We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #81 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

here is what i liked about the hotel:
- after reading some of the reviews, i was very scared about quality of rooms. however the room we were given was very big and very well furnished.
- the rooms were neat and clean
- the entrance was beautiful
- reception was helpful
- walking distance to MRT as well as vegetarian Indian joints in little india
- there is a nice jacuzzi but we didn't use it

What i didn't like:
- the rooms had no sound proofing. so if u are a late riser, you will get disturbed by neighbours opening and shutting doors and talking outside your room
- if you request anything from housekeeping, you will probably have to call twice as they are pretty slow

All in all, I won't mind staying in this hotel and will recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

The abundance of specialty food and beverages around our hotel is certainly one of the key highlights for staying with us. Singapore is known as a city with plentiful of international food cuisines and traditional South East Asians cuisines. Staying with Albert Court Village Hotel also presents you with the chance to flavour the variety of cuisines either within our hotel premises or outside the hotel premises.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,916 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had to stay here for four days waiting to join my ship, and was definitely disappointed. The property is old and rather rundown, and the rooms even worse. I got to my room and was shocked at how small it was. Not only small but rather dingy and dirty feeling. After the 24 hour flight to get there i just wanted to lay down, well after a few hours of hearing the elevator which was next to this room I went and asked for a different room, desk staff was very friendly and move dme right away, to an even smaller room overlooking the busy street ugghhh. The interesting thing was this rooms shower had the exact same cracks in its soap dish as the first one.

Would definitely never pay to stay there and if I had been paying would of tried to find a different hotel on arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatflounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Albert Court Village Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to achieve and we are certain we can do much better than this.

We have followed up on your feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. It is with such feedback that allow us to improve our products and services to continue to provide excellent service to our guests.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of and we look forward to welcome you back to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a week with a friend, visiting Singapore to attend a conference. We had a room upstairs opposite the main building, and room was quiet, big and comfortable, although starting to look a little tired. Great location, close to MRT, Tekka Centre, Bugis Junction and Sim Lim Square. Great food nearby, would recommend if you're looking for a quiet yet convenient stay close to the hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollymorphism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

Location is the other key advantage we have over the other hotels. We are located close to the Little India MRT Station (Subway, Metro), and also 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts. Whether it is for leisure or business, we are best located to serve you.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Good customer service. We booked a room with a King bed but got a room with a queen plus single. Unfortunately we had to move rooms due to curtain rail that came of wall when opened, and because our room was on the Rochor Canal Road side, there was quite a bit of noise that made it to our room on the 3rd level. The staff were very understanding and after packing up they moved our luggage to a quieter room which was better in all ways except that it only had a queen bed (I'm 6'4 so I try to book king size beds where I can). I probably could have said something at the time but we were happy that we'd been moved into a quieter part of the hotel. Good thing is, Little India is in ur opinion a good location. It's near the train station which has access to all the tourity places and the rail system we found easy to use, but taxis seem a cheap option too (caught one taxi from near Marina Bay Sands to Mustafa for about 7 SGD). For shoppers, Orchard ave is only a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grabba79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

Location is the other key advantage we have over the other hotels. We are located close to the Little India MRT Station (Subway, Metro), and also 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts. Whether it is for leisure or business, we are best located to serve you.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel is known across globe for its service and facility extended to travellers at such a rate which suits everybody. I went there with my office staff on lesiure/fun trip from 2 days. We have all the facilites & Great breakfast offered by Hotel

Room Tip: Best Hotel in Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankur07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

it is our goal to provide the best service in town to all our guests. We thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are sure this will spur them to provide even better service to all our guests in future.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were a family of three who had our Singapore trip ruined.
In July 2011 we stayed at the Albert Court Village Hotel. We stay there every year to celebrate our daughter’s birthday. Before I give my feedback today I have to honestly say that all of our 4 previous stays at the Albert Court Village Hotel have been great but this was because we stayed in the courtyard rooms opposite the main building. Before I write about my negative experiences I would like to tell you that the Hotel does have some good sides but not many- actually only one and that is that the hotel entrance is clean, modern and lovely.
Our daughter arrived one day before us. The room allotted to her was close to the restaurant and close to the elevators. Room was so small that when we arrived and the staff delivered a rollaway bed for her the room was so tiny you could hardly move. In fact the staff could hardly get the bed into the room. After one night on this bed we asked for a replacement knowing from our previous stays that they have bigger rooms. We were told that we will be given an upgrade. We were then moved to the same floor room but to rooms of the opposite side of the elevators. When we saw the upgraded room we were very tempted to go back to the desk and ask for a downgrade to the previous room. We were shocked. This “upgrade” ruined our stay in Singapore.
The room didn't appear to have had any maintenance or decoration done for years. It was filthy with a lingering smell of dampness. It was the kind of filth and smell you see and feel when you close a house and come back to it years later. It was very evident that the room hadn't been cleaned for very long. The carpet was very dirty and had stains. The room’s walls and ceiling were dirty as well and the paint had turned from white to light brown. The room's windows were filthy as well. Not to mention the curtains, well if you can call them that. They were one big, dirty piece of some sort of fabric hanging down from a rod.
The bar fridge was dirty, mouldy and empty. There was an old TV unit. When we accidentally moved one of the beds there was leftover food, one shoe, an empty drink can, small plastic bottle, used tissues, various remnants of previous occupants as well as a dead cockroach. How gross and disgusting it that?!! The furniture in the room was also old. The bedside lamp was attached to the wall but not covering the previous hole in the wall. Basically the whole room was worn out and far from being luxurious like the images shown on hotel’s website or the one’s we remembered from our previous stays.
The bathroom was dirty, smelly, mouldy and with hairs in the bath tub. The grouting between the bathroom’s tiles was probably fresh once. Perhaps when they built the building? There was mildew was all around the tiles, the walls and the ceiling. Actually I will stop there on the bathroom because, well to be honest, the least said about the bathroom the better. It was the worst bathroom I’ve ever seen in my whole life and I travel very often.
The entire floor we stayed on looked really old and run down. Different pieces of carpet, which were also filthy and stained, were joined together in the corridor like a patchwork quilt. Dead cockroach sightings were a daily occurrence.
The next shock was the unavailability of internet. No free internet, not even in the lobby. Of course, it was offered but the price was enormous. Who in the world is going to pay tens of SG$ a day? Or over SG$ 2 for 15 min (using hotel’s computer) when the internet else were so much cheaper?
I’m really surprised that a hotel like this still exists in Singapore considering it was never like this before. It’s a pity. The Albert Court Village Hotel is definitely not like many people here are describing. It is not a perfect boutique hotel either. Stay away from it. We used to stay here every year and next year we will be staying somewhere else!
Just to finish up, prior to arriving we exchanged a few emails with the hotel in regard to a rollaway bed for our daughter. A reply to our e-mail confirmed the request and the price was quoted at SGD 50 per night. We had the lovely surprise of seeing SGD 60 plus 10% government fee on our bill for each night for the bed when we checked out. The receptionist was not even interested to listen to our explanation. I have never ever experience such attitude from a hotel receptionist anywhere.
In conclusion I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Value for money? … not at all. It's overpriced for what you get! You’d be better off staying in a tent.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay there ask for courtyard room opposite the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank komsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Albert Court Village Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to achieve and we are certain we can do much better than this.

We are heartened to hear that your previous four stays with us were good and we hope you will give us a chance to re-create the excellent stay experience you had previously.

We have followed up on your feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. It is with such feedback that allow us to improve our products and services to continue to provide excellent service to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel, the first was several years ago and at that time we were very pleased, however this time we were very disappointed in the room we had.
It was a corner room which was very small and didn't appear to have had any maintainence or decoration done on it for years.
There was a little old TV sitting on a corner cupboard that took up valuable room space, the chair for the dressing table had a fabric seat that was so filthy that we asked for a replacement as soon as we got there, it was replaced with one that was not much better.
The electric socket under the desk didn't work and we had to boil the kettle sitting it on the floor near the bathroom door..... the bathroom, yes well the least said about that the better....roomy yes, basin in granite top very roomy, but the bath....well I don't think they knew what clean fresh grouting meant. dirt & meldew all around the tiles. The shower didn't work properly. The worst bathroom from our month long trip.
Good job we were only there 4 nights at the end of our holiday. The only decent thing in the room was the bed, although it was actually a queen sized when it was advertised as a king size.
The hotel approach is lovely and entrance is clean and modern.
If you want internet access you buy 15 minutes at the reception for $2.30 to use one of their computers. I would not stay there a third time. Value for money...no sir.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaitakkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

Location is the other key advantage we have over the other hotels. We are located close to the Little India MRT Station (Subway, Metro), and also 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts. Whether it is for leisure or business, we are best located to serve you.

We also acknowledged that our rooms are a little tired and we are working on a plan to refurbish the rooms to bring back its glory days.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#69 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,546 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#102 of 317 in Singapore
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing