We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Hotel, Singapore: For the Rough and Ready”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #215 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Had to make a quick visit last June 2008 to attend a booklaunching and the installation of a plaque to mark the Philippine national hero Jose Rizal’s stay in Singapore.

It must have been convention time too since all the old haunts were booked. In the pinch, a friend found us rooms in Beach Hotel at the corner of Beach Rd and Liang Seah St. (We were bringing the books.)

You can see some of my hotel room photos at:

Not quite what I’m used to but quite serviceable for the rough and kewl. A Chinese friend of mine referred to it as a Chinese hotel but not quite sure what that means. In the lift, one sultry night, found myself amidst four 6-foot transvestites, dressed to the teeth, glittered and giddy as hell. Sybaritic Singapore?

Pros
Great location, walking distance to Bugis Junction Mall, Suntec, National Library and a wide variety of restaurants
Lots of night action
Hot-Air balloon site just around the corner
Friendly staff

Cons
Not as clean or bright as the hotels I’m used to in Singapore (see photos)
Wifi available but at a price
1 coin-operated computer at reception
Personally, I prefer the City Hall area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank indioink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

On our honeymoon we ended up in Singapore for two nights unexpectedly because of a missed flight and stayed at the Beach hotel. We chose it because of its location and because it was relatively inexpensive (we paid $100 SD per night). The hotel entrance is on a street corner and you have to take an elevator up to the lobby. The staff were friendly and there was wireless internet and a computer that you can use for a small fee. The room was very basic and pretty small and the shower was kinda feeble. But, it wasn't a bad option considering it was one of the cheapest options in that area of town- it's in a great location near the pier, the Raffles hotel and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 4mango1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This hotel is not a good value. The rooms and linen are old and dingy, and smell of cigartettes. They have no non-smoking rooms so if the smell of cigarettes bothers you, don't get a room at this hotel. It was also very hot (middle of August) but the air conditioner in our room did not work. After a very uncomfortable night, we were finally moved in to a different room that had a working air conditioner but a line of ants across the ceiling and a refrigerator that smelled like something died in it. We would have moved to a different hotel but were already committed to this hotel so we decided to just tough it out. The hotel staff were nice enough, except upon our departure. When we picked up our bags to go to the airport, the woman at the reception desk told us the "doorman" would be able to get us a taxi. When we asked him to call us a taxi, he told us to go to the corner with all of our bags and hail a cab ourselves. He did not want to help us. A fitting end to our visit I guess. My advice, pick a different hotel!

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank noname96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

It seems difficult to get a cheap hotel in Singapore that isn't either a filthy dump or located in the red light district. Beach hotel is one of a few decent alternatives in this price range.

The hotel has a very good location. The room (superior) and bathroom was ok sized but a bit old. Very clean. Couldn't find any channels on the TV but I really didn't care. I'm not going to Singapore to watch TV! The staff wasn't rude but not exactly friendly either. Sick of their job probably.. There is no breakfast but many nice places to eat just outside the hotel. The price seems a bit high for what you get but that's Singapore... No big complaints but a totally average experience. Quite allright if you're not gonna spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Well, everything is very expensive in this town except the food and electronics.
The hotel is ok for a sleep no more, no to relax. The room is smal. A clean bathroom but a little bit old. They have no breafast but there is a lot of restaurants in the same street. The room smell smoke, there have not a no smoking room.
The hotel is close to a busstation and to metro.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arhza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

Great Hotel (for its price) in a great location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Just a good spot for a transfer, although it is a 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro Station (Bugis).
Rooms clean and everything you need is there. Suggestion to book at the airport Hotel Bookings, which is cheaper than the walk-in rates.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Re-Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Decent hotel. Great location. NEarby to SUntec COnvention Centre, MRT and all the city cnetre attractions. The hotel is a little worn down but acceptably clean. SIngapore has a shortage of budget to mid range hotel rooms...therefore you'll have to book at least 3-4 weeks in advance. Will I stay there again, maybe not if I can help it. For the price we paid (S$140 per night for a deluxe room), I think you may be able to get a better place. However, for the whole package, ie. location, convenience, budget, then it's not too bad. NO major complains.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SharkyReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Downtown Core
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#236 of 317 in Singapore
229 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#172 of 317 in Singapore
439 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#239 of 317 in Singapore
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marrison Hotel
#261 of 317 in Singapore
292 reviews
Hotel Kai
#136 of 317 in Singapore
253 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#113 of 317 in Singapore
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: 95 Beach Road, Singapore 189699, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Downtown Core
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £56 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing