We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay - in a budget way!”
Review of Fortuna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fortuna Hotel
Ranked #259 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staying in a comfort budget hotel - near MRT Station - near hawker food counters & near shopping center area and is probably the main thing traveler consider to chose a place to stay.

This hotel have it all!
It has the comfort. Carpeted and nice comforting bed with clean bed sheets. Cool centralized air-con that can stay ON, even when you take your key out. So coming to a cold comfy room after a hot sunny day in Singapore is a great deal. A bath tub for hot relaxation bath after a tiring day exploring Singapore is also a plus!

Location is totally super superb!
1. It is at the center of all Farrer Park MRT exit & entrance. You can either hop from the Birch Road exit or Simply across the street and straight to CITY SQUARE Mall (only around 200m away) and take the MRT below the mall.
2. Right across MUSTAFA Center (24hours) and halal food counter across Mustafa is also open all day long too! So, for Muslims, finding foods around the hotel is very easy, even in 3am in the morning after a midnight shop at Mustafa :)
3. Right Across City Square Mall, too!

WIFI is also available for free!

The receptionist, especially Mimi is very kind and helpful, he make sure everything is okay. I booked 2 superior rooms from Agoda and emailed the hotel for some special requests. When I came, one of the room is upgraded to a bigger room with an extra bed for my daughter! Stayed in room 516 (upgraded) and my parents are in 511. Both rooms are clean, decent and nothing to complain.

The only one thing this hotel lack of is TV Channels. It only had 4 or 5 local news channel which is for us, foreign travelers, cannot enjoy at all. If it comes atleast with 1 movie channel, it will be perfect :) So while we're inside the room, the TV stays off. Other than that, it was very pleasant staying in Fortuna Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cichaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights and my stay was very comfortable. It is well connected to MRT and Mustafa is nearby. Hotel service is very good. Room was very clear and in good size. Overall, it was a great experience staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jatinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I didn't expect the room was nice and comfortable, clean and tidy.
The bed was good and staff there are very courteous.I have stay on 7 floor the bathroom
is very nice, some suggestion could management can put on a little bit more on room amenities, like hand towels, luggage rack. mineral bottle in the fridge instead a jug of water. Room entertainment is very poor,the TV still been used in first world country....???? TV programmed are very boring!!!overall its a good stay and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kentotbacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Little India. It is a 1 minute walk from Mustafa Supermarket and Farrer Park Metro Station. The rooms are of decent size and clean. It is a basic budget hotel. WiFi is free. Did not try the food since there are umpteen restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

the hotel is a 5 minute walk from Mustafa Centre - the rooms are, frankly, quite grotty, but the service is, honestly, superb!

I had a very short late night transit, and wanted to visit Mustafa Centre - my first ever visit there - and this hotel seemed to be the most convenient

extremely helpful front desk staff, even at 5.30 am

I really wouldn't want to stay here again, because of the rooms, but the staff should be commended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hotel is one of the best to stay for a short trip in Singapore. Opposit Mustafa center & 100 meters away from Ferrer Park MRT station & facing Serengoon road just 30 minutes to Air Port. All important facilities such as transport , good resturents both Chinese & Indian (not star class but good quality at affordable rates), shopping Malls are available in the area. Mustafa center is 24 hour & you have the freedom to shop at any time saving your time for other matters during the day.
We, five members of our family stayed there for two nights in room no 515 & 516 from 04th to 06th Janury2013, which were in clean condition (recntly renovated partly )& the place was better than I expected as per the reviews in the web. Usual check in time is 14:00 hrs but since there were vacant rooms they provided us rooms at 11:30.The TV has 05 or 06 channels but only 02 were visible properly. But while in Singapore who need to watchTV!!!
The breakfast provided by the Indian resturent in the same building, average indian food but in good condition. Also there was no limit of quantity. Day time was noisy due to renovation work in the hotel but night was peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I wonder why people should ever like to stay here ! May be they are first timers and thus not aware of. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights from 15th Oct 2013. We had no choice as we are in a group traveling with a tour operator from kolkata.

The hotel rooms are small, bathroom smelling (room 506, though the other room we had 510 - the bathroom was ok). Our AC was not working. The service engineer came and could not do anything but tried hard to obfuscate the issue. The breakfast was awful with very little options / spread. Since it is in Little India, I guess visitors from India / Bangladesh would like to stay here due to the proximity of Mustafa store, Indian and Bangladeshi food joints . There was no wi-fi as well. The hotel reception area is too small - only couple of visitors can seat at the sametime.

Overall not worth unless you have a compelling reason to stay in Little India !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neelash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#109 of 317 in Singapore
3,200 reviews
Pinnacle Hotel
#289 of 317 in Singapore
307 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#236 of 317 in Singapore
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#119 of 317 in Singapore
522 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar
#143 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Park Hotel Farrer Park
#72 of 317 in Singapore
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Hotel

Address: 2 Owen Road Fortuna Hotel, Singapore 218842, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £36 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fortuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing