We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Park City Hall
Ranked #61 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Stayed here in late May for 6 nights. Was transfered here because of a problem at another hotel. The staff were very accommodating to my situation, especially regarding the need for a quiet room (where your not near an air-conditioning plant or lifts etc). Staff good all-round. As others have noted, good central location. Only downside, is that some of the rooms may need updating, but the one I was in was fine.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
Thank ScottFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

My partner selected the hotel thinking the malls will be a step away. We ended up with the Funan mall nearby which specializes in electronic and computer products.. The upside is it is a good 6 to 10 minute walk to the City Hall MRT station.

The only downside to walking in Singapore is the humid heat of its weather so be prepared to sweat it out.

The hotel is a bit out of sight from the main road and not much taxi drivers know the place (or perhaps i have a problem pronouncing the name of the hote), The location makes it a bit difficult to get a cab or taxi as it is along a main road... so be prepared for a long wait or perhaps call to book a taxi instead.

The place is pretty central, it is a walk away to Boat Quay, Clark Quay and Esplanade...also near the raffles shopping centre and Supreme Court building.

As to the room we got, it does not come up to my expectations. Walls are rather thin. We can practically hear the other people talking and laughing in the other rooms. I also get awaken by someone opening their rooms (sounds like our room was the one being opened). Room too is rather small with just basic work desk... no couch for day reading.

The hotel also forgot to provide us with the basic toiletries expected like disposable shavers, cotton buds, toothbrushes and toothpaste.. Oh and they forgot to provide us with bedroom slippers so had to walk on the cold floor of the bathroom.

The hotel has a well equipped gym but their pool is rather small though it is clean. The jacuzzi is also clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktine203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights during May in a deluxe room. It was an excellent choice. Whilst the rooms are not as luxurious as the public areas, they were more than adequate and comfortable. The location was perfect for all the activities we planned. Easily central for walking to many tourist and shopping sites. We found the nearby
Raffles City Mall one of the best and had no trouble finding plenty of eating places around, especially at Clarke Quay.
When we tired of walking we used the MRT with no problems and the station was literally just around the corner. The MRT was so clean and efficient it was a pleasure to use. The concierge was always cheerful, helpful and arranged several tours for us. The cleaning staff were thorough and the toiletries plentful..
We did not eat at the hotel breakfast buffet, but found a small "BreadTalk" nearby where we had a "Rise and Shine" breakfast (inc. orangeJuice) for $2.20, extremely good value for those who don't do justice to a hotel breakfast. We did eat in the Coleman Cafe downstairs one night when we were lateback after the Night Safari excursion, the meal was not more that barely adequate, warm greasy and tasteless. But it was late and the Malls had closed early.
If you can book this hotel at a discounted rate, then it is good value indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

First impressions was one of luxury and we were not disappointed. Staff were welcoming, helpful, informative and always around if you needed help. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was of excellent decor to a high standard. The minute you leave the hotel all is there to be experienced i.e. walking distance to shopping centres , restaurants, sight seeing attractions. Public transport is accessible and taxi's were reasonably priced. The Hotel is situated about 5 to 10 minutes from China Town by Taxi and 20 minutes walking.

Least liked the fact that you are unable to open the windows to let in natural air. Restaurants on site were expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollytinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Arrived on an early morning flight and were able to check straight into rooms which was fantastic. Also received a late check out at no extra charge. Nice rooms, lovely pool and spa area, well equipped gym. Location is good - walking distance to Clarke Quay and MRT station. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We had a delightful and comfortable stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the city centre and therefore is easy to get around the area. There are a number of good restaurants located within the vicinity.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank pinbip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Everything about this hotel was fantastic! I made the booking direct with the hotel as there was a deal going at the time; great rate of S$140 per night plus tax. As I was staying a min of 3 nts, I was upgraded to a king delux room on checkin, which was lovely after the night flight from Brisbane. Arrived at the hotel at 9am and the room was already available, so received early checkin at no extra cost! Just lovely. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Location is great; just a 5 min walk to Raffles, City Hall MRT, Fort Canning Park and Clarke Quay. Also close to the Marina district and Singapore Flyer. I didn't worry about having breakfast at the hotel as it was cheaper to grab something across the street at the Funan Centre. Next visit will be with family and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#116 of 319 in Singapore
4,456 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#57 of 319 in Singapore
4,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#83 of 319 in Singapore
2,023 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#63 of 319 in Singapore
3,764 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#56 of 319 in Singapore
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park City Hall

Address: 10 Coleman Street Grand Park City Hall, Singapore 179809, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#56 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £135 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Park City Hall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate in warm hospitality in the heart of the city at the new Grand Park City Hall. Conveniently located in a prime spot in Singapore’s Civic District and within the Central Business District, the hotel is a stone's throw from major shopping malls such as Raffles City and Capitol Piazza. Suntec City and the Marina Bay entertainment and business district are minutes away by car. Indulge in modern European cuisine and sip on artisanal cocktails at Tablescape Restaurant & Bar located on Level 3 of the hotel. Our rooms are also equipped with complimentary smartphone service offering free unlimited 3G internet connectivity, local and international calls to 11 countries. Announcement: Grand Park City Hall is currently undergoing a transformation. While Phase 1 of our transformation is now completed, the overall completion is slated for first quarter of 2018. Please refer to hotel announcements or reach out to our guest service representatives any time for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Park City Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park City Hall Hotel Singapore
Grand Park City Hall Singapore
Grand Plaza Park Hotel Singapore
Grand Plaza Singapore
Grand Plaza Hotel Singapore
Grand Plaza Park Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing