We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #74 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pathetic breakfast”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were provided this hotel by Make my trip group package. We stayed from 11 to 13 May We were given a small room for three persons meant for two. The bathrooms had cheap tiles on the walls and need renovation. The worst part was the breakfast where we were served at Sheesh Mahal in the hotel. The food was terrible and the fruits were stale. the juices were so sour that u can't drink a drop of it. They served us Indian food which was not fresh as if few days hold and even animals would refuse to eat it. We had breakfast for three days hoping that it would be better next day but it was the same story all days. The worst food was served to us having no choice we had to live on bread and butter which was the only thing on which we could survive. On the last day all the members of the group tour had fallen sick with food infection. Would never recommend it to any one.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ashu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear ashu70,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast is unable to meet your expectations.

We would like to assure you that this is definitely not our usual standard for breakfast and we have received great reviews on our breakfast since our drive to make continuous improvements on our breakfast menus since end of 2011. We have worked with our chef to come up with a 7-day rotation menu that ensure the food on offer are different every day, which include 10 varieties of hot dishes. We have also increased our pastry selection from 2 to 15 choices, an egg station that provides made to order eggs according to the preference of our guests, a great selection of salad, 2 different cold cuts. On the beverages, we offer 2 different selections of juices every day and a choice of coffee or tea.

With regards to the size of the room, as a heritage hotel restored from pre-war shophouses, we have various layouts to ensure different stay experience for our frequent guests. In your case, the room assigned to you is as per the arrangements made by your tour agency.

Once again, we apologise for any inconveniences caused and we will certainly continue to improve on our products and services to ensure a better stay for all our guests.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    1,040
    297
    101
    64
See reviews for
600
803
188
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

It was my first time at Albert Court Village and I really enjoyed the warm reception at the hotel. Loving the architecture of the building and my room was pretty spacious too as I was staying at the Club level room. Another hotel that is accessible to the MRT which is a strong point for me since I love using the MRT services. The price is reasonable too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranoadidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Ranoadidas,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Many guests have told us about their love for our unique architecture as our hotel is restored from 100 years old pre-war shophouses. The history behind these shophouses were linked to our founding father, Sir Stamford Raffles, who brought in the concept of shophouses. The arichitecture was further improved with Asian design and motifs to add on the charm. We are glad you like it.

To complement the rich heritage of our hotel, we have introduced The Village Trishaw Tour early this year to allow our guests to experience one of the key mode of transportation in the early days of Singapore. We hope this brings more understanding of our culture to all visitors.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed recently for a night and I loved the location and the surrounding shops! One of the most convenient locations to stay at if you're looking to spend a lot of time in Arab Street, Little India and Hj Lane shopping. Tonnes of food, and this is one of the most central hotels around the area that promises great service for each dollar you pay for. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the colonial feel it has makes it one of the most comfortable hotels to opt for! My favourite part of the stay was being greeted by smiles from the staff all the time; to me that is one of the most important things a hotel can do to make guests feel welcome and taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaconToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear BaconToo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our lcoation is certainly great for both business and leisure guests. There are plenty of good options of fine dining and local food around us. This is in addition to the 4 restaurants we have located at our hotel. We are also elated to hear about the compliments on the service and smiles from our staff. This is recognition to our effort in ensure the best possible service for all our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is a bit old, but is located very close to the MRT making it easy to get to where ever you are going. Staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Susan K,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The immediate thing that won me over about Albert Court Village Hotel is its nostalgic charm. I have a soft spot for conserved colonial architecture and Albert Court Village pushes all the right buttons from quality of service, great value and fantastic after hours ambiance. The other thing that isn't obvious which we later discovered is how close the hotel is to shopping not to mention walking distance to MRT and the other attraction that holds a charm of its own, Little India.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your love for our heritage hotel and its colonial characters.

Restored from pre-war shophouses, we have conserved its former self while we add modern convenience in our guests rooms like wifi to ensure all guests stay comfortably while enjoying the historically rich guest room. Location-wise, we are in between Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India, which means we are within walking distance to shopping heavens, cultural scenes and wonderful choices of cuisine.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Albert Court from the 11 - 13 April 2012. We found it very charming, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and, it was in a great location for Little India. We did not want to stay in a 'high-rise' hotel and the 'AC' was ideal for us. The room was slightly tired looking and could have done with a good 'Spring clean' but on the whole, it was still good value for money. I would go back again and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank free_range_hens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We want to make service a hallmark of Albert Court Village and we hope all our guests will be charmed by the warmth service other than our hotel.

We are currently working with our interior designer to on the new design of our refurbished rooms. With the refurbishment, we hope to further improve on the stay experience of all our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to host your next stay in Singapore.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I spent over a week here recently for a business trip. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The unlimited wifi was excellent. Breakfast was included in my package which was convenient.

The hotel is really close to MRT stations and Little India. Getting anywhere is also very easy in cabs in Singapore and they are incredibly cheap (compared to Australia).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Although as a hotel restored from shophouses, it means we may appeal more to leisure travellers due to our heritage, but we have lots of business travellers staying with us too as we have added modern convenience to our rooms to ensure business travellers' concerns will also be look after. We will also constantly upgrade our products and services to meet the requirements of both leisure and business segments.

Thank you for chooosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#100 of 314 in Singapore
2,891 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#67 of 314 in Singapore
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#68 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing