We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albert Court staff are fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #72 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Albert Court staff are fantastic”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently stayed at Albert Court hotel with my family. We found the staff extremely helpful on all occasions. They were really helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Overall stay was really good, would highly recommend. I will definitely be staying there again if I go back to Singapore. The rooms are clean and spacious.

I loved the feel of the courtyard and would certainly recommend Leo's restaurant in the courtyard.

The only issue I found was that the breakfast experience was not that good, it always felt that staff were making it appear as though they were doing us a favour if we ate there. They were also talking amongst themselves but in a manner as though talking about guests. A change in attitude of staff would make the entire stay fantastic .


Certainly the stay at the hotel was excellent and I would go back again.

Regards

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Kavz,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our service culture is one that we treat each guest as an individual customer. It is certainly heartening to hear guests complimenting our staff. As for the Courtyard, we have started early this year to create an al fresco dining environment at our courtyard. This will add to the overall stay experience. Our aim is to bring in good quality restaurants at reasonable price for our guests.

We are pleased to advise that we will introduce a new menu for breakfast on 1 November 2012. This will certainly enhance the whole experience. We are confident our guests will love the new breakfast offerings.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    1,022
    294
    99
    63
See reviews for
593
788
184
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ashmore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently had an 8 night stay and would recommend this hotel to others. The location is great, close to Bugis and Little India. The breakfast was fantastic and so were the staff. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear vjbee,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to advise that we will be making more improvements to our breakfast come 1 November 2012. We are confident the new menu will greatly enhance the overall breakfast experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with Albert Court Village Hotel.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I would like to recommend the Albert Court Village hotel as a great place to stay in Singapore. We arrived at the hotel at 6.30am after a long flight with no expectations of getting into the hotel room early. The staff were so accommodating, offering us a complimentary breakfast and a promise to try to get a room ready as soon as practical. We were booked in by 8.00am. The hotel is in a great spot near Bugis and Little India MRT and Bugis shopping. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were excellent and always helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnK648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Ann K,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The philosophy of our service culture is we will always find a solution to our customer issues. We will definitely try to help and provide the extra care where we can.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We've just had the pleasure of staying at the Albert Court for eight nights in an Executive room. We'd actually booked for seven nights, but a flight change saw us arrive almost a day early. Reception still had a room, thank god, since the F1 race was filling up the hotels. They gave us room 109, which sadly was very noisy with some mechanical melee going on thru the ceiling...I suspect it was the central air-conditioning plant. We managed to get a couple hours sleep and asked for a room change, which they provided early that afternoon. Got room 234, directly overlooking the main courtyard and it was great. A lot quieter....
The hotel is a gem, particularly the old wing....needs a bit of work on the rooms but I see that is happening. Hallway badly needs a new carpet, or a severe cleanup. But the rooms are spacious and comfortable - with a big screen digital TV. The wi-fi is great (free with this room package). The (also free) breakfast buffet is really good and we loaded up for a day of sightseeing without being bothered by lunch. The courtyard has a couple indoor/outdoor restaurants....we ate at the Indian one, Shish Mahal, a couple times and it was outstanding....great food and sitting outside in the pleasant Singapore evenings with a couple cold ones - good stuff. There is also an outdoor lounge area near the hotel entrance good for relaxing with a cold drink. Probably a hundred places to eat within a ten minute walk. Did have lunch at the Albert Cafe once....it tasted great....but felt it's over-priced compared with all the adjacent competition. Apparently so does everyone else.....doesn't get much business beyond the busy breakfasts. They may want to look at their menu price structure....
A couple minor grumbles......the rooms were cleaned late in the day.....usually between 2 and 5PM. We'd be out doing the sightseeing, maybe wanting a siesta, and come back to a grotty room - and have to wait. Nearly everywhere I've been usually knocks this off by noon.
Other procedural issues....one of the staff comes around, every day, to check the mini-bar. Another comes around at about 9AM to see if there is any laundry to go out. The room cleaners can definitely check the minibar - they seem to manage in most hotels.....and why not have the laundry set up so that anyone who wants a laundry pickup - dials downstairs for someone to collect it....rather than interrupt everyone in the hotel every morning? And wouldn't it be nice to have a hook on the bathroom door to hang our clothes on while showering....maybe cost $2.
All that said, love the place.....all the staff were wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Comfy, relaxing, and still retains some charms of a bygone era. Great central, but not too central location, with everything a short taxi or MRT ride away. Highly recommended....and next time we're in town....definitely will be staying there again. Wouldn't consider anywhere else.....it's that good.

Room Tip: To each his own.....but I like the character of the old wing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear CharlesofPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you haveenjoyed your stay with us.

As you have correctly pointed out, we are currently refurbishing our Club and Executive Rooms to enhance the comfort level. The corridor carpet will also be changed at the end of the year. We have constantly upgraded our hotel, such as the LCD TV and wifi facility.

We have improved our breakfast early this year, and we are planning to do a major revamp of our breakfast menu. We target to introduce the new menu on 1 November 2012.

On your feedback on housekeeping issues, we will review and make improvements to it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently stayed for 5 days at Albert Court on recommendation from our daughter who had previously stayed here.We had one of the comforatable rooms in the original block which suited me as I do not enjoy high rise. At all times the friendly staff were extremely helpful. We had a very early arrival and were given a room to accomodate us which we really appreciated. The breakfast was great with extremely good service. We also enjoyed great meals at the restaurants in the courtyard. It is in a very convenient position close to the MRT which we used extensively. We have stayed twice before in Singapore in other hotels but this is the hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear wanderer264,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Service is our hallmark and we are proud with the service culture we have at Albert Court. Our aim is to continue to train our staff with the right service attitude to provide the personalised service that we hope to achieve.

Our revamped al fresco dining Courtyard has won many praise from our guests. We have introduced new restaurants like Shuffle, which has live performances every night to delight our guests. This is in addition to our existing Shish Mahal (Indian cuisine), Leo Cafe (Asian Delights), Casie's & Mum (Bakery Cafe), Chilli Padi (Thai bar). The soon-to-be opened Little Box la Pizzeria will also offer our guests one more choice of food, i.e. Italian pizza.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with Albert Court Village Hotel.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night in early August. The hotel consists of two blocks, i.e. a low-rise and a high-rise one. Our room was at the former, which is housed in a heritage building, and which, according to our concierge, is better than those on the high-rise unit. He even took us to our room personally. He was right about the room though, as it looks rather posh and very well-maintained! There was a king-sized bed and a couch with a coffee table at the corner, with ample walking space in between too. The only problem was that... there was water dripping from the ceiling of the room's wardrobe, although that did not affect our review of the room too significantly.

The hotel is within only a 5-min walking distance to the nearest MRT (Little India). The breakfast here is superb as well.

Room Tip: My room was on the main low-rise (heritage) building which is more expensive than those on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekeat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear ekeat79,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

You have correctly pointed our that we have 2 wings, our Tower Wing and Club Wing. Our Tower Wing house the Superior and Deluxe Rooms, which offers ample space and amenities to allow our guest a comfortable stay.

Our Club Wing is where our Club Lounge and Club Rooms are housed. Located in the secluded section of the hotel, it gives our guest a serene ambience to enjoy the heritage environment in the Club Wing. Our Club Rooms with luxurious space averaged around 30sqm, and it comes with exclusive benefits such as access to our Club Lounge, complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. They are well liked by our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is centrally located, close to Little India and the MRT. The rooms have been renovated and, though small, are very clean. Employees are freindly and helpful. Breakfast is rather uninteresting

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Greg L,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests. We are blessed in terms of location as we are in close proximity to Orchard Road, Little India and Bugis. As such, our guests are spoilt with choices, both in terms of leisure and business.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#93 of 312 in Singapore
2,840 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#69 of 312 in Singapore
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#66 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing