We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Singapore Stopovers & Orchard Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Ranked #28 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Singapore Stopovers & Orchard Road”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Short R&R visit.
Location to Orchard Road and MRT is the attraction for us.
Renovations completed since our last stay and now a dramatically better decor and room furnishings. Bed and linen excellent quality.
No noticeable road noise on the higher floors.
Executive lounge now much larger and moved to 3rd floor.
Wider range of breakfast and evening foods but please add some soy sauce as a condiment choice.
Everyone from the staff was helpful and pleasant.
Pool was great as always. Probably also time for a new spa or a major refurbishment of the current one - cushions and fittings are looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiggerDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    1,256
    225
    50
    22
See reviews for
1,353
546
161
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

My wife and two kids stayed at this hotel for three nights. The first room they gave us was facing the expressway (why don't any of the reviews on Trip Advisor mention that half of the hotel faces/overlooks one of the busiest highways in city???). I asked for another room that would be quieter, and they gave us a room on the 3rd floor, on the "quieter" side of the hotel. However, the other side also faces a road, and there was an open air restaurant (open late) about 70 meters from our room. In addition, a large group of men seemed to congregate nightly on the street just outside our room, talking loudly until nearly midnight. All of this, in addition to the screaming drunk guys in the room next to us, playing cards/shouting until 3 in the morning ------ well, it did not make the best impression.
Other problems?
1. The hot tub did not look like it had been cleaned in ages, with little brown bits floating everywhere.
2. The pool for children is extremely slippery and very unsafe if children are not very carefully monitored. My daughter (4 years old) lost her balance and could not regain it, because she kept slipping, but luckily I was right there to help her.

On the positive side, as others have mentioned, the staff are fine, and the rooms are fine. The breakfast if fine as well, though they close things down precisely at the end of breakfast, in a kind of frenzy.

So, overall, a very, very average experience. Granted, the noise issues are a result of a poor location. But, there were a number of others small things that added up over three days, contributing to the overall "average" experience. But, then again, this is the Holiday Inn, so I suppose I should not have gotten my hopes up.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carletonfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Superb location, 2 minute walk to Orchard Road, very clean rooms, looked newly refurbished, helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moju72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
265 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This Holiday Inn was a very good surprise. Excellent service at least at the executive floor, excellent location, excellent room. A good option at Singapore

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I booked this hotel after reading others reviews on tripadvisor. It was central to where we wanted to be, short walking distance to variety of eateries, and short taxi ride to major sights. For 4 adults, a taxi trip is the way to go. The bus station is also just a block away on Orchard Row. We stayed here a total of 4 nights, before & after cruising on RCCL, week of Jan. 13th. The cruise boat arrived early morning back to Singapore, and we were able to check in because the room was ready. We stayed in the double-bed rooms, 4 adults can fit here comfortably well, nothing tight at all about movement. It was very difficult finding a family room that could accommodate 4, and I was pleasantly surprised when we got to our rooms. Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa island, Merlion park, National Botanical Gardens and Orchidarium, and Orchard Row were our targets. Night Safari was a so-so, because it was too dark to see the animals, althou a lot cooler to venture out in the evenings. I had more fun enjoying the Fire-Eaters show. The Waterworld Aquarium on Sentosa island was a hit for kids cause they allow you to feed the sharks & stingrays, but for a fee. The Images of Singapore on Sentosa island had a good museum of city history, and was cool air-con bldg. to hide from the heat. Having an elderly, with a walker/wheelchair in tow, kept our pace slow but nothing was difficult in handling the city terrain. The hawker markets were fun meal-time adventures. Make sure you pick up a map of city for exploring. Will definitly be back !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Tubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We had an executive room which was very comfortable and had a large flat screen TV with DVD player and an iPod dock. We used the latter more as the TV programmes weren't up to much (not the fault of the hotel). The staff were very helpful in moving luggage, ordering taxis, etc. The hotel is a short walk from Orchard Road. Approaching on foot is not straightforward, but taxis are fairly cheap. We used the Tandoor, the restaurant in the basement, and found it really good. The breakfast bar was also good, with a huge range of options.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Used our Priority points to book a room for 2 nights. We chose this hotel mainly on the fact that it had been upgraded recently and the location of the hotel is good.

The lobby area is smaller than I expected but welcoming all the same, with a bar area and plenty of nice seating all around.

Check in quick and polite but not friendly with no other info on the hotel other than where the lift was. We were however upgraded to a junior suite and given a welcome drink voucher to have in the bar.

The room on the 5th was a nice size, I like the new Holiday Inn colours of teal and brown done in a contemporary style with dark wood. A sofa and a large footrest/coffee table and lamp tables in the sitting area with a good sized work desk and chair. A flat screen TV/DVD on the wall which was on a bracket to face the bed or sitting area.

A wardrobe which contained the safe and plenty hanging space and draws, but only one pair slippers and one robe. In this small area the mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities. Like the fact that the fridge was a one in which you could take out everything and use it for your own things. 2 bottles of water were complementary also. A full sized hairdryer was in the draw.

The bathroom was on the small side but there was plenty of space to place your own things around the sink. Again nicely refurbished and good quality towels, which makes a change! The real problem I found with the bathroom was that whilst the shower is over the bath, which is not usually a problem however as the shower screen is fixed it makes it quite difficult and IMO if you have any mobility problems you would struggle to get in and out of the bath. Really awful shampoo/conditioner and body wash, cheap and nasty.

The bed was nice and firm with a good quilt and a choice of hard or soft pillows. Linen very good as well.

However we did have a couple of problems. The air-con was broken and the temp in the room was 27dg even though it was switched on. After reporting an engineer came within 5 mins and changed a part and it was working within 20 mins, an inconvenience but was dealt with straight away.

The other problem we had, and the staff are aware of it is the noise from a nearby club. A thumping bass greeted us when we arrived back into the room at 11.45pm. It was so loud I thought we were above a nightclub. Rang reception, asked if this would go on for long, the staff as I say know about the problem and apparently the police had been notified to get the club to turn down the music, it did for a while but woke us up just before 3.00am as it had been turned up again. We had been offered another room moving during the night, but we decided to move the next day.

Next day without any fuss another room was ready for us, re-packed and our luggage was moved. Again a Junior Suite, different shape, I preferred this one, extra chair a better laid out room, but with the same problem in the bathroom with the fixed screen. the air-con worked fine. No noise that night and slept well, oh and there was a turn-down service, but no paper that morning but a paper the day before, a little inconsistent.

Did not have any food in the hotel too many eating places all around but the Indian Restaurant in the hotel did look very swish. The pool area, which we did intend to use but ran out of time, was very nice with lots of chairs/loungers to choose from and plenty in the shade.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, mainly due to the refurbishment and everything being new and fresh, however be warned about the music which really should be dealt with. But our complaint was handled well by staff to change rooms, but just a shame it’s a problem. Some staff are quite unfriendly and upon checking out not even a mention about the problems or apology.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,354 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 312 in Singapore
4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
976 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#76 of 312 in Singapore
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#28 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore's well-known shopping boulevard, Orchard Road, Holiday Inn(R) Singapore Orchard City Centre is just minutes away from the Central Business District, the Somerset and Dhoby Ghaut Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stations as well as the Central Business District and medical centres including the Paragon Medical Singapore and Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre. Explore the city at ease with popular cultural districts such as Bugis, Chinatown and Little India, and attractions like the Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay all located within close proximity, making us an ideal spot for staycation. Changi Airport is a short 25-minute drive away. The hotel boasts 324 well-appointed guestrooms, 11 state-of-the-art function rooms, a collection of two restaurants and a bar - Tandoor, featuring authentic North Indian cuisine, Window on the Park showcasing Asian and local delights, and Lobby Lounge & Bar which offers the perfect venue to unwind after a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing