We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How glad we were that we chose this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Ranked #30 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“How glad we were that we chose this hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Picking a hotel in a city is always a bit of a gamble as regards location, cleanliness, rooms, service etc., but this hotel came up trumps in every area.
Its not a big swanky hotel, but has all you would need. It has a marble foyer with crystal chandeliers if that impresses, a concierge, and a nice restaurant. The rooftop pool, which we did not use but checked out, is so pretty, and had only one person using it when we were there, its like a lgarden patio rather than a rooftop in Singapore.
The room was clean, the staff friendly and attentative.
We paid for an upgrade to Executive level and are so glad we did. Included is a wonderful breakfast in their restaurant, with virtually anything you could want for a breakfast including an omelette station and delicious coffee. We chose the Windows restaurant over the Club room, and it was fine.
They had afternoon tea in the afternoon with ham and cheese sandwiches and lovely cups of tea (we are British) plus small cakes, etc. and as this was the time we arrived back at the hotel after sightseeing all day, without the need to stop for lunch after our huge breakfastfast, we were usually in time to grab a snack and a nice cup of tea or two.
We then had a rest and a shower and emerged in time to be in the private bar for happy hour, which was free drinks, and at least one hot meal, the two nights we were there it was chicken noodles one night, and chicken pasta the next, plus a cheeseboard, and an assortment of savoury snacks and some small desserts. We chilled out here over a drink or three, and never felt the need to go out and find anywhere else to eat. If adventurous eating is part of your holiday then this would probably not suffice for you, but you could still have a drink or two and then wander out for dinner.
The hotel is a few minutes from Orchard Road and a shopping centre is opposite, plus some restaurants etc. You need never walk more than 15 mins if you so wanted. If we ever go back to Singapore we would go back to this hotel without any question. We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    1,273
    233
    51
    22
See reviews for
1,385
551
162
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Let me start by saying that probably we expected too much out of a Holiday Inn (based on the reviews here) but at the end of the day a Holiday Inn will be a Holiday Inn - value for money but don't expect more. The commencement of our stay at this hotel started on a disastrous note when upon check-in (at 6 pm) we were informed that our Deluxe Suite Room (probably the most expensive room they have) is not ready and this after a long wait at the check-in que (when the hotel claims that check in for Deluxe Suite will happen at the Executive Lounge). Though the hotel tried to make up for this later but providing us with a late check-out+ complimentary airport drop+ a basket of fruits and chocolates but first impressions are ever lasting. The rooms are on the smaller side (even the Deluxe suite room) though clean and functional. Main bathroom (out of 2 in a suite) was quite small. Breakfast is OK and staff service in line with Singapore standards (which I don't hold in very high esteem except for Ritz Carlton Singapore).
Location is in proximity to Orchard Road (by taxi not walking) and a side lane by the name of Cuppage Street (can be accessed from Hotel Bar) has good eating options + a 7/11 shop.

All in all this hotel is good value for money by Singapore Standards but don't expect true 5 star quality or service if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibirath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Dibirath S,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you left feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry for the delayed check in you experienced. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location if you want to shop, maybe a little to far from the nightlife in Clarke and Boat quay if that's what your after. It's not as flash as other hotels in Singapore but nice enough.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast and rooms of a good standard.

I did not receive a comp upgrade being a Platinum IHG member but breakfast was kindly offered which was a nice suprise!

Would be nice if the atrium was air conditioned and the gym size improved but all in all not much to suggest or complain about.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMCJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok and what you would expect for the price paid per room in Singapore. Location is excellent and right off Orchard Road and near Somerset MRT station. Breakfast is ordinary and below my expectations. If you can afford the extra few dollars you should be able to do better in another hotel but location should also be considered.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenetianAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear VenetianAussie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you liked our great location. I was disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant for breakfast you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

POSITION: Excellent position and a two minute walk to Orchard Road shopping.
SECURITY: The security is not so good as you can exit any floor from the elevator.
HOTEL: This hotel is more like a Crown Plaza than a Holiday Inn as it has a very grand entrance and the rooms are excellent. The hotel only has 8 floors with the pool being on the 8th floor. The pool area is excellent with very comfortable lay abouts. Air conditioning is difficult to adjust as it is preset to a designated temperature.
CLUB FLOOR: The Club Floor is on floor 3. Excellent pre dinner alcoholic beverages including red/white wine. Also open during the day for non alcoholic drinks and snacks including sandwiches.
BREAKFAST: They have 2 chefs cooking the eggs and you can order just about every type of egg/omelet serving. Buffet is excellent and have just about every type of choice you would ever want to choose from for breakfast.
GENERAL: Money changers are everywhere so no problem changing currency. Try the Lucky Plaza for great shopping value.
Excellent hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the busy Orchard Road so noise problem. You cannot get a floor higher th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Plus:

very near orchard and convenient to get cabs from.

being part of the IHG you get relatively good service you expect from a 4 star hotel group so no surprises there.

The pool at the 8/F had an adult and kiddie pool area. Traveling with a toddler who loves to swim, it was ver convenient to just walk out the room and take the elevator up the 8/F. There weren't a lot of people too, so I liked that.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cldyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Cldyr,

Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

needs a bit of tightening up on small things such as seeing when encouraging guests to take advantage of their "upgrade" to the hotel Club facilities and so have free lunchtime/evening drinks and nibbles, the price includes ALL additional outlay and not find there are other "Taxes" to be added!!
Ideal for those lucky girls with unfortunate male partners, as the hotel is placed so cleverly, they need only a couple of minutes walking to get straight into their heaven - the flood of shopping outlets that abound either side of where they enter Orchard Road, in our case by the CentrePoint building.
However one great plus factor for those males, is the roof top swimming pool, which offers good lengths of beautifully clean, welcoming water, with tables and recliners on either sides,a shower to go through and towels already readily available. There is also the facility of food and refreshment services : the pool stays open into early evening.
Music downstairs adjacent to the reception area along side the lounge area bar, creates a nice relaxing atmosphere although the price for a pint of Heineken at S$25-00 and S$19-50 for a Club sandwich, tends to shake one up somewhat! But that apart, the food at breakfast time was all one would want in surprising somewhat small eating area for a hotel of its size.
Staff were polite and friendly, as is the whole of Singapore as the city continues to grow but not lose any of its pleasantness

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,414 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 312 in Singapore
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#30 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore's well-known shopping boulevard, Orchard Road, Holiday Inn(R) Singapore Orchard City Centre is just minutes away from the Central Business District, the Somerset and Dhoby Ghaut Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stations as well as the Central Business District and medical centres including the Paragon Medical Singapore and Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre. Explore the city at ease with popular cultural districts such as Bugis, Chinatown and Little India, and attractions like the Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay all located within close proximity, making us an ideal spot for staycation. Changi Airport is a short 25-minute drive away. The hotel boasts 324 well-appointed guestrooms, 11 state-of-the-art function rooms, a collection of two restaurants and a bar - Tandoor, featuring authentic North Indian cuisine, Window on the Park showcasing Asian and local delights, and Lobby Lounge & Bar which offers the perfect venue to unwind after a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing