We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just above average HI property in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Ranked #28 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just above average HI property in a convenient location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Compared to other Holiday Inn properties, I would say this one is very decent.
- The hotel is very modern and looks quite new.
- Location is very convenient with a 5-min walk to Orchard Road and another 5-min to the nearest metro station.
- Breakfast was very good with a lot of varieties.
- Informed them we were on our honeymoon and they made some room preparations (Small cake, fruits and a juice bottle) which was a very nice gesture.
- They have a decent pool and a Gym on roof.

Nevertheless I had the following issues:
- I didn't get the full IHG benefits (Upgrade, late checkout) although being a Platinum member.
- The room detergent used had a weird smell, we noticed that every time we came into the room.
- In room dining was not good compared to restaurant dinning.

I would stay there again considering it has a very good value/money compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park if you want something quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hossam_Elgeneidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    1,256
    225
    50
    22
See reviews for
1,353
545
161
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids (11&13) stayed in this property for 4 nights in June, 2014. we requested and were given 2 interconnecting rooms - 1 with twin and the other with King. The rooms are of a good 4 star standard, with great beds and various pillows. Bathrooms are fine - even though I don't like showers in baths.

Buffet Breakfast was included and was as you would expect of a good standard tip: as we stayed on a Saturday night on their weekend package the low weekend rate - incl B/Fast also applied over the Monday and Tuesday nights (saving alot).

The Pool itself is great (approx 20M x 7m and laned) - however the surrounding need a fair bit of work, more 3 star than 4 star.

Staff are friendly.

This hotels is 100m to Orchid Road and alot of restaurants and bars, however we didn't come to Singapore to shop (expensive). It's a $6 cab ride to Clarke's Quay, $12 cab to Sentosa and $12 cab to Marina Bay (Gardens by the Bay - A Must visit - go at 4pm do the pods then have dinner and watch the light show at 7.45pm).

I am not sure what's the best location in Singapore as I am note sure you can answer this as Singapore's attractions are quite spreadout...for us it was good value and met our needs well.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel via website as our Travel Agent in Australia (Perfect Wave) quoted us $1400 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deansmallman911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 1 & 1/2 year old daughter (25June-28June). The rooms are of a decent size & kept well. We'd taken the a king size bed and it was very comfortable especially after those long walks on Orchard Road. We opted for the buffet breakfast so that we didn't have to go hunting for breakfast every morning with the little one in tow, not knowing what she'd decide to eat or not. The buffet in the hotel was decent. Since my daughter's a fussy eater and this was her first visit outside her country, she'd closed up more on what she frugally ate. One day she'd enjoy the omelette but the other day she'd refuse to eat a morsel! The lady in charge one of those days was helpful to pack her breakfast so that she could have it at her own time later, but the very next day another man in charge made it seem like a big problem when we requested for her breakfast to be packed!!! Anyways talked to the concerned people and they were prompt in sorting it out. The other thing I found odd was the fact that my in-laws staying on the 3rd floor had a bathroom with a tub and weighing scale in it. Whereas mine on the 5th floor had neither! Naturally the kid was upset about her baths. These things could have been pointed at the reception while they were allocating us the rooms. The plus point of the hotel is the location near some good eateries that you can try out just outside the hotel. Orchard road is 5 mins of walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pranaymangrati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear pranaymangrati,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am glad to hear that our location worked for your needs and that you enjoyed our food selection. On the other hand, I am sorry for any inconvenience the level of service you received may have caused you and your family. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for six nights with our six year old grandson. We had booked because it was one of the few hotels that had two double beds rooms however when we arrived we were told that this layout was not available but we could have a king bed room with a rollaway bed for no extra charge - would have been quite an argument from me if they had tried to charge extra! The rook was a bit tight with this extra bed but was comfortable and clean. Bathroom was good and normal Holiday Inn amenities were all provided. There was no hairdryer in the room when we arrived but this was quickly attended to by housekeeping. As a priority Rewards gold member we received free wifi access and this was a very good service. The pool on the room was excellent and according to our grandson was the best part about the hotel. Staff were very friendly. Only negative was a S$16 cost plus tax and service charge for a glass of wine. Location was excellent being only a couple of minutes walk to a number of restaurants, Orchard Road and Somerset MRT. Would stay here again next time we are in Singapore

Room Tip: 7th and 8th floor have better views and pool is on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I'm Australian and in my mid 20s. I travelled with my boyfriend and we were looking to enjoy the food, city sites including Gardens by the Bay and the Jurong bird park on our second trip to Singapore.

I chose the Holiday Inn Orchard City because I wanted a comfortable stay in a modern and clean facility, and a convenient location. I was very happy with my choice.

We had no problem getting a taxi from Changi airport (about SGD20), and the driver was familiar with the hotel. The trip in was about 20 minutes and we were greeted by the friendly doormen and front desk.

Check-in was simple and quick. My boyfriend and I exchanged worried looks as we heard loud music from the front desk coming from their lounge, and young children running around. But we were shortly given our room keys, and entered a clean, modern room tastefully decorated and making good use of space. It was a large rectangular room with the beds on one wall (we had a twin room), and desk, tv, and luggage area on the other. The bathroom was also modern and clean, and had generous complimentary bath products. There were lots of towels and a hair dryer in the hall cupboard, along with robes and slippers. There were also complimentary water bottles (notably, it is safe to drink tap water in Singapore).

The room was quiet enough, with the occasional sound of children running up the hallways. However it quietened down at night time, and with ear plugs (my boyfriend has always been a difficult sleeper) we slept well. There was also a selection of firm and soft pillows on the bed which I felt was very thoughtful.

While at the hotel, we made use of the pool and jacuzzi on the roof. We went everyday, and it was never too crowded. It was very nice to relax there in between our eating and site seeing, or to end the day as it didn't close till 11pm. The jacuzzi needs abit of attention though, it smelt like it needed more chlorine or cleaning, and some of the head rests were mouldy.

I enjoyed staying centrally and being able to step out from the retreat of my hotel, right into the action of Singapore with its food and shopping. I loved being able to just walk down the road and find heaps of eating options for breakfast and snacking, and its an easy 5min walk to a big train station. I didn't use the train as I found taxis very affordable, and nowhere I wanted to go was more than 20mins away by taxi (Jurong Bird Park was 20mins away, Gardens By the Bay was no more than 10mins).

I would recommend the Holiday Inn Orchard City to friends because of its great location, and its clean, modern rooms which offer a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Annarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We received an upgrade to the sub-suite. It had a little extra room. We were also given a cot for my baby and a little baby goody bag which included shampoos, creams etc for the baby which was a nice touch. My daughter wakes up quite early so it was nice we were on the same floor as the pool! We were able to go out there and chill. She loved swimming in the baby pool too! Service was good. Rooms were good. Nothing to complain about really. My parents and sisters stayed in adjoining rooms on the lower floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On first look the hotel is a bit dated, but it's really fine, quiet, luxuriously furnished, a fine bed and bath facilities. Room service was prompt and the food excellent. Check-in was a bit chaotic, but this is because I drew the newest management trainee. Once the manager got involved she really went the extra mile to be sure I was comfortable and happy with my room. Speaking of which - Park View means a view of the park across six lanes of traffic, but the room is surprisingly quiet and peaceful. Convenient to the Orchard Road activity and shopping for after hours, and central for business purposes. Likely the best location for the price in Singapore. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are freshly decorated, some a bit dated. Ask for the newer ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,353 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 312 in Singapore
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
973 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#76 of 312 in Singapore
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#28 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore's well-known shopping boulevard, Orchard Road, Holiday Inn(R) Singapore Orchard City Centre is just minutes away from the Central Business District, the Somerset and Dhoby Ghaut Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stations as well as the Central Business District and medical centres including the Paragon Medical Singapore and Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre. Explore the city at ease with popular cultural districts such as Bugis, Chinatown and Little India, and attractions like the Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay all located within close proximity, making us an ideal spot for staycation. Changi Airport is a short 25-minute drive away. The hotel boasts 324 well-appointed guestrooms, 11 state-of-the-art function rooms, a collection of two restaurants and a bar - Tandoor, featuring authentic North Indian cuisine, Window on the Park showcasing Asian and local delights, and Lobby Lounge & Bar which offers the perfect venue to unwind after a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing