We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #78 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Last year I went to Singapore on a business meet. I had the privilege of staying at Village Hotel Albert Court. The food was excellent and so were the staff. I used the gym and it was small but pretty good with a fantastic background.The stay was really enjoyable and am looking forward to staying there again. It is close to Little India and convenient for shopahalolics!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diptesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Diptesh B

We are truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and appreciate your commendations of our team members.

Village Hotels are committed to delivering an experience and this brings great pleasure to our team.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and our team look forward to seeing you soon!

Stay Village. And discover.

Sincerely,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely hotel, with helpful efficient staff. I stayed here with my family in January 2014. We were satisfied with the hotel. The breakfast was good, the rooms were clean and the gym was ok. Location could have been better, although it was interesting living close to Little India.The metro system works really good in Singapore, so it was still easy to get around town. The rooms were a bit small, but still nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Fanny H

Thank you for choosing Village Hotel Albert Court and taking time to share you observation in this forum.

We are truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and appreciate your commendations of our team members.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And Discover.

With kind regards,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The staff are efficient and helpful like the rest of the hotels under Far East Hospitality and they really go all the way to make the guests feel comfortable during their stays. In term of location the hotel is only about 5 mins walk from Little India MRT Station and so not a problem if you want to go shopping at Orchard Road which is a few stations away.

When we came to the hotel we couldn’t find our way to its main entrance as there is no proper signage. When checking in we were asked to pay a $50 deposit which I find it strange as we have just stayed at Rendezvous Hotel which is under the same Management, and they did not request any deposit from us. After checking in, we were directed to go to our room at the Club Wing which is at the next building, but again it took us a while to find the entrance.

We love the Club Wing! The surrounding designs remind us of the chalets at East Coast park or a resort and the place really smells nice. There are only 2 levels in the Club Wing and you have to cut across the Club Lounge to your room if you are staying on the ground floor or take a lift within the Club Lounge if you are staying at the 2nd floor. If you need to have windows and sunlight in your room, don’t take the rooms on the ground floor, unless you want to risk people peeping into your room.

We really like the room but I am disappointed with the bathroom as it does not have a separate place for standing shower. If you do not want to use the bathtub, you have to be very carefully not to spill water all over the bathroom’s floor. And if you have the habit of wearing the hotel’s slippers into the bathroom, please be very very careful as the floor tends to get very slippery when wet. After I slipped twice during my short stay, I decided to go barefoot whenever I use the bathroom.

I was also surprise to find a Bible in one of the drawers. When doing research on hotels I read somewhere on the Internet that if you see a Bible in your hotel room, asked for a change of room immediately as the room might be “dirty”. So out of concern I went back to the main building, and was advised by a staff that it is a normal practice for the hotel to place a Bible in the rooms.

Feeling slightly better after his assurance I went back to my room but on the way back, I approached another hotel’s guest if she has a Bible in her room and she told me she is not sure. After discussing with my wife we decided not to switch room and see how things go. I know I might sound silly but after a couple of bad experiences in hotel rooms in Malaysia I have no intention to having uninvited guest in my room again. Well I am please to inform you that except for a few noise at about 5am, which we both concluded that it MUST BE from the other rooms, we had a peaceful night.

Another point to note if you are a Club guest is that the evening cocktails are located at the bar at the main building and not in the Club Lounge. And as the Club Lounge does not offer afternoon tea, it is quite deserted most of the time, which is a good thing if you just want to relax, read a book, etc. We noticed that even during breakfast, most club guests choose to have their breakfast at Albert Café & Restaurant which offers more choices, as the breakfast spread at the Club Lounge is quite pathetic.

Room Tip: If you need to have windows and sunlight in your room, don’t take the rooms on the ground floor at t...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alson_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Alson_Teo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly share this with our team. We are currently looking at our food offerings for club and we will improve on it. Our ability to improve our product and service offerings has been a hallmark for this hotel over the past years and we will continue to ensure our guests needs are met and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and I would be pleased to personally facilitate your reservation.

Stay Village. And Discover.

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager
rameshkanesa@fareast.com.sg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in the Village Albert Hotel for two nights. Could'nt have been more pleased. Everyone so friendly and the hotel room was big and clean and a lovely bathroom. the staff were great and it is in an ideal place from which to explore, minuets from Little India and we felt so safe going out. the hotel is next to a lovely courtyard full of little shops and places to eat. We only had breakfast once in the hotel which could have been better but not bad. We will stay again when next in Singapore which is Fantastic. We loved it.

Room Tip: Any room it's all so nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Dee T,

Thank you for choosing Village Hotel Albert Court and taking time to share you observation in this forum.

It is exhilarating to know that your overall experience was excellent.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And Discover.

With kind regards,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Warmly welcomed by the receptionist and having a great room for the getaway is perfect. Breakfast can be improved but overall my family and I had enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you to every staffs of Albert Court!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaLoe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear CeciliaLoe14,,

We are truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and appreciate your commendations of our team members.

Village Hotels are committed to delivering an experience and this brings great pleasure to our team.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and our team look forward to seeing you soon!

Stay Village. And discover.

Sincerely,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff is very service oriented and always on their toes to help you. Their Breakfast spread is also not that bad. The location of this hotel is their plus point. Everything is very convenient and near distance. You have to only cross the road to reach Little India or MRT. we will definitely stay at this place again if we visit Singapore again. Thank you!!

Thank ras249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Dear ras249,

Greetings from Village Hotel Albert Court! Thank you for your review of our Hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience, especially the location and service from our team.
Your compliments has been shared with the team.

We would love to see you again if your travel brings you back to our garden city. Appreciate your recommendation of us to your family and friends.

Yours Sincerely,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Will be back here on my next visit for sure ;)
The staff are courteous, rooms are clean and food is tasty.
Being an Indian visitor, I would find this place at par with the 5* hotels in india. Keep it up guys!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_kmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RameshKanesan, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear cool_kmp,

Thank you for choosing Village Hotel Albert Court and taking time to share you observation in this forum.

I am exhilarated to know that your overall experience was excellent.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And Discover.

With kind regards,

Ramesh Kanesan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#70 of 317 in Singapore
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#109 of 317 in Singapore
3,199 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £75 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing