We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #57 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for business traveler”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location is very convinient, near to the business district, near to the shopping area, near to the coffee shops and bars. Public transportation like Trains, buses, taxi are just few steps outside. Large variety of foods from western to eastern are easy to find. Hotel staff is very helpful. Hotel has 2 wings, main wings is the old building but after major renovating couple years ago ,I think is decent. The premier wing is the new building with much better interior quality compared to another one. Cleanliness and building maintenance is consider good. If you book the hotel thru hotel website you can get the room in premier wings, book thru travel agents most of the time you get the old wing. Breakfast quality is just standard. Overall hotel quality is good in my opinion. Internet is chargeable.

Room Tip: Premier wing tower is better to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    1,729
    543
    170
    92
See reviews for
651
1,285
287
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Calton Hotel Singapore has a very Nice and Spaciuos room. The location of the Hotel is very convenient to go shopping at Raffles City and Marina Bay. Staff are courteous and polite. Worth staying with family outing. Prices of hotel rates are reasonable and have nice view from the window.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good place to stay. Staff are very courteous. Close by to many places. If you are pure vegetarian please be prepared to search for food outisde hotel as most of the dishes are non vegetarian. Swimming pool is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagesh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Another Singapore visit and it had to be Carlton. Tried shortlisting a few others this time, but eventually ended up booking Carlton based on previous experience and stay and as expected, it was a great one night stay. They quickly for an independent wi-fi modem once they were told of some wi-fi issues in the room. Overall..Great as usual !

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morpheuskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night when i was transitioning between Singapore and Thailand. I had booked a Standard room for 1 night in the Staycations package. When i checked in i asked if there was a chance of an upgrade and then went about enjoying the free wifi in the lobby. I was told i would be upgraded to a club room on the 25th floor - cue excitement. I took the lift up and opened the door and swear i thought i was transported back to the 1970s. The room looked like it has been kept the same since the 70s. The wardrobe doors wouldn't stay closed and as a result the light was continuously on - annoying when trying to sleep. The temperature was lowered to 15 as the room wouldn't get cold and it suddenly stopped working at around 1am . I rang the reception and they had a technician come up to the room eventually 3 technicians later - the told me they had opened some valve - after 2 hrs the room got cold - at 3:30 i was just climbing into bed. Not a word of apology from the hotel nor did they ask if everything was ok. Then the wifi story. After logging on to free wifi at the lobby i went up to the room to log on and could not find a wifi signal. I called reception and said i cant find the wifi signal only to be told that rooms in the 'OLD' wing do not have wifi and only rooms inthe 'PREMIER' wing have wifi . Note you are not given the option to select which wing u want. Whay was i put in the OLD wing in the first place ??? Very deceptive. After telling reception how silly their way of doing things was i eventually had a wifi router sent up to the room. If you want a room with heaps of hassle and things that dont function halfway through the night - this is the place for you - if you want peace of mind - go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narentheran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. When we visit again we will definately consider staying there again. One of the best we've stayed in in our travels. Beautiful decore and very polite & helpful service. Lovely big window with a very interesting view over a semi industrial area - very pretty at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Impressive looking foyer and very professional staff. Taxis are easily accessible at the front of the hotel. Rooms were of the quality you'd expect, but ours was beginning to feel a little well worn.

Only negatives were the lack of proper shower rooms after check out to freshen up before our late night flight (have to use the swimming pool changing rooms), and the absence of free in room Wi-Fi. Feels a little mean to charge guests to print off boarding passes in this day and age too, especially at a hotel of this quality, it was the only hotel we encountered to do so on our trip through Malaysia and Singapore.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MQAQVQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,251 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,191 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing