We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #50 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times in the last 2-3 years and some of my says have been extended ones of 3 weeks. The facilities are top class and its just across the road from the City Hall station. The rooms are aesthetically done and the service is very good. The restaurant offers a host of cuisines. A great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacbinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    1,673
    527
    167
    89
See reviews for
629
1,229
272
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My favourite hotel to stay in whenever I drop into Singapore for a visit, be it business or leisure. First visit was in the 1990's and been coming back since then.
Was greeted with a 'welcome back' at the check-in counter.
Stayed in the Premier wing on this visit and also 2 years ago.
Love the room and the view of the Chijmes, Raffles City etc.
Especially love the bathroom and the Nespresso machine which my coffee loving visitors enjoyed.
Location is central and thats the main reason I chose Carlton for my stays.
Monsaic Cafe had a very good international buffet for dinner and breakfast.
Check out was quick.

Room Tip: Request for the Premier wing, the old wing will be undergoing refurbishment sometime this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose the Carlton as a mid range hotel that was part of the Singapore Stopover Holiday package. Our rooms (interconnecting) were in the main (old) wing and were quite large with high ceilings. The bathrooms seemed relatively old, but it looked like the grouting had been renewed, so looked fresh. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet and didn't smell of smoke. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the pool area. We used the pool every day and it was lovely - just cool enough to be refreshing on a steamy Singapore day.
The major benefit of this hotel is the location. It is next door to the Raffles, and from here we walked to the Singapore Flyer, Gardens by the Bay, Clarke Quay and the bottom end of Orchard Road. There is also a range of shopping centres within walking distance for cheap food court meals. We decided not to spend a fortune on hotel breakfasts and as we had brought bowls and spoons, just picked up cereal and milk from the basement supermarket at Raffles City to make our own breakfast each morning. The staff of the hotel were friendly and efficient. The one downside of this (and it seems many) hotel is that wifi is not available in rooms unless you want to pay an exorbitant fee. However if you went to the lobby or the pool deck you could access free wifi (and longer than just the 24hrs they advertised). We didn't use the minibar or restaurants on site as the prices were high, especially after the bargain prices we encountered in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Can't believe this is a 4 star hotel. The "premier" wings may be. However the standard room is worn out with tiny, worn out and smelly toilet, noisy air conditioner, and NO WIFI.
I have never seen a hotel without a Wi Fi within at least past 5 years, or may be 10 years I guess.
It may be my fault not to check the Wi fi availability before booking, but who would have thought a 4 star hotel in Singapore would be without Wifi... and I don't mean there is no "free" wifi, there is "no" wifi, with or without charge.
They say "premier" wings have wifi though.. which I think are about 50 dollars more expensive.
The only value of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were well greated as we arrived.Our room was very nice and comfortable.Clean.Nice view on Raffles Hotel and its swimming pool.Convenient location.Next is Raffles City which is a big shopping centre with supermarket.Also lots of restaurants and coffee shops around.I read the hotel is renovating (in July) the old tower which will be excellent.Staff was nice and helpful.Very expensive coffee at the hotel's coffee shop.Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Convenient location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location is very good, near to the chinatown, new hotel, great service, clean and tidy rooms. Great swimming pool, roof top bar with excellent view.everything in the hotel is new, furnitures, bath room equipments and etc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darsadzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stopped at this hotel after staying here 6 years ago and the overall rating by trip advisor....Room was in the old section again and virtually the same room we had stayed in previously although we were told we were upgraded to 'an executive room'. Position is great but the prices are over the top, 4 corona beers at AU$70.00. Found a Hypermarket and bought 6 stubbies for AU$24....The toilet in the room needed to be flushed at least three times to dispose of toilet paper and the room was crawling with small brown ants, in the bed, sitting in the chair and all over the desk! Also don't forget to put on the 'do not disturb' light as we were woken early after a late arrival to knocking on the door asking if we wanted any laundry done......Would suggest there are other hotels in a good area that don't have these problems. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.......

Room Tip: To choose a good room maybe try the new section, recommend another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomadsBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing