no carpet in the room we ended up in. To me this makes the establishment more like backpacker accommodation than a hotel. Keep in mind this was a new room, not one of the ones still to be renovated. If we were put in it, it would be safe to assume the room is considered finished and usable.

On top of all this, the walls appear to be paper thin, as are the doors between interconnecting rooms like ours was. At 1am this morning we were woken by a heated argument next door. That's not the hotel's fault, but I would expect that rooms with interconnecting doors are better insulated in the event that the rooms aren't occupied by groups that know eachother (probably most of the time).

At this point, you'd expect me to say that I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Yes, but not only that - I recommend you DON'T stay here. I have absolutely no hesitation in writing this review as my TripAdvisor reviews are based on fact and not just irrelevant thoughts.

Apologies to anyone thinking of staying here as everything I've written above is 100% true and is what we actually experienced towards the end of October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    199
    311
    128
    147
See reviews for
142
276
122
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Its location is great ,it goes down hill after that, the rooms are very small we had 2 suitcases and fell over them all the time as there is nowhere to put them, tiny bathrooms ,the breakfast was the worst thing i have ever had , everything was cold and the same thing everyday !!! the coffee is undrinkable !!! toast was the only thing worth having . i wont stop there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnytrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The view of the river is great and this could be a great hotel but service and standards are poor by Singapore standards. Indian front desk employee was sullen and never said hullo , whilst Chinese front desk staff said good morning and hullo. Varnishing in corridors made room smell and gave me a headache , I had to ask painter to go away . Wired internet worked well but wifi is terrible. Breakfast is boring ,no variety. Rooms are very small . Comfort 4 out of 10.
Near to the Clarke Quay metro station about 8 minutes walk and lots of restaurants nearby .
Is it value for money ?? Well at Euro90 -it is expensive by EU standards but then an IBIS hotel in Singapore is over Euro 100-, Singapore is no longer a cheap city . Overall value 6 out of 10

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The only only good thing about this hotel is location. if thats what you want then please sign in...else rooms are pathetic, bathrooms are pathetic, breakfast is pathetic (they serve same menu everyday)...you cant imagine how small the rooms are...suggest no one shall ever book this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed for a few days. The hotel is located with a beautiful view of the river. It is close to a good number of hotels, river cruise and other outings. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was ordinary with limited choice. There was nobody to pickup the luggage while checking in or out. I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for half a night as had a 2am departure so this was somewhere to lay our heads for a few hours. The hotel is very basic and rooms are small but location is great for the huge choice of resturants and nightlife at Clarke Quay. I think one or two nights would be enough as it is very small

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope Pepe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, rooms very very small and bathrooms even smaller. Breakfast i was ok nothing flash but was ok. Location was a bit of a pain as its quite a walk to Clark Quay MRT. If you have issues walking this isn't the place for you. Overall its ok its cheap for Singapore but then again for a bit more you will get much nicer accomodation, staff ok. Best describe as up market backpacker accomodation.

Room Tip: Pay extra stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#144 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#158 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#138 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Quay Hotel

Property: Robertson Quay Hotel
Address: 15 Merbau Road, Singapore 239032, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Robertson Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertson Quay Singapore
Robertson Quay Hotel Singapore
Hotel Robertson Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing