We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base in Singapore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #54 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai,UAE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good base in Singapore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past couple of years, it's perfectly fine for a base in Singapore for a few days but I wouldn't rank it as one of the most memorable hotels.

The rooms are fine, not overly modern but clean and adequate- they have a mini fridge, good flatscreen tv, bathtub & shower combo, light switches near the bed so you can switch on and off at night. Amenities in the bathroom included shampoo, soap etc but mine were generic, not Molton Brown as stated by another reviewer. (They could have been in the newer wing)

I didn't use the pool or gym but had a view of the pool last 2 stays, it looks nice and there were always a few people using it, especially late afternoon. I heard there is a small bar there but didn't use it. Staff were fine. First time I stayed here I was given (against my request) a smoking room which absolutely reeked, when I asked to move they refused and said they'd send someone to "deodorize" the room. Hour and a half later a guy turned up with a can of air freshener to spray the room. Really if you are going to force non-smokers to stay in a smoky room the least you can do is provide a scented humidifier or other such thing as most good hotels do in Asia... that stay was awful and my suitcase and clothes stank for weeks after.

Probably the most annoying aspect of this hotel is the continuing lack of wifi in the rooms. I hear this is only in the older wing but as someone who travels on company booking we always get the older style rooms. Only wired internet is available in the rooms. This would be fine if I had travelled with a laptop but I had not. I think the cost is SGD$20-25 per day for wired. Several of my colleagues stated they still could not access it even after paying the fee. So we ended up in the lobby with everyone else using the free wifi. In my opinion it's pointless because so many people are there using it, that it's slow or often fails to connect at all. Frankly it feels like a hostel not a hotel in this aspect. They told me last year that wifi was coming "next year" and on my stay last week they told me again "next year" So don't hold your breath for wifi.

On the plus side the location is good, very close to Raffles City mall and Chijmes entertainment district. Bras Basah metro stop a short walk away and Clarke Quay 15mins if you wish to walk. Sovery easy to get around the city.

Overall it's a clean, well located hotel but nothing that really stands out. If you're coming for business bring a laptop or stay somewhere with wifi if you don't use one.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in 26 seem to have noise from elevators if you are trying to sleep during the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,642
    522
    166
    88
See reviews for
619
1,200
261
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

we stayed at Carlton, for 4 nights,, we stayed in the new wing, on the premier club floor. the room was nice and clean.
great view over mariana bay, and raffles hotel,.
it was very close to MRT, which is very good. The staff were not very friendly when I asked Victor at the front desk, to please ring for the airport shuttle bus, I was told , I could take a taxi, not very nice!!
we were charged $44 for 2 glasses off red wine, a bit to much I think~~~~~~~~
another thing, the kettle in the room took over 10mins to boil, because off all this high tec . you got in the room, and another one is, there were only 1 coffie pr day!!!!!!!! pr person !!!!
the hotel is to sterile and to rude.
we were very happy , when we left, and wont come back, what happen to the nice welcoming in Singapore?????
your entrance to the hotel dosent work eighter, the cars cant get in and out!! not good planning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Last year, I've ever been the Hotel and satisfied with all the service & price
This year, In spite of staying in executive room, its service was not good.
The most disappointed factor is RESTAURANT! where they serve breakfast.TERRIBLE!
At the restaurant, I had a guest who is out of my room rate coverage.
Having breakfast, restaurant attendees had interupped us over 3 times for payment with unclear English.
Even some clerk took all knife & poke of my client away when we were leaving for a second.
It is a bit shock for me there are some servers are not able to communicate with customers in English smoothly.
Please consider another option when you want to have excellence meal with S$38.00 Nett

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satsuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The best breakfast buffet we have had anywhere, no need for lunch after such a big feast. The hotel location is great in the colonial district right across the road from Raffles. Rooms and bathrooms OK, bit disappointing that there's no free WIFI in rooms. Nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently while in Singapore on business. Had a negative initial experience as the lady at checking was quite rude. Fortunately, once I got up to my room, I was pleased to find it clean and fairly spacious with a wonderful shower and very comfortable bed. Nothing spectacular but above average and clean and safe for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiggsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Carlton is central, even walking distance from Bugis Market and Sim Lim. Shopping mall is across the street and 7/11 is behind the hotel. Hotel is fairly modern and rooms spacious. Bathroom is pretty basic. But you will not spend any time in your room. Guestroom aircon did not react to thermostat and TV reception is horrible quality, not up to modern standards. There is no wifi in guestroom and fixed internet is 20 sgd a day! The wifi in the lobby is free, and you will be spending much of your time there with other guests trying to surf the internet. Hotel pool is pretty basic and too short for laps. Gym is ok, unless crowded. For sun lovers there are only few sun chairs, so get early. In summary I expected much much more than Carlton delivered. Will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: The priority side is apparently better but is 100 sgd more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the Carlton on the way back to NZ from the UK and although it is well located, there wasn'l much atmosphere or warmth.
We were given a good size room with a comfortable bed in the old part of the hotel. This could have been very nice but was slightly scruffy with stained carpets - a shame really.
We used the gym and the pool and they were both very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyMarlborough_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,706 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing